We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee, Best in Mammoth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
3343 main st. Suite F, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 000 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 81 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Coffee & Tea
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Best in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This spot has the best coffee in Mammoth that I tried. It is fresh ground pour over coffee made upon order. There is no burnt taste. People are generally use to the burnt and over-brewed coffee rather than the true flavour.

The atmosphere is minimalistic, but that is fine with me. Great wood furnishings. Staff was friendly and nice. Do not have much food offerings, but what I had was really good. Free wifi.

It would be nice to have a larger size for coffee, but that can be the only complaint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    5
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for morning coffee. Interesting place, a little bit stark and open but the coffee was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Now don't get me wrong, I had a perfectly fine cup of coffee, but the best? No.
Atmosphere a bit sterile for my taste, but I do like supporting small shops.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“GREAT SCONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had a very good hot chocolate and great scone. Nice atmosphere and great location to stop for a snack while your shopping.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chic and awesome coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Exceptional venue in the strip mall with the centrally located outlet stores a great ski-supplies place. Coffee is awesome, though food choices are limited to some (very good) baked goods.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.