We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar

Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar
3343 main st. Suite F, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760 000 0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 74 restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The look and feel of this place made me hopeful. But being surrounded by amazing coffee in SF (Blue Bottle, Four Barrel, Philz) made their coffee truly disappointing. To top it off, the teenage workers had annoyed/snobby attitudes which made the cappuccino terrible in more ways than one.

They have potential to be great - maybe if they took some tips from other successful coffee bars in SF and LA.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    23
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great coffee in a modern setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a mood lifter. Coffee of all shapes and sizes: cold drip, pour over, espresso; it was hard to chosse just one. The lovely ladies serving didn't make my choice easier, with so many recommendations. I finally decided to try the pour over, my wife took a latte. What a great tasting beverage! What a great place. Everyone travelling past Mammoth Lakes should plan a break here. It's definitely worth the small detour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I went to coffee heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A little slow in getting coffee, but all was because the staff really take their time to perfect your coffee. I've had Tully and other fine Italian/french coffees, but this...is really good. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I'm a bit of a coffee geek and like to seek out the best coffee when I travel. On previous visits to Mammoth I've been to Looney bean which, while better than the likes of Starbucks was only ever Ok.
The baristas at Black Velvet consistently produced truly great straight espresso and nice latte art (the sign of perfectly foamed milk)
They have 2 synesso 2-group machines and a la Marzocco GS2 and roast their own coffee. A pair of cold brewers are prominent but the espresso was so good I didn't try any.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Attention coffee snobs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Finding a coffee shop in Mammoth that uses the "pour over" method was a surprise. You wait a little longer and pay a little more but you get a consistent and good cup of coffee.

I occasionally visit Intelligensia in Chicago, where they also use the pour over method. Intelligentsia is far better, but Black Velvet gets points for trying, and I did enjoy my cup.

The service was friendly and not at all snobby, which you often find in hipper cafes, so that was nice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Velvet Coffee | Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.