We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Mammoth Lakes

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Mammoth Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Mammoth Lakes
54 Sierra Blvd, Hwy 203 & Sierra Blvd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    90
    52
    34
    50
See reviews for
62
109
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Mammoth Travelodge for 3 nights the first week of Jan 2013. This was one of our annual ski trips to Mammoth and our first time staying at the Travelodge. This hotel/motel has good and bad points. The good points first. This hotel/motel is a great value for being in the Mammoth area. The owner/operator is really nice. When booking our stay, the price was right and we like their cancellation policy as well. The Travelodge is located close to the village, not really walking distance, but there is a bus stop just down the street from the hotel to get you there if you don't have a car. There is underground parking which is always great in the winter. In room heating unit worked really good to keep us warm during the cold Mammoth nights. The room and bathroom seemed clean enough. The beds were adequate to get a goodnight sleep. Water pressure in the shower seemed good. We had a microwave and fridge in our room, not sure if they all do. There is hot chocolate and tea available in the lobby whenever you want. There is a continental breakfast available in the morning in the lobby, which consists of English muffins, sliced bread, cereals, instant oatmeal, some small donuts and muffins, coffee and juice dispenser. The bad points. The property is in dire need of a renovation. Noise filters in from the rooms on either side of you, making it hard to get a goodnight's sleep if those guest are noisy, which we experienced on one of the nights. The bed sheets and blankets had holes in them, but appeared clean. There was a white powder on the carpet next to one of the beds which had not been vacuumed up, guessing it was carpet deodorizer. There was paint peeling off of the bottom of the bathroom door. The breakfast area which if right next to the check-in desk is very small and gets crowded. There are three tables to sit at and if they are taken up you either go back to your room with your food or eat standing up. To sum it all up, if you are on a budget and are looking for a good value and are not too picky, then this is a good place to stay. The pluses do outweigh the minuses so we would probably stay here again as long as it continues to be a good value for us.

Room Tip: Might want to get a second floor room so you don't hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Mammoth Travelodge is the ideal cheap-stay weekend ski option. It has underground parking (a BIG plus if there's a storm) and an unusually accommodating owner/operator. All that said, brace yourself, as the motel itself is a horrifying dump. Picture yourself in a very-well-used frat house--both in terms of the condition of the facility and the 4+ to-a-room collection of rowdy young snowboarders you'll be bunking-in with. If you thought that was a barrel-of-laughs back in the day--you'll also have no problem with what's probably the lowest priced option in Mammoth. It's also walking distance from the local free shuttle to the slopes, as well as walking distance from quite a few good places to eat. I'd definitely go back again, as it's just fine so long as you're in the right mindset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a great short stay hotel with no minimum during holiday period. The staff is great and make your stay feel more homey. Free continental breakfast and underground parking were nice perks to a place in Mammoth. They also had free newspapers at front desk and computer access and free wifi in rooms. Game room with pool table and foosball table were a hit with our family. We did not try the jacuzzi, but the water looked a bit yellow. Convenient location next to a shuttle stop, just off Main St.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Regardless of all the bad reviews, I pretty enjoyed the hotel. Not only the price is reasonable , the manger is very kind. The garage became a huge help for me because there was a snow storm at the night when I arrived. The room is clean and good for overnight stay. You know this is a budget motel, you can't expect they provide a upscale designed room. By the way, the restaurant next to the hotel was delicious.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I want to thank John for an amazing stay....he is very kind, courteous, nothing was trouble for him...the property is very well located, clean, beds are very comfortable, the room has everything that you might need (microwave, fridge, coffee maker, bathroom amenities)....
Thank you JOHN for everything and we are looking forward to seeing you again... I will definetly recommend you to all my friends....
Cristina C.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Mammoth Lakes

Address: 54 Sierra Blvd, Hwy 203 & Sierra Blvd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Wyndham, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Mammoth Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.