We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bicton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here while traveling over night. Perfect for overnight. The rooms are big and warm , free wifi , restaurant across the road to have dinner. Very friendly staff and parking available . I don't what it would be like for more than a few days at the town is quite small but the lodge was perfect and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    114
    78
    17
    10
See reviews for
53
133
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was large with a fridge, microwave and large TV. Views from the property were stunning and there was a fairly well sized heated pool which was great to relax in. There was ample parking. The continental breakfast was adequate and served in a large room that did not get crowded. Staff were friendly and the WiFi worked well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

On the positive side-there's a strong Wi-Fi signal, covered under-lodge parking, it's cheap & in a very convenient location. But, you get what you pay for. The mattress was extremely hard, the towels, linens & carpets were worn, the TV was a very old set, and oddly enough, there was no coffee maker in the room. The room was clean, and everything worked fine. The walls are thin & first floor rooms are definitely noisier, but lugging heavy items up three flights of a rather narrow staircase is no fun. The breakfast room is surprisingly pleasant, but the morning offering while we were there was incredibly stingy, even for a budget motel. There were grocery packages of bagels & Thomas' English muffins, a couple of pre-packaged danishes, 3 types of cereal & a basked of apples. The coffee was fresh brewed & decent. Speaking of food, be sure to remove all foodstuffs & all items that have an odor from your car (even chewing gum, sunscreen & auto fresheners) due to bears. The weekend we were there it was serious issue, with many cars being damaged by the animals. Check with the front desk. Who, by the way were very helpful & friendly. So, overall, if you're pinching pennies & not too particular about amenities & food, this place should suit your needs just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We got a great deal in the off season just after summer and enjoyed the fall colors and great weather. Our little dog was welcome. The kitchen and comfortable new beds were a nice surprise. Free breakfasts in a nice day room with a giant TV and it had an outside spa. The day room also came with nice view and a fireplace. The parking was covered and the staff were very kind.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, park in the back and you can walk right into the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It is an average hotel for the high price. But the location is good as it is close to restaurants and main street. Staff was OK and breakfast was below average. The kitchenette was helpful, specially when traveling with a baby. The worst part was the internet connection. They have three different signals but none of them worked.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay. Out of 31 lodging properties in Mammoth Lakes listed on Trip Advisor the Sierra Lodge consistently offers room rates among the lowest available in town and is regularly recognized as a very good value. At the time of your booking, Sierra Lodge was the 4th most economical lodging option. As most of our reviews indicate, our staff strives to provide excellent service. Please call or email info@sierralodge.com to inform the manager (Mark) what we could have done to improve on our “OK” service rating. We are sorry to hear that the breakfast provided did not meet your expectations. Sierra Lodge provides a “continental” breakfast, not a full or hot breakfast. Our continental includes (for the benefit of those reading the review); coffee, tea, orange juice, 3 cereal options, 3 bagel options, English muffins, bread for toasting, fresh fruit (most often apples and/or bananas) and a variety of pastries or muffins. Regarding the internet connection, I wish you would have called the front desk to report the problems you experienced. We could have likely assisted you. Our front office operates off of the same wireless internet connection as the rooms and we did not have any issues during your stay. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We came to Mammoth on the spur of the moment and got our room thru bookings.com. Price was $69 for a double room! sweet! Location is right on Main Street so very convenient and right next to Angel's a great spot for dinner. The large double room is great. OK not a modern spa type of room but it has everything you're gonna need for a great stay. It has: comfy bed, great shower with plentiful hot water and water pressure (the shower head is a bit low, tho), lots of storage space, mini kitchen with microwave, fridge, dishes, flatware, dish soap,etc, TV with lots of channels, good wifi, balcony, love seat, table and chairs for a meal, large dressing area with lots of hangers, ironing board and iron, nice breakfast (juice, coffee, tea, hot choc, hot cider packs, asst bagels, bread, English muffins, cream cheese, 3 kinds of cereal, sweet rolls, apples. So it's stuck in the past with the dusty pink bath counters and lamps. The important part is it's squeaky clean and the rooms are so comfortable. We'll be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of September. We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor rating and price. The front desk staff was really courteous. Room was clean and spacious.

We originally booked for 3 nights, but my daughter fell sick during the second day of our stay in Mammoth. We decided to cut short our vacation by one night and drive back home. Although we had paid for all three nights, I requested the Manager if he could at least give us a partial credit for the third night. Clearly we did not have a 24 hour notice normally required for cancellation. He was courteous to give us the full refund for the third night. We really appreciated his gesture.

Overall this is an excellent place. The only thing I wish is that they had a slightly bigger place for breakfast. The breakfast area was small and naturally very crowded.

We will definitely stay here again when we visit Mammoth next.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.6 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.