We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Comfortable, with Outdoor Hot Tub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Spacious and Comfortable, with Outdoor Hot Tub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in a spacious, airy room that had a small kitchenette plus a plush, comfy sofa that made it feel more like a small studio apartment than a hotel room. The "Great Room" where breakfast is served and guests clearly congregate evenings in ski season (wonderful big fireplace, so we can imagine the ambience) was a bonus, as was the outdoor hot tub located on the adjacent deck. Great way to wind down after hiking or skiing, or just driving the winding mountain roads to get there. We appreciated the ceramic coffee mugs set out for the guests rather than the usual styrofoam, although we do wish there had been more seating, since the place was full and we ended up juggling coffee and breakfast plates while standing over a small table to the side. (Our room was up the stairs, so we opted not to bring our breakfast there).

We also liked that we could walk to Mammoth Lakes Village, rather than having to fire up the motorcycle again after a long day in the saddle.We were a bit disappointed, however, to discover that there were no sidewalks, so that we had to walk uphill to the village on the busy road, which at least had a bike trail most of the way. As a bonus, though, we picked up some wonderful giant pine cones that had fallen along the roadside, and we will enjoy seeing them on our mantel come Christmas. And it wasn't far at all to walk, much better than lodging down or up the hill and having to drive and park.

Our hosts were friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated the dining suggestions, and we ended up having a wonderful meal at a place we might not have found ourselves, Petra's, where the Happy Hour (with good food and drink at reduced prices) was a great alternative to the regular dinner menu (that had excellent offerings at somewhat higher prices that no doubt were worth it).

We do wish that we had gotten one of the rooms with a balcony, so that we might have had a mountain view at least to the side, rather than looking across a busy drive to a motel directly facing into our room, not very far away. The area where the lodge is located is a bit congested, with several motels packed closely in. We didn't like having to keep the curtains drawn for privacy, when we would have preferred some day light streaming in. And it was a shame, in such a glorious environment, not to have a view of nature. If we return, as we hope to, we will select a more private room with a mountain view.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and very good value for such a well-located, comfortable, spacious, and friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    102
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
49
119
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed less than a week. The place was reasonably priced and served our purposes, which were to stay close to the mountain, have a soak in the hot tub after skiing, and lodge in comfort. I would have preferred the rooms to have a small desk or something to use my laptop, but what the rooms lacked in furniture, the staff made up for in friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedernhausen, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed there two nights. Our room was very big, with a comfortable bed. Nice stuff. A little bit old school tv, but we didn't care, cause we spend our days outside. Very nice c immunity room. A very hot hot tub outside, opened till 10 pm. Very nice for relaxing after a long day in the nature.
You can watch the stars while using it. Price was absolutely ok. We used the washing machine there, everything worked fine.
It's vry close, about three miles to the lakes, and you can walk to some restaurants in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

One of our best stays everytime we spend a few nights here. This place is going to satisfy all your needs when it comes to skiing, snowboarding and everything, but even in the summertime it's absolutely amazing and relaxed. Rooms are generously big, most of them have a balcony, the hotel in general is very clean and has something oldschool to it.

Staff is also very funny and friendly, location is excellent, there's a parking lot under the hotel, and even the continental (!) breakfast is good. Uh, I almost forgot: There's a fun bar right across the street, you can also get Pasta and Pizza there, in case you get hungry or need to kill some time, or even drop off your kids, because they have an arcade in there :)

Long story short: Great place to stay, there's no other option for me in Mammoth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here when we drove from Las Vegas to San Francisco, solely so we could go through a national park on the way. We got in at around 8pm, and the room was more that enough for what was not much more than a sleep and breakfast.

It could have been a lot, lot worse, but everything was clean and spacious, if a little basic, but was a friendly and welcoming place while we continued our journey.

We did have the same issue as another reviewer.. we had 3 weeks of luggage, and no lift, so the luggage donkey (ie me) had to go up the hill... and down the hill.

If you can stop here, or any where in Mammoth Lakes then it would make the perfect place before going through Sonora Pass and through the National Parks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed one night as I passed through the area recently. I had a few questions for the staff and they were friendly and very helpful, including a prompt visit to the room to help me figure out the microwave.
The room was spacious, quiet, and comfortable with the added bonus of a kind of kitchenette area with a proper kitchen type sink and even dishes, glasses, and cutlery—no plastic involved.
This might seem like a very minor detail but I was on the road for weeks budget traveling with a cooler so I could eat meals in my room. This room even had a cutting board, an unheard of feature in the new spiffy 21/2 to 3 star places I visited.
The feel, and actual age of the place, is older and homier than these Johnny-come-lately big chain hotels. It was more like the places I used to go with my family on ski trips. Of course the beautiful ski slopes are also just a short hop from the hotel.
The room had a good fridge, a microwave, ironing board and iron, and they serve a good continental type breakfast in a room with a fireplace and a picture window overlooking the mountain slopes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked in late and found parking but were surprised there wasn't an elevator, and surprised they actually gave us keys rather than cards. We had to lug our rollers up 2 flights of stairs. We survived barely. The rooms were sparse but clean. They are designed for Lilliputians. I'm very tall and found the sink uncomfortable for use. They have ski and snowboard lockers downstairs and then a bench and hooks in the rooms to hang ur skiwear. My wife and I found it hard to find outlets to charge our phone, but we overcame the challenge. Overall I would say it would be convenient if you were there to ski if you don't mind the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.