We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ski value, will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Super low rate!
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent ski value, will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This year I decided I wanted to ski more weekends up in Mammoth and to do that would have to find a cheaper place than the Westin - my usual spot. I chose the Sierra Lodge based on the balance of features (location on Main Street, price, amenities) and I have to say I was really pleased. The room was spacious and super-clean. Yep, a little dated, but, quality bones and spotlessly clean with a well equipped "kitchen corner" - microwave, fridge, sink, paper towels and utensils. The bath towels were brand new. The bath soaps and toiletries were great. The shuttle stop is just 20 feet away from the front door and Angel's Restaurant was 10 feet across the side street. Continental breakfast included in the rates. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Just because skiers are early risers and our boots are big and clunky, I would suggest higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    89
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
45
112
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel was very basic and are dated. There is heat but no air conditioning. It was ok to stay for a night or two but that's about it. The only good thing about the room was that the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Small, quiet , very friendly staff large rooms, with microwave, refrigerator, balconies in most rooms, large comfortable beds, great heating system jn the rooms, and the most important covered garage. Nice open air jacuzzi ( no swimming pool) with beautiful mountain view, and always hot and ready, free coffee and breakfast at 7 am. Nice cozy lounge with fireplace,and all kinds of teas and herb teas to choose from in the lounge open all the time. In the rooms lotion, hi end soaps, and shampoo, etc etc. Very reasonable prices compared to the other rip offs and very centrally located on Main street, with the shuttle bus stop right in front of the hotel. I never experienced anything malfunctioning either in the room or in the common area. I do not feel like experiencing any other hotel in Mammoth this one feels like home. It is owned by the same owner for long time who I hope keeps it as long as I go skiing to Mammoth. The bottom line is the feeling I get when I enter the room after a hard day of skiing. It is with a smile ! I ve been going to this hotel for years and I hope for more to come. Repeat customers get a preferential rate which means good business practice.
PS. Sierra Lodge is on Main street, not to be confused with Sierra Nevada on Old Mammoth road. !
Anthony

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Mammoth Lakes has a ton of rental condos and high-end hotels/resorts but not a whole lot of selection for in the value hotel range. The Sierra Lodge is a bit of an odd place but worked out OK for our July visit to Mammoth Lakes. Good location, near shops and restaurants. Building configuration is odd and there's no elevator. The rooms do NOT have A/C - only a pedestal fan and either a window or sliding glass door to open (but with no cross-breeze it's a bit useless). The rooms, furniture, fixtures are very dated ... but do include a modular built-in mini-kitchen with sink, fridge & microwave. We rejected the first room we were shown because it was dark, and had a weird configuration. The staff is mixed - the more senior staff members are helpful and friendly while the less senior ones are just ok. Included breakfast is basically coffee, juice, toast and pastries. This place is best suited for group stays during ski season ... it wasn't optimal for a summer visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was a terrible night in Sierra lodge, we arrived in the evening and the staff was very unpleasant. The room they gave us was a very old room and full of dust. I could not sleep, because of the alergic reaction to it. The position of the Hotel is outside the city center, on the main road, which is full of high speed traffic. Breakfast and relax room is too tiny for all guests. I would not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we require 1st floor room to avoid carry luggage upstairs and downstairs. However the 1st floor room arranged to us is below the main road level and facing the parking entrance. So we have to make the curtain on all the time. So to us, the room is not good.
The brakfast is simple, donnut, bread and drinks. But the dining room (or livng room) view is much comfortable, feels warm.
There are several outlet (Ralph Lauren, Coatch, etc,) and nice restaurant near by. The town is a good place for vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants, uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel as a stopover between traveling from a day through Death Valley, on our way to Yosemite. We checked in quite late (10.30pm) with no issues. The person at the desk was very helpful , friendly & full of information. The room was clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave. As this was just a base to catch up on sleep, we didnt use any amenities. Cant comment on location as we did not stay in Mammoth and left at dawn the next day. Theres a pizza place and bar opposite the hotel which was heaven-sent!! (And open for food at 10pm) In the morning we stopped for food supplies and coffee at Schats Bakery (down the road near petrol station) which was also really nice. We had free parking, and free wi fi. No lift tho so bit of a hassle lugging suitcases up the stairs...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.