We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Looney Bean Coffee

Looney Bean Coffee
26 Old Mammoth Rd, Rite Aid Mall, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
(760) 934-1345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 81 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I always stop to get a drink on the way back out of town. My only negative is that it is a bit pricey. I order a drink that's not quite on the menu & they are always willing to do it, so don't hesitate to ask! The drinks are good, the area inside/outside is clean, and there is a restroom. I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best strong fresh coffee in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Being from the San Francisco Bay Area, we are hardcore "Peets" coffee fans (i.e., strong fresh dark roast) and this is almost the only coffee house in California that serves better coffee than Peets. The pastries are phenomenal as well. Such a great coffee-and-pastry combination makes up for the shopping center setting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent coffee, great cafe environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Gotta love driving for 5 hours and then finding a great cup of Joe. Seriously. the coffee here is spectacular. and the local vibe so great. I love hanging in a cafe and chilling, and this is a great place to do it. Definitely check it out when you're in Mammoth next!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad service and attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

One day it is great and the next the cashier today was rude, and assumptive. Won't go back there are lots of coffee places here. To make it worse she was talking smack as we left with other customers when we politely said to cancel the order. This place does not deserve the business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed this coffee shop for the few days we were at the Mammoth mountain bike park. Good coffee, people and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Looney Bean Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Looney Bean Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Looney Bean Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.