We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Looney Bean Coffee

Looney Bean Coffee
26 Old Mammoth Rd, Rite Aid Mall, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
(760) 934-1345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 77 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I always stop to get a drink on the way back out of town. My only negative is that it is a bit pricey. I order a drink that's not quite on the menu & they are always willing to do it, so don't hesitate to ask! The drinks are good, the area inside/outside is clean, and there is a restroom. I will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best strong fresh coffee in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Being from the San Francisco Bay Area, we are hardcore "Peets" coffee fans (i.e., strong fresh dark roast) and this is almost the only coffee house in California that serves better coffee than Peets. The pastries are phenomenal as well. Such a great coffee-and-pastry combination makes up for the shopping center setting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent coffee, great cafe environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Gotta love driving for 5 hours and then finding a great cup of Joe. Seriously. the coffee here is spectacular. and the local vibe so great. I love hanging in a cafe and chilling, and this is a great place to do it. Definitely check it out when you're in Mammoth next!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bad service and attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

One day it is great and the next the cashier today was rude, and assumptive. Won't go back there are lots of coffee places here. To make it worse she was talking smack as we left with other customers when we politely said to cancel the order. This place does not deserve the business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this coffee shop for the few days we were at the Mammoth mountain bike park. Good coffee, people and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Looney Bean Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Looney Bean Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Looney Bean Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.