We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CJ's Grill

CJ's Grill
343 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-3077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
CJ's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 76 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Meridian
Transit: We are located on Old Mammoth with a Red Line and Trolley bus stop just next door.
Description: American food with a twist. Sauces, Dressings & Desserts Home Made.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a nice family meal at CJs. Juan, the waiter, made us feel very welcome. The yellow fin tuna appetiser is worth a try as was the home made ice cream. Not bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Service, Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We popped in this restaurant as we saw that it looked busy and thought, why not!

We were met by a fella called Doug who was really helpful and welcoming. He showed us to a table and gave a 5 star service throughout.

The food itself was really good, I ordered a Buffalo Burger (which was really good) and I thought when the option for salad was asked, I thought this would be with the meal, but it came as a really good starter. The same as my dad with a soup just before his battered fish (we did think it odd at the time of ordering to think soup with a main!)

Anyway, food is really good, service excellent, not the cheapest place in the world, but a meal (excluding alcohol) coming in around $40 is alright by me! I think it was worth it for the quality.

Well done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Basic food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Service was great and friendly. Food was ok and pricey. Kids eat free Monday. Chicken dishes were very basic ad I would not order again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What A Gem for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My spouse and I were shopping in the village and asked some locals where to have lunch. All agreed that CJ's was a hidden gem for a reasonable price. We both had soup and sandwiches for under $10 each. We were impressed with the service, atmosphere, and food. Better than we expected. It is on our go to next time we are in Mammoth.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We went because it was close by and had decent reviews. My Caesar salad was wilted, not crisp, lasagna suboptimal. But the bread was OK, and service friendly. Decent wine list.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Grill also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to CJ's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CJ's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.