We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pita Pit

The Pita Pit
6201 Minaret Rd, Suite 149, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-924-7482
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 77 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
jillian646
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Several vegetarian options! We had a falafel pita and a spicy black bean pita which were both awesome! We heard they deliver.. which might be convenient if you're sore after a day of snowboarding.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good grub (even if it might be considered "healthy")!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband & I just wanted something simple for dinner, so as we walked around the Village, we decided to pop into the Pit since it seemed pretty popular the night before. I had the club & my husband had the caesar & both were delicious! It was a nice change of pace from the usual burgers, pizza & other "vacation" food.

The 2 guys working were really friendly & didn't appear to be annoyed that we were newbies to the place & had to "figure out" how it worked! One stuffed the pitas with whatever veggies you wanted while the other grilled the meats that were going inside. The visit was quick & efficient!

The price wasn't too bad for a resort town, it ran about the same as Jersey Mike's (the closest thing I could compare it to!), coming to less than $25 for 2 pitas, sodas, chips & of course the $3 we dropped into the tip jar for the guys that earned it by not being the usual run-of-the-mill jaded food service workers.

Next time in Mammoth, I'll definitely visit the Pita Pit again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What is a Pita Pit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Originally not certain what Pita Pit was serving, but my son wanted to the food. It turned out to be very good and a very good value. The chicken slolaki (spelling?) pita and the fresh vegs added to the taste. I was pleasantly surprised by the good taste, will certain eat there again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguanga, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Lunch I've Had in Mammoth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have never had much luck finding good food in Mammoth, so this place was a great find. There were always a lot of people eating here whenever I passed by, so I figured either the food was good or the owners had a lot of relatives. Turns out it was the former, lucky for me. Pretty much whatever you could imagine being stuck inside pita bread (white or wheat) is available. I had the BLT. It was prepared quickly and they stuffed it with whatever I wanted. The chipotle sauce was excellent, but they had a bunch of other dressings/sauces if that is not your thing. Super good, puts Submarinaway to shame. I'll be back here for sure next time I'm in Mammoth.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good healthy food and quick too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This place is great for lunch and dinner if you want something fast and healthy. Its located right on the street so its easy to find and its open late. There are so many varieties to choose from and they make great vegetarian options too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pita Pit also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to The Pita Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pita Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.