We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel was okay. The decor is very dated and there was a mildly unpleasant odor in the lobby. The room was clean and fairly comfy. The pool looked nice, although we did not swim. The breakfast was very nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear RusFam2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are constantly working on hotel upgrades. This year we re-carpeted the hallways and common areas which is probably what you smelled in the lobby, installed new hallway artwork, and re-tiled all the bathrooms. I hope that when you return to Mammoth Lakes, you see our continued improvements. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    217
    52
    18
    18
See reviews for
211
183
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anaheim, ca, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Clean rooms, Excellent breakfast. Real breakfast food. I saw them cooking the eggs and pancakes and bacon! Great coffee in the front lounge area in the morning. The kids loved the pool. Beds were too soft. You would sink into a canyon while you slept and it was hard to roll out of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the overall value offered by the Best Western High Sierra. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The carpeting, wall decor and furniture appeared pretty new. The complimentary breakfast offered a selection that we enjoy at home. The rooms have air conditioning (this is not available at many "upscale" properties closer to the chair lifts). We will stay at this Best Western again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I will make this short. Regardless of time of day, there was no hot water in the room. I have an advanced degree in water fixture usage so I know I was not dreaming. According to the management, I was. I explained the situation during my stay and afterward. This hotel is on the expensive side for a Best Western as one would expect in a ski area. When one spends $200.00 for an average room, you might expect some basics such as even "warm" water during low use times (5:30 AM for example). Management was unresponsive and basically thought I was being deceitful. I would never complain unless it was for a valid reason. There was no free cup of coffee offered, no room upgrade in the future, zero, nothing. Time to look elsewhere in Mammoth.

Room Tip: Try the basement closest to the water heater. Avoid floors 1 - 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Steve K
Our response to any issue is to look into and find a resolution to the problem instead of just ignore the issue and provide a discount. When you informed us of this issue at your departure instead of during your one night stay, we had to look into this issue after you had left the building. What we found was hot water coming out of both the shower and the sink at 120 degrees on full blast. Neither the guest that stayed in your room the day prior nor the night of your departure had any issues. What your advanced degree didn't teach you is that while a shower mixer could have an issue (you mentioned no hot water in both the shower and the sink), our hot water system is such that if there is no hot water in one room, there will be no hot water in any. It will never be isolated to only one room and we received no other complaints. For your future information, the lobby coffee is brewed around 5:30 each morning and as you are a base rewards member the free upgrade is not one of your perks. Keep working towards the platinum or diamond levels by being a more long term customer and you'll receive the free upgrade (provided it is available). Thanks for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The indoor pool was great for a morning swim, breakfast was cooked fresh on a grill in the café. Arturo was the best in there. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The only problem we had was at check-in. After a 6 hour drive there were 2 people at the front desk, 1 was helping a customer and the other was sitting down texting on her phone. She looked up at us and didn't acknowledge us at all, she just went back to texting. The other person fortunately was finished with her customer and immediately helped us. Not a good first impression to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Paul B
Thank you for giving us a high score and I do have to apologize for the agent texting without acknowledging your arrival. There are times where we will text our maintenance department but that should be short and not at the expense of our guests. Please rest assured that the next time that you visit, you will have a very different experience. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This modern hotel has a mix of some great aspects and a few flaws. It is spotlessly clean. The air conditioning (often a real need in summer in Mammoth but lacking from most of the older facilities) works well but is loud; it can wake one up as it turns on and off during the night. The rooms are large and nicely laid out, with good beds, but noise comes through the door into the room too easily (including hearing the shutting of doors to other rooms). The small indoor pool and spa can be crowded. The free breakfast, however, is good, including fresh fruit choices such as blackberries. For those who are stiff from hiking in summer or skiing in winter, then the small on-site "day spa" (a tiny room) has excellent staff (by reservation only). I gave this hotel a four rating (very good) based on the reasonable prices in summer; it would be a three rating if higher priced. (PS - This is all non-smoking and it's hidden behind the Chevron station.)

Room Tip: If you are noise-sensitive, request a room accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello Tom_and_Vicki_W
Thank you for your 4 rating. My suggestion for those that are noise sensitive is to request third floor so no one is above you, to be away from the elevator/stairwell/ice machine, and to not have an adjoining door. Now, keep in mind that we will always do our best to accommodate those requests but there are times when we are not able to do so. Hope you enjoyed your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel was minutes away from lakes. The room was a good size. The bathroom was clean. Housekeeping did a great job. The indoor pool was great. The free breakfast was good and featured eggs, sausages, pancakes, etc. My only complaint was the price of the room, I booked it initially using mu government employee discount, but before the trip they notified me that they would not honor it , because my trip was for pleasure and not official business. I mean, does it matter? They should be happy that somebody was staying at their hotel for pleasure. So I had to use my AAA discount instead.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Pepe97
Thank you for staying with us to enjoy the area! Please remember that the government per diem rate is established as a rate that the government is willing to reimburse you when you travel for work. Some hotels will give it to you regardless of whether you are there to work or play, however this should not be expected, When you are not getting reimbursed by the government, you are not entitled to receive this $70 discount. Glad you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.