We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Summer activities in the Mammoth area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location for Summer activities in the Mammoth area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Easy in and out of Mammoth location for summer activities in the area. I visited the hotel during the summer time, staff was pleasant and welcoming. The hotel was clean, the free hot breakfast was a nice plus. A gas station is adjacent to the property which makes it easy for refueling and to obtain basic groceries and drinks. The internet connection was on the poor side, although the signal was good the connection was slow. The location of the hotel is good for the outdoor opportunities in the area. Parking was easy and convenient.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms may have a poor view to the parking lot, storage facility or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    184
    39
    17
    14
See reviews for
163
154
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Malfunctions reported: Bath light/fan did not work. Deadbolt door lock was broken. Best breakfast included ever experienced. Noise neighboring car wash and barking dogs. Wrong room assigned on first try by careless desk clerk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Richard C
Thank you for your review. Please know that when you provide us with a special request, we will do our best to accommodate them but there will be times when we can't. It is not carelessness but rather an attempt to not inconvenience you with the installation of hallway carpet that made us put you on the first floor rather than your requested third floor. I'm glad that we were able to resolve the maintenance issues that you had as soon as you let us know but please always let us know about loud dogs or children so that we can ask those guests to keep it down. As for the car wash, they are required to shut it down by 9PM so if it continues please let us know so that we can call them. I'm glad that you at least enjoyed the complimentary hot buffet breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay there! The staff was very helpfull and frienldy, our room (appartment with 2 separate sleeping rooms) was big, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the kitchen, that allowed us to avoid one more restaurant adn cook ourself.
The beakfeast was great in a nice and big room located in the local indian restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I really enjoyed our stay here. The location and price cannot be beat. You are located in the middle of town so very conveniently close to everything, while still a short drive to the ski lodges. The woman at check-in was very polite. The room size was good. The view was of a wall of the next building over, but I was there to ski, not look out the window so I did not care about that. The exercise room is very tiny, but it was always empty when I was there, so it did not matter. We used the indoor spa...very nice. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. Oh, and I almost forgot, breakfast was included! Such a great start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho palos verdes, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Probably one of the best overall values in Mammoth. Very nice indoor pool & spa, some covered parking, free full hot breakfast, good clean rooms. The most important feature is the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hello Russel H
Thank you for your excellent review! We receive many compliments on our staff...thank you for pointing that out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

An interesting place with character and the on-property Indian restaurant makes a pretty good breakfast. The property is in a good location although we missed it on our first pass but found it easy enough after we turned around and came back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a little hard to find as it is set back from the main road. We had a king suite and it was very nice. Two burner stove, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the kitchenette. Full size sofa and coffee table in the sitting area. Large bathroom with lots of counter space and a jacuzzi tub. Room was very clean and quiet. They have some covered parking which would be very nice in winter. Very nice breakfast with real eggs cooked as needed. Several nice restaurants within walking distance made dinner plans easy. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.