We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money - look out for bears !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money - look out for bears !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days in October 2013. Basic Best Western nbut all staff very halpful and smiling. Staff warn about leaving any signs of food in your car as bears had been known to break into cars rooting for food. None when we were there!
Well situated for Yosemite Park (which had just re-opened after the Government dispute of pay), Squaw Valley and lots of hikes locally.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    154
    33
    14
    12
See reviews for
142
128
17
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

There are lots of nice places to stay in Mammoth, but few are an excellent value. The Best Western of Mammoth is a great value with a staff that cares. The rooms are nicely appointed and the beds give us a great nights sleep. They also have one of the best breakfast buffets around and will even cook eggs to order upon request. We come to Mammoth often and always feel welcome at the Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is absolutely the best Best Western Plus hotel we have stayed in. The staff at the reception is very welcoming, the overall atmosphere is cosy and both the rooms and the general areas are spotless! Wireless internet access is fast, and there is a good laundry facility. They offer an outstanding breakfast, with a variety of fresh fruit and a wide choice of cereals, buns and hot dishes. We only stayed for the night, as we had a reservation in Yosemite, otherwise we would have been happy to extend our stay for a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear KarenNETH
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are indeed a great option as you make your way to the spectacular Yosemite National Park. Hope you enjoyed all of your travels in the US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently held a photography workshop in the eastern Sierras and used this hotel as my base lodging. From the booking/reservation process on thru our stay, I can't say enough about how well we were treated. Emily really took care of the process in a very pleasant and professional manner, even introducing herself upon my arrival.
The rooms were great. Clean, modern and comfortable. Just what we needed after a long day in the field. By the way, the breakfast included with our rooms was quite good and the price was right.
It was near decent eateries and stores making it a great location for us.
I will definitely be using this hotel for future workshop lodging for my clients.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you John for your kind words. It was my pleasure to take care of you and your photography workshop participants. We work with many groups from tour buses to car and motorcycle rallies and love working with you all. I look forward to seeing you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My family and I visited your fine establishment, October 19th, 2013, there in Mammoth Lakes and have to say our overall treatment and comfort was top notch. What really impressed us and made us start our stay off on a very good note was your desk clerk employee, Pamela. She made us feel welcome the beginning we walked through the door. She gave us kind suggestions about the local area and truly made us feel like we were at home. Her friendly demeanor helped us check in early without making the situation awkward. In a world rattled with ugly complaints---I thought its time for someone such as Pamela to get a brownie point instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 3 days here and enjoyed the complete stay. We were greeted with the most happiest people I have ever encountered at a hotel. The check in was made fun by the whole front desk.
The room gets a 5 star rating also with all the people throughout the hotel. Everyone made us feel very welcome. We are a triple diamond members at Hilton and we were treaded better her than most Hiltons. This will be our base camp next visit to Mammoth Lakes, CA.
Vickie & Pam were so helpful throughout our stay and gave us unbelievable service. When ever we entered the front door, they greeted us by our name. That is just amazing with such a large and busy hotel. We will be back in Dec.

attention.

Room Tip: 3 rd floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hello Larry
Thank you for your spectacular review! It's nice to hear that we exceeded the Hilton experience. Looking forward to seeing you again this month. I'll make sure that Pamela and Vicky get their kudos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oh
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The positive are: a good location (walking distance to most restaurants, shops, microbrewery), great staff at the desk, comfortable and relatively large and rooms. The few negatives are the lack of view from most rooms, noise from the parking lot early in the morning and a below average breakfast. The latter has been commented by other reviewers and disputed from the manager. I found that the dining room was unappealing, the doors opened 10 min later than expected, the quality of food was average and the staff efficiency and attitude far different from the excellent one at the front desk.

Room Tip: Avoid those in the front facing the parking lot. We had bikers warming up their Harley very earlier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Marcopolo
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are in a good location for easy access to the retail and restaurants in town but that unfortunately limits how many rooms we have with a view. Please make sure to put down that special request when you book and we will try our best to get you into one of them. We have heard the comments about our breakfast menu and are adding weekly variances to our menu such as breakfast burritos and quiche. This has also come with a change in staffing which will greatly improve the breakfast experience. We hope that you make it back to see these improvements that we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.