We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, ideal as a Yosemite stop-over. But stay longer as Mammoth lakes is beautiful in its own right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, ideal as a Yosemite stop-over. But stay longer as Mammoth lakes is beautiful in its own right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel booking was a second leg of our back-up for our original Yosemite accommodation during the ‘Rim’ fire. It turned out to be a fantastic hotel with very friendly staff and Mammoth Lakes was surprisingly a very beautiful place in it’s own right. We booked it as a stop-over between Yosemite and Death Valley in case the Tioga Road was closed (it was!) but we found Mammoth Lakes to be as beautiful as attractions in Yosemite. We did realise this when we booked.

There are plenty of nice restaurants to choose from in Mammoth Lakes in addition to some reasonable shopping. It’s a great place to stop en-route to/from Yosemite and is worth staying longer to explore the wonderful lakes themselves. I believe the area is a ski resort in the winter.

We had a two bedroom suite as we travelled with older relatives. The room included a full kitchen and living area which was of a very high quality. Included breakfast was a pretty good buffet. We’d definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear TheFeeder
Thank you for your excellent review and for choosing us as your back up plan during the Yosemite fire this year. Mammoth Lakes definitely has much to offer as a destination on its own. From music festivals, fishing, hiking, and biking in the summer to skiing, ice skating, and snowmobiling in the winter many make this area a stand alone vacation. It sounds like you stayed in one of our two bedroom suites which are definitely a good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    188
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
178
155
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Best Western at Mammoth Lakes is a clean, new looking hotel with good service and a very nice little restaurant. The breakfast was included with the price for the room and the wait staff and cook are great! I would definately stay here again. Check

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Michael A
Even the hotel was built about 10 years ago, we frequently perform renovations and maintenance to keep the property looking clean and fresh., I am glad that we are meeting our goals! Thank you for your review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely hotel in a very welcoming town.
We spend one night after a day in Yosemite.
The check-in was easy and quick with a big smile. The room was big, clean and very comfortable.
The hotel has a pool which seems nice, but we didn't use it.
Breakfast was very nice, boufe with fresh fruits and varieties of choices.
We loved the hotel, loved the town, and if we come again - we certainly will be staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Rina F
We take pride in our hotel and the town that we live and I am glad that it shows. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to the area and I hope that the rest of your trip was equally fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arapaho
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A great place to stay, large clean rooms and a wonderful breakfast. They make most breakfast dishes from scratch, the French Toast was the best. Great location close to other nice places to eat. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Larry R
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great review! Our complimentary hot buffet breakfast is definitely one of the best amenities that we offer. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We only spent 1 night here however the hotel was great. Situated just off the main road, with plenty of parking.
It's a 5 minute walk to the nearest restaurant's/bars. The room was pretty nice, very spacious with a large bathroom.
A nice all rounder for 1 night.
The attached restaurant is nice for a quick pint, and the breakfasts are great. The items are refilled once empty, so hanging around for fresh bacon/sausages is worthwhile. The Mammoth brewery do some wicked beers as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Edward L
Thank you for your wonderful review. Nice to hear that you tried and liked Mammoth Brewing company microbrews. They are indeed good! Glad that you stayed with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Was initially only stopping for one night on route to San Fran, however I had that feeling that this was something special and so it proved. Many thanks to lucerle at checking in, the lady was so helpful. We stayed for three nights in the end wish it could have been more, the hotel was absolutely fantastic, great rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast each morning enough to satisfy the hungriest of individuals. This Hotel had it all, in a most magical of towns with lots of mountains and lakes to explore. Every one was so friendly and helpful with great service from the many fantastic shops. this town and surrounding area is a road and mountain bikers paradise, boy did we enjoy this place, one of the best we have visited over the years of exploring America. Would love to visit this Resort in the skiing season as well. Thank you Best Western, Thank you Mammoth I'm sure you will see this Family again in the near future. DIOLCH Taff a-z and Family (Skwarczek) Cymru.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear TaffAZ
Wow...it sounds like you completely enjoyed our area and hotel. Mammoth Lakes is indeed a hidden gem. So glad that we could help to make your trip fantastic! See you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice clean and tidy hotel in centre of town. Within walking distance of many eating places. Perhaps slightly expensive for what it has to offer but all in all acceptable value for money paid. Rooms large and plenty of room. The only strange thing is that the hand basin was situated in the room but there was no basin in the bathroom - not very hygienic really!

Room Tip: No outlook for roms at back although front of hotel looks into the rear of a garage,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Charlesandrhona
Thank you for staying with us! If you do pay us a visit again, add a request for the top floor front of the building. Even though there is a gas station in front of us, the top floor provides a view of the mountains. Hope you enjoyed your trip to the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.