We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anaheim, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel. Staff was nice, and the Continental Breakfast was better then most other hotels. It is an easy walk to the bus which will take you directly to the mountain. Look forward to staying here again on our next trip to Mammoth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us including the Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast to get your day started right.
We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    193
    43
    17
    16
See reviews for
182
162
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were there during the holiday break and expected it to be crowded. It wasn't too bad even though it was crowded. The room was a good size for the 4 of us. It was clean and the shower/tub was great after a day of skiing. The inclusive breakfast was fantastic especially with 2 younger kids, 6 and 9. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we have already made plans to return this season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear MORom213,
Thank you for spending your holidays with us and for returning a second time. We love seeing the same faces throughout the season!!! During the holidays, our little town becomes very busy and I am glad to hear that our hotel remained a respite from the crowds outside. Hopefully your children enjoyed our heated indoor pool and hot tub, and our xbox game room while they were here.
We appreciate your time in writing us such a nice review, Thank you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific palisades, ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We Just returned from a four night stay and we were very happy with our accommodations.
The last time we stayed at this facility it was managed by Holiday Inn but, some where over the last few years Best Western acquired the property and is now managing it. The property is clean and well cared for, The staff including; check-in, housekeeping and restaurant personnel were courteous, helpful and friendly. A plus with Best Western Management you now receive a complimentary hot Breakfast. The only down side I thought was the rate over the holiday break was higher than most hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Clubcar165,
Thank you for your fine review! While the owners and management are the same, the hotel re-branded a few years back from a Holiday Inn. Among many upgrades such as 37" flat screen TVs, and a new business center, we now offer the complimentary Hot Buffet breakfast that you enjoyed. We are one of the only hotels in the Mammoth Lakes area to offer this hot breakfast versus a simple continental one.
I am happy that you chose to spend your holidays with us and I hope that you had a chance to enjoy the daily cookies that the GM made during the holidays!!
We'll see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Came here on a snowboarding Trip with lots of friends and we all enjoyed it. The hotel was comfy, clean, and nice. It has an indoor pool and jacuzzi and a little restaurant/bar. The staff was nice and let us check in early.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Triplover4,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Mammoth Mountain. If we have rooms all clean and ready to go, we will always check you in early. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate you!
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend and I spent one night here before a backpacking trip in the Ansel Adams Wilderness, and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, and very quiet, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only minor complaint was that the breakfast was sort of "institutional," for lack of a better word, but I can't really complain about that because it was included in the price and there was plenty of variety. I would definitely stay here on my next visit to Mammoth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear JamesAlton,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you came to enjoy our spectacular Sierra Nevada Mountains. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal lake
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ok hotel if you want to sleep or watch tv. My issue came with the in room internet. Since I needed to do some work on the computer, I verified when checking in that they had in room dsl. Answer yes. When I got to the room, I was unable to log on. I attempted to get a room change, even though I had not messed up this one at all, this was not granted. I finally called the "technical help" number listed in the room for computer help. I was informed that this hotel has had issues with their remote site servors for quite some time and had done nothing to repair. So, you can go to the lobby to use your computer. Other non issue, the pool and hot tub were under repair, and there was quite a bit of ice in the parking lot which had no been addressed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyEC, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear sbc228.
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your frustration with the internet access. There are a few challenges that we encounter regarding internet in our small town. With our location in the middle of the mountains, we have limited bandwidth that occasionally makes it difficult to stream video or utilize programs like Skype. This is a community wide issue that will not be resolved until more infrastructure is built. In the last week, however, we have replaced the wireless router on the 3rd floor which could have been the issue that you experienced while you were here. While we know the wireless internet can sometimes be problematic, we do have Ethernet cables available at the front desk and all rooms are hardwired as well so that might have been a good option for you.
Please also keep in mind that November is typically when our winters begin which mean snow and ice. While we plow, shovel, and salt to reduce slip and fall hazards, you will encounter winter conditions; please take the proper precautions.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.