We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rohnert Park, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived after a 5 day backpacking trip. The desk clerk was gracious despite poor appearance. Before the trip we had stayed at an Inn down the street for relatively the same cost and were very disappointed in the condition of the facility. These premises were more like a Hilton than a Best Western. The bed was extremely comfortable with numerous high quality pillows. The shower was better than average, the room large with flat screen TV and a broad selection of channels. The indoor pool and hot tub were clean and well kept. The fitness room was small but with nice equipment. The best was the complimentary breakfast with many hot dishes, fresh pancakes, a wide assortment of fresh fruit and assortment of nuts; far more diversity than any breakfast bar I have encountered to date. An exceptional value for the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    193
    43
    17
    16
See reviews for
182
162
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

In my experience, the pros and cons balanced out for this hotel.
First the cons. As for the room I was given: the chairs were not quite clean, the bathroom was clean enough but not fresh, the windows were screen-less, the air conditioning was difficult to control and the fan setting did not work at all, and the toiletries were of cheap quality (with no shower cap included). As for other aspects: I found the overall decor to be slightly dated (although the facility is certainly maintained in reasonably good condition), and the complimentary breakfast was distinctly underwhelming (try Schat's Bakery across the street instead).
And now for the pros. As for the room I was given: The bed was especially comfortable, the TV was a recent model with a large screen receiving a large number of channels, the WiFi worked well and was fast and free, and the room was quiet. As for other aspects: The location was convenient and easy to find, parking was ample, and I found the staff to be, without exception, exceptionally friendly and helpful--so much so that I am tempted to bump up the rating to 4 stars. Until I think about what I paid! The rates for this hotel are very very high.
So, an average hotel with exceptional staff and very pricey.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Mammoth Lakes Best Western was the nicest and most comfortable moderate priced hotel I have ever stayed at. The free breakfast had ever breakfast item you could want and my wife and I estimated this added $20 to $30 to the value of the room. The rooms had a fridge, microwave and nifty one cup coffee maker that worked like a charm.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Apart from the hands-down best breakfast spread ever, there was nothing particularly special about this hotel and a couple things left us scratching our heads given the somewhat high nightly rate (even with our discounts).

Our room (for 4) was a little cramped, and the view out our first-floor window was abysmal... a messy alley with scrap metal and other construction stuff. The carpet was either worn and faded, or maybe in need of a good steam cleaning. I didn't get close enough to inspect it, but it did catch my eye when we arrived. The beds were clean and comfortable though, and the room was certainly quiet.

It felt like there was penny-pinching going on; they charged for kids over 12, you had to get pool towels at the front desk (are people stealing them?), and we needed coupons for the complementary breakfast (are people sneaking in?). Maybe the latter two are a problem in Mammoth Lakes, but this is the ONLY hotel on our 3-week trip that made us pay more because we have a teenager! Odd.

Getting back to that breakfast... this was the very best complimentary breakfast spread we had on our trip. Bacon, pancakes, sausage, cereal, toast ... you name it, and it was all delicious! The poor server girl was overworked (collecting tickets and trying to seat people), but the food was excellent!

The indoor pool was smallish and did not lend itself well to catching some rays, but I'm sure it's great in the Winter after skiing.

Nothing bad about this place really, but then nothing remarkable apart from that breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed for one night on the way up to Yosemite and wished we could have stayed longer. The receptionist who checked us in was very helpful and gave use advice on visiting the nearby Devil's Post Hole (well worth a visit) as well as local places to eat.
The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent, much better than other similar hotels we have stayed in. Parking was in covered bays, it kept our car cool in 30+ heat and presumeably in winter keeps the snow off! An amazing swimming pool open from 7am unitl late. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel was booked as a one night stop en-route from Las Vegas to San Francisco.

When we arrived and checked it, the whole town had a feel of a Northern Scottish Ski town.

The hotel was great for our needs.
We had a family room with a nice king and bunk beds. Both areas had their own TVs, but need a wee door on the bunk bed area to stop the TVs drowning each other out.

The pool maybe small, but after a long drive through Death Valley it was what we all needed.

Breakfast was served in the Cafe near the entrance, which had all the usual staples.

We would stay there again and maybe for a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

A well appointed '3 star' type hotel.
Location good on the main highway into Mammoth Lakes town.
Efficient check in. The bed room was very good with free internet provision.
A nice looking swimming pool.
The only negative was the lack of staff in the cafe for breakfast. At 8am there were only 3 on duty for all tasks, this was clearly not enough at this peak time. It was observed that the 'hostess' was required to undertake table clearance duties as well as breakfast check in. For example we had to wait for food plates and for table clearance. Food items were however satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel

Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.