We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quickie detour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Obsidian Dome

Obsidian Dome
Deadman Summit, June Lake Loop, Mammoth Lakes, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 Attractions in Mammoth Lakes
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location is in Mono County near June lakes, this natural dome was created out of lava which solidified to black glass, hence the name, obsidian.
Incline Village, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice quickie detour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you enjoy rocks or dramatic landscapes this is for you. Was an interesting 'otherworldly" place to hike around. We picked up some rocks like pumice and obsidian. I took others advice and drove around to the back and parked to take the short 10 min (past the green date) hike up to the top. Seems there is a lot of trails up their to walk around and just stare at the beautiful rocks.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Rocks of various colors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Obsidian Dome may not be your first destination when visiting the Mammoth-Mono Lake region. Its a fairly stark place, rather looks like a huge pile of rubble from far away. It's in fact a mile long 300 foot high pile of lava rock. Once you get closer and take and look around you will find many interesting rocks and formation in that pile! We found a short hiking trail leading to the top of the mountain. Try not to climb up by finding your own way. The rocks are sharp and if you fall you could seriously cut yourself. I'll let the photos speak for themselves.
Obsidian dome is located off 395 on Glass Flow Road just beyond Deadman Summit. A 1.5 mile gravel road leads to a parking lot from where you may explore the dome.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great to see once.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I saw the Obsidian Dome once as a kid and we went back to take my kids. I don't remember it being such a big pile of rocks! It's not really a dome per say, just a very large of pile of different types of rocks, with obsidian in sections. It's interesting, we spent about a 1/2 hour there (it was super windy and cold - we were wearing shorts and down jackets!) We were there at the end of June. It's a very dusty/gravel road to get out there, but regular cars without 4 wheel drive can do it. You have to see it at least once :-)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wow. The park service isn't kidding when it labels this place "Obsidian dome." This is a huge mound of obsidian that you can climb upon (be careful-this can be tricky). You will get to see large and small pieces of volcanic glass. Some form large, shiny swirls; others look like tree bark. This is an amazing place. The surrounding trees are beautiful,too. Not to be missed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Had the dome to ourselves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

WE visited Obsidian Dome in the early evening and were the only ones there. TOok a lot of pictures and enjoyed the area. The road is gravel so it was dusty.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obsidian Dome also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Obsidian Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obsidian Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.