We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Mammoth Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mammoth Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Scenic Gondola Ride
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Redlands, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had read other reviews so were not expecting much. First off, the lobby is very nicely done with the large gas fire always going with comfortable seating around it. We were greeted by friendly staff and given a room in the main building. Our room was very nicely detailed; fresh looking paint, and good looking carpet. The bed and linens were first rate. We found our TV was not working quite right so after sending maintenance to try a repair, which didn't work, they offered to move us next door to an upgraded room and then had staff help us move. All the staff were very responsive, polite, and amiable; in the bar, in the store, and all the support people in the lobby. Of course the location across from the Mammoth Mountain Ski Area Main Lodge is very convenient.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building so we can't say what the quality of the rooms are in the two a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    141
    100
    70
    41
See reviews for
121
180
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I'm gonna try to not only keep this short and sweet, but also help YOU eliminate spending time searching other options in Mammoth...MMI is simply the place to stay...no joke, stay there!!! Location location location first and foremost. The only hotel truly nestled up on the mountaintop, it gives you direct and easy access to put on your skis/board and immediately hit the slopes...the price is very reasonable, especially compared to many other properties in town, and the amenities are plentiful...restaurant options, bar options, pool/hot tubs, general store, game room for the kiddos, VERY CLEAN rooms and common areas prestine, and an ambiance that may not be your typical "high-class" hoity-toity aesthetic, but rather one FULL OF CHARM with a real feel for the slopeside, mountain setting!!!!! LOVE THIS PLACE; I have been there several SEVERAL times, as a solo trip, with friends/family, even hosted my close friends' wedding party there in one of their 2 bedroom with a loft type condo rooms...highly, highly recommend this place to all who enjoy Mammoth!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

i just found the hotel like a motel.. very basic, the rooms were all small and you could hear your neighbors above and on the side, lol. however, the location made it worthwhile with everything just a step away...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puako, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a basic hotel, but located right on the mountain. You just walk across the parking lot and get on the lifts. Simple room but clean and cozy. The price point is awesome for the location and ski in ski out. If you are looking for convenience look no further. All the town amenities are a 5 minute drive away, but you beat the crowds and the parking hassle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We just love this hotel, and have enjoyed many a stay there over the years. The Mammoth Mountain Inn has a special place in our hearts, and we've found the service to be exceptional. It offers tangible historic charm and real character that you just can't buy. It's reasonably priced and offers a fabulous slope side location ski-in ski out location. We love the high ceilings, open fireplace and impeccable service we've received. I'd like to Personally recognize Winter Ace (Call Center Extraordinaire), Luis Villanueva (GM and Chief Commander Inn), Darla Ross (Front Desk manager and Face of the Inn) and all the rest of the the staff, Thanks for a memorable stay!!! We've stayed at many a fancier location for far more money, we know that at some point the day will come when our beloved inn will taken down and replaced by a 5 Star Branded Monstrosity like the Westin Monache, that will be a sad day for us and unfortunately, will likely price us out of staying there, enjoy it while its still standing and still affordable, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We suggest dealing with mammoth mountain directly, through their website or call center when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Maybe I am just lucky, but I was greeted by one of the Johnson Brothers as I walked in the Mammoth Mountain Lodge Lobby, not only that, but the continued friendliness from him and his brother made me feel at home while I was there on a solo snowboard trip on the opening day of this season Nov 7th 2013/14. The friendliness, the reaching out for conversation to check in with me, and then room facing slope side were just awesome.

The final icing on the cake was, if you can believe was at check out! Darla Ross, Front Desk Mgr. who kindly, patiently helped me check out, made me feel heard and went above and beyond to insure that I was appreciated, and that the bill was correct. Her patience with me, her willingness to make sure everything was as it should be, just added to the entire experience.

Mammoth is my favorite mountain in Ca, and going there is a slice of heaven, even making the trip from Chico, CA. The staff exceeded my expectations of hospitality, I got spoiled!

Thank you to the entire staff!

Room Tip: If you can stay at the lodge at Mammoth Mountain Inn, or the adjoining lodges, the rooms are super n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I travelled with a family of four, myself, my younger sibling and my parents.
The whole trip was fantastic! The hotel caters to everyone’s needs and even included a games room for my younger sibling, there is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel which has great signal everywhere. It was always clean and nearly all staff are polite and more than willing to help you with anything you need.

The Room: We had a room in the main Inn which over looked the mountain, the room was cleaned well everyday by the staff and there was a lot of space. The only thing we had to request during the stay was a fridge as this did not come as a standard in the room.

The Food: There is a restaurant/bar in the main inn which overlooks the mountain, the food here is wonderful and reasonably priced! If you stay here I would definitely recommend a meal here!

The skiing: the skiing was by far the best I have experienced. We luckily experienced heavy snow fall whilst we were there but the slopes are kept well with a range of runs suitable for all skier’s.

Other things to do: when we were not skiing we travelled down to the local village, there was not a lot to do there but were a few simple shops and restaurants.

Overall a fantastic stay! Somewhere I will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.