We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the park, but needs an upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mammoth Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift&Lodging
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to the park, but needs an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We didn't know Mammoth at all, and we booked this hotel to stay in once we were done with a backpacking trip at Mammoth Lakes. If you're a skier, it's right at the base of the main lifts. If you're a mountain biker, it's at the base of the gondola that takes you to the top of the mountain. And if you backpack/hike, it's convenient for taking the shuttle into the park to get to your trailhead or visit Devil's Postpile. But I recommend staying in the Village at Mammoth, not here, for several reasons: 1) More options for dining and evening entertainment; and 2) Better facilities.

The staff was first-rate, very friendly and accommodating. The hotel clerk worked hard to check us in a day early when we showed up ahead of time. The bartenders and wait staff were awesome. But the food in the main dining room, for the quality, was overpriced, and they can get away with that because they're the only hotel with this location. For breakfast, I suggest ordering the breakfast burrito. It was tasty and inexpensive. Avoid the overpriced buffet. The dinner menu was limited, both at the Inn and the pub (The Yoddler). The German theme at The Yoddler was overly kitschy. Forget the kitsch and provide more options.

In town, you have many restaurants to choose from, and they're only 10 minutes away. Plus, you've got the vibe on the street that's got more energy than the Mammoth Mountain Inn.

Our room was clean, but the air conditioner didn't work. The tiles in the bathroom were cracked, and the tub floor was squishy (plumbing issues). That's really unacceptable for the price of the hotel room. The inn should really upgrade the cooling and heating system so it's energy efficient. Our room was also located near some loud machinery, most likely the laundry. I needed earplugs to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main inn, not the Yodel Haus, and looking toward the gondola.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    185
    120
    78
    47
See reviews for
159
218
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for the Mammoth 1/2 Marathon. It was priced right. It was perfect for two friends. The rooms are comfortable, though not posh, but we didn't pay for posh. There is a beautiful hiking trail just behind the property. If you are coming to ski, or mountain bike, this is super convenient. It does require driving to any of Mammoths excellent eateries, or shopping. Literally adjacent to the ski lifts and the gondola to the top. Lots of fun family activities available on site. The staff was wonderful. Many European / foreign tour companies use this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here this weekend and what a fantastic time we ha. I will always stay at Mammoth Mountain Inn. The warm pool and great Jacuzzis are clean are some of the best I've been in. The views are beautiful cant wait to come back and get one of the 3 story rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of the location and the fact that we had never stayed in a ski resort before, although we went in summertime! Our sat nav took us slightly off course but when we finally arrived we were stunned and thought it was fab. Very quiet when we arrived, guess we arrived later in day. The hotel has an Alpine Lodge feel inside and out. Roaring log fires, and they were as we arrived! Lots of antlers on the wall. Rooms were comfy and large enough for us as a family of two adults and one child but a bit brown/grey looking like a 1970s UK Hotel. Parking was free and safe from bears as long as you didn't leave food in the car! Bit worrying seeing lots of signs about bears around, but we didn't see any, you sorta want to see one but don't! This resort is really for the types who like mountain biking, climbing etc. The shuttle bus is great and drops you around an 8 mile loop of walking trails and this is where you get to see waterfalls, forest and lakes. The bar has to be the best view I have seen from bar.. Mammoth Mountain itself, what a picture window! The cable car ride up to the top is a must. The town of Mammoth is lovely and we found great places to eat and when we stayed there were outdoor free concerts to listen to in the evening with fire pits lit. Just loved this resort location. This hotel is about 10,000 feet above sea level and you can feel the effects of altitude. I personally took a few days to adjust and felt very out of breath. Lots of water and slow your pace is the key!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Always love staying at the Inn! It is our favorite place on the mountain. Darla and her staff are always extremely helpful and welcoming. The property has the feel of a wonderful mountain lodge with fine amenities.
Great ski valet available in front of hotel and lovely area by fireplace for relaxing with friends, family or other visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was the first time my girlfriend and I have ever visited Mammoth mountain. The mountain is amazing but the Inn made our trip. Mammoth Mountain Inn has the best amenities and best location for easy access to several lifts and the gondola, but the best part is the staff. The staff is very courteous and knowledgeable but above all friendly. The front desk manager Darla Ross went above and beyond her duties to help make our stay more comfortable. I will definitely be back and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friends and I just came back from skiing and snowboarding for a few days at Mammoth and stayed at the Mammoth Inn for our trip. They found a deal that included lift tickets for each of the nights we stayed for $180/night/room (not including taxes, resort fee, other fees). That's a great deal since the lift tickets still cost around $70 each, however, without the deal, this place would not have been worth it as we stayed at the 800-900s rooms that are probably the oldest part of the whole complex. I guess the deal only applies to the older rooms.

Goods:
1. Friendly employees at the check in and ski valet
2. Large flat screen t.v. and DVD player (older selection of DVDs included as part of $20 resort fee). Many cable channels to choose from.
3. Comfy bed and lots of pillows
4. Nice, warm comforters
5. Good quality bath products (Aveda brand) and lots of towels
6. Ski valet service was really convenient although we can't imagine how busy they would be if there were more guests as there's only one person that works there
7. Complimentary pair of ear plugs were very useful for my friend who got woken up by drunken guest at 2am.
8. Parking garage for covered parking
9. Free microwave and mini-frig when requested
10. Right next to the Gondola and two other lifts - ultimate convenience.

Bads:
1. Housekeeping was so lazy, they never even washed out the bathtub, change the sheets, or gave us new shampoos, conditioners, and soaps even though we had already used up the bath products.
2. Bathroom needs major remodeling as the vanity and floors are cracked or stained. No vents or fan so if you take a hot shower, it will fog up the mirrors.
3. One of the lights didn't work so the room was a bit dark.
4. Room was way too hot even though we shut off the heater.
5. $20 resort fee was a bit ridiculous since everyone nowadays has a cell phone to make local or long distance calls. Wireless connection was so weak it was pretty useless.
6. Women's shower to use the jacuzzi was broken so although the wall signs say to shower before using the hot tub, that's hard to do when it's been corded off.
7. The 800 and 900 rooms where we stayed at do not have elevators so if you have a lot of luggage, it would be difficult and tiring to lug up/down the stairs.
8. Thin walls especially when drunk guests are banging the doors at 2am in the morning.

I'm told that high season rates are double or triple what we paid so I guess people pay for the convenience and location of the place since it sure isn't luxurious except for the price. Would we stay here during peak season/rates? Nope, but the deal we got was worth it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 800s-900s rooms, very old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.