We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here for a Fabulous View of the Mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mammoth Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Play
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
long beach, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stay Here for a Fabulous View of the Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This stayed at the Mammoth Mountain Inn last week. Its mid April so it is Spring Skiing. Still it is the best ski in-ski out location on the mountain for us. Easy access to the gondola and to the top of the mountain. They treated us very well and everyone was very friendly/personable and professional. During the ski season they have a ski valet service which is great!

They allow dogs which is great for us. We arrived late Monday April 15 and were greeted by name. Our bellman was very helpful especially since I had "lots of stuff." Front desk staff were all very helpful and checked us in quickly. EVERYONE FROM START TO THE END OF OUR TRIP WAS WONDERFUL!

Our room was very clean and comfortable. They even gave us a late checkout so we can ski the morning of our departure and then drive home.

During our stay the new Manager Luis came by and introduced himself and thanked us for our business. He even enticed us to stay an extra night to enjoy the great spring snow!

The Dry Creek Bar has an awesome view of the mountain...great for apre sking.

We highly recommend the Inn to anyone who wants convenience of ski in/ski out and a beautiful mountain side inn showcasing memorabilia of the McCoy family throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: be sure and use the ski valet services!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    238
    137
    89
    49
See reviews for
226
285
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed at Mammoth Mountain Inn 2x in the last month (March and April). This place is so conveniently located right next to the Main Lodge. I can literally walk a few steps from the parking garage and I'm at the Gondola! The Hotel is not luxurious but it has all the ammenties one would need. They have 4 heated Jacuzzis 3 of which are indoors and 1 is outdoors with the most BEAUTIFUL views of the mountains. They also have a heated pool. Their bar is chill with tons of seating and beautiful views of the mountains. They even have a tuning room to tune your skis or boards. They have their own equipment rental shop so you dont need to go anywhere to rent them if you dont own your gear. The staff is always friendly and even upgraded us to a Condo even though I only paid for a single bed hotel room. I would never stay anywhere else when in Mammoth unless of course I could afford a House right on the mountain. This place will not disappoint if your main mission is to have a convenient location close to the slopes. If you like luxury and require room service then this place is not for you.

Room Tip: Stay in the Building where the parking garage is as that is where all the Jacuzzis are located. Soo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pretty much Ski in ski out, location couldn't be better. Loved the heated pools, views up to the mountain. Bar/restaurant onside was great. Had one of the best days ever spring snowboarding there. A little dated but clean and tidy and comfortable. Would recommend and return one day!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Extremely friendly staff! i highly recommend this hotel, it's only steps away from the gondola, and great little walks behind the hotel for dogs. Clean, comfy and friendly place to stay - very accommodating for pets, and great restaurant food.
Darla Ross at front desk, and all front desk crew very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing resort are fabulous for a morning view of the mountain and have a long connecting deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was really glad I'd read the other reviews for this hotel as it lowered my expectations - which were then easily exceeded. We stayed in the west wing, near the main building and there was floorboard noise from above, and the wind did whistle outside, and the bedroom TV was at an angle where you couldn't see it- but that mattered very little as the reception was mostly terrible (no great loss as American TV is so stuffed with adverts that we could hardly bear to watch it anyway). The beds/pillows/sheets were clean and comfortable, the kitchen well stocked with the necessaries (including salt & pepper) - microwave/toaster/coffee machine/dishwasher, the bathroom clean and plenty of towels.

However, the staff were, without exception, fantastic. Especially the boys in the ski rental place within the hotel (so much better than the cattle market in the public hiring place across the car park), the front desk people helpful and well-informed.

If you value people over shiny appliances, this won't disappoint.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom + "murphy" pull down bed, was more than adequate space for 2 adults & 2 kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are skiing Mammoth and take the gondola to the top, this is the most convenient place to stay. You are fifty yard from the gondola entrance. The service is pretty good and seems to be getting better.

The accommodations are very dated and you'll pay a premium to stay there.

We had a bad experience of being quoted one rate and then being charged substantially more. The desk people said there was nothing they could do and management dummied up (my opinion) and I got stuck with an extra $150 a day. No one mentioned before we got there that there was an extra $20 a day “resort fee”. The “resort fee” was to cover use of the gym facilities (joke of a gym) and the shuttle to and from town. If you don’t have a car while there, the shuttle is really handy.

Our experience left such a bad taste in my mouth I’d rather stay elsewhere in Mammoth. This experience reminds me why I have a season pass at Heavenly Valley rather than Mammoth for the last five years.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be any good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Greetings fans,
The family and I returned to yet another snowboarding trip to mammoth lakes, California. Call us crazy, but we are on the search for descent accommodations. We were initially offended and upset by the lack cleanliness, consideration, and commitment that we saw from tamarack lodge, the village, juniper springs and have decided that this I s simply what one must put up with the mammoth lakes conglomerate. We have changed out expectations to believe that the accommodations for which one pays top dollar for will be substandard and now we are looking the that hotel which is the oasis we've been looking for.

This weekend to have changed from the rudeness and crudeness of juniper springs to mammoth inn. I've read reviews describing it as dated. However, I wish it remind the reader,that dated is when we go to grandmas house. You walk in and the aroma of baked goodies greets you and the homes appliances date back to these entries, hey even the fifties. Laminate counter tops in green,yellow and orange abound. That my friends is dated.

No, the mammoth mountain inn is dated, yet the overall impression of dated on top of a snow capped mountain top, drinking cocoa would be tolerable, if not appealing but for the lack of maintenance to. The facility. The elevator is extremely small and with what appears to be a filthy felt-like gray square which I suspect replaced a rotted out carpet. The odor of wet meets the nostrils as an insult. Entering the room one notes it to be larger in size, the Murphy bed bring a smile as you recall grandmas house, only to snap back to reality, "what a dump". Kitchenette adequate for four. Open the utensils and note the food on the utensil, spots and dust. We had to wash in hot water.the rug, O M G the rug is filthy. My daughter took her shoes o ff for 10 minutes and we had to change the socks. Only walk in slippers.. Open windows are in need of repair. The windows do not open adequately due to lack of maintenance, the mirrored door is off its slider, the door to the master bedroom does not close. In the second bedroom,there must have been an o ld, wet, dog for the acrid smell that assaults the nostrils cause us to leave the window open. We had to take our chances, the odor or pneumonia.

In summary...the mountain is beautiful, we are snowboarding addicts and will continue to search for a location where those of us who expect to get descent accommodations, not luxurious but descent, with respectful customer service oriented staff will find it. The season I s coming to an end but I think there is still one or two possible entries left.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor west. It is a zoo. Never accept a room that is not on the top floor. Families w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.