We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip was awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mammoth Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Mammoth Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift&Lodging
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trip was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

You have read the other reviews about location, location, location. It's all about the location. I manage a top destination INN in San Diego,Ca and here is what we found.

Well I am here to tell you, we enjoyed our stay. Our room was mountain view with a King bed. We loved it! Open your sliding glass door that viewed the mountain and snow would come barreling in. Perfect and just what we wanted. The mountain view bar upstairs was the coolest, I could have sat there all day watching the boarders go big. Biggest jumps and the huge half pipe are right there at the base and are amazing to watch. Always something going on. We didn't really chat with the staff to often. Just a few request but be prepared to request it a few times. Called three times for a luggage rack. Not the biggest deal though. People are people. Front desk has DVDs they let you barrow. This fee is already charged in your $20 per day resort fee. We ordered room service one night and it was pretty good. Be ready to pay up though. They know they are one of the only places you can get food in the area.

Alright
-Pros:
-Obviously the location. Can't beat it
-Board/Ski check in/out. They hold your equipment so you don't have to lug it around the hotel
-Board shop is onsite, Over three days of boarding, something is bound to bust the way I ride.
-Friendly staff
-Strong drinks at their bar. The bartenders are generous. Think it's because they know its $$$.
-Hot tubs! Indoor and outdoor!
-The comfy bed with the huge comforter, super warm!

Alright now the CONS;
-Everything is over priced besides the room
-Not all hot tubs worked, and had to walk what felt like a mile to them. Need more in different locations or install jacuzzi tubs in rooms. We know you can afford them with all the business they get. People everywhere at all times
-Had to request anything we wanted several times. Staff are young, the foreign employees seem to be the ones to talk to. Any local employees seemed to look at us like they were stoned or "super tired."
-Upon checkout we had duplicate charges from our room service and the staff had to wait for a manager to come in and fix it later. A little weird considering they have what seems like a 100 employees, no manager there? That's why this place is the way it is and guest give it an ok rating...

This hotel should be a top destination in the world if it were to invest a little more heart into it. Could really be amazing! Sure the owner is committed but his managers and staff are not...
Hotel manager to hotel manager- If my hotel owner owned mammoth mountain inn and it ran the way it does, all staff would be evaluated and/or replaced. Bring in people that will make a difference in the business. I know it's sold out a lot and thats ultimately the goal, but look at these reviews. People are not happy...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    174
    116
    77
    47
See reviews for
146
211
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is like a run-down mountain shack with incomplete, thoughtless remodeling. We only stayed here for the convenient location. It has the best location right next to the Main Lodge and makes getting the kids on the slopes in the morning very easy.

The facilities were clean, tolerable, but very mixed. The 1 bedrm condo in the west building had granite countertops in the bath and kitchen, but the bath tub was old and worn. The bathtub faucet, shower couldn't maintain a steady water temperature and alternately scalded or froze us.

The bed was comfortable, but the poorly placed nightstand blocked access to the bedrm closet, rendering the closet unusable. There was a constant, loud rumbling at night which prevented any peace, quiet.

The restaurants had competently prepared but oversalted, expensive food. If you wanted bread, you could pay $3- for a tiny loaf which barely feeds a child. We were there over Jan 2013 MLK weekend. The restaurant had customers but was not packed. The servers were friendly but forgetful and inattentive. We had to hunt someone down to get anything done, from ordering to getting the check. We spilled a glass of water on the table and were handed a wad of paper napkins and a dirty towel to clean it up ourselves. We never saw a busboy in the restaurant or bar. The restaurant, bar are clearly understaffed, and the waitstaff spends more time flirting,chatting than attending to the customers.

We had very mixed feelings about staying here. We could probably tolerate staying here if we never ate at the restaurants, bars and cooked our own meals ; if we brought earplugs to use at night; if we wore our ski jackets in the shower (to minimize the alternating scalding, freezing water temp); if we had very young kids or disabled skiers in our party.

Room Tip: NOT the west building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are going for the skiing the location is the best. On the slopes at the Main Base next to the main gondola. This is the base that has the best ski terrain and is open the longest. Also next to the main ski school and the child day care center.

Unfortunately due to the location it seems that the company does not feel pressed to upgrade or keep up the maintenance. I stay there for the location but every trip I have a list of item for repair to give to the staff. Examples from last couple of trips: bad door latch, widow seal leaking, bathroom fan bearings shot, broken bathroom fixtures. Also someone must have been dyslexic because the hot and cold water controls were backwards and the heater controls work opposite to the indications on the controller.

As one of the other people commented there was a CO poisoning incident during the Holiday Break. No detectors since this is an old building and state law says they have till 2016 to install them. They started to install detectors after the incident but not sure when they will be in all rooms. Got checked by the Paramedics and one family member was put on oxygen for about 30 minutes to flush out the CO from their bloodstream. They said nobody was seriously injured but some people did not look so good and were transported to the hospital.

Staff is generally helpful and friendly but this is more rustic and not upscale service. The food/restaurant selection is limited so if that is what you are looking for you are probably better off in town. There are shuttles but they can be crowded and may be iffy if there is a big storm. Driving down to town can also be a pain if it is snowing heavily.

Value depends on what you pay and that can vary a lot depending on when you stay. It is never cheap, and is pricey during the major holidays. Also the resort fee is a bit of a joke. $20 for poor WiFi and pool and sauna regardless of if you want it or not. This should really be optional or part of the room charge so prices can be compared fairly.

As I said I stay there for location not the room quality.

Room Tip: Lower floors good if you do not want to wait for elevator or clomp up/down stairs in boots. Upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As everyone else has written, this is an excellent location with the slopes being right outside the door. We only stayed two nights and were happy to be moving on.. We had asked for a quiet room which we got, I would suggest anyone staying asks for the same. The staff in the lobby were very helpful but we found the staff in the dining room a bit hit and miss. It took 20 mins before our order was taken and there were only two other tables occupied so it wasn't because they were busy. Menu is limited and food very average and a little pricey for the quality. We had a deluxe one bedroom. The bathroom was very small as was the bath and the water never hot. Room was clean though the passageway smelt awful! The bed was big and comfy. Overall we feel this property is dated and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the slopes at the end of the corridor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and found the location to be awesome, right on the slopes. There is a ski rental place right in the lobby and they were always pleasant and helpfull. The hotel main lobby is nice with a big fireplace. Our room was just adequate, the sink was clogged, the light by the door didnt work and the walls are very thin. The hotel allows dogs and at least 3 of our nights the dog next door yipped and barked loudly for hours.. Housekeeping is as bad as ive seen for the prices they charge, it should be a lot better: in the 6 nights we were there they never vacumed, never took our dirty cups, i had to set them outside the room as they were gettin moldy, we asked for more several times and were finally told to go ask at the bar for cups, really? We ran out of toilet paper and there were no spare rolls, so we called down and visited the front desk, nothing, on about our 3rd call someone brought a roll, bad, bad. I had just finished dressing when our front door opened and the maid put an iron in the closet and didnt say a word, we chained the door from then on. The food is good but as expected, quite expensive. I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After years of enduring overheated condos and prices at Juniper Springs, we decided to give the Mammoth Mountain Inn a try. Our studio room was perfect for a couple and a college age kid, with a murphy bed that folds out of the way to make the room feel more spacious. Despite the small heater, the room was a bit cold, so we dressed in extra layers. This property is in serious need of a makeover, but once you get used to the fact that it's a bit frayed around the edges, there are some advantages to starting your day in the middle of the mountain, with a short walk to the Broadway Express lift. Kitchenette has a stove and micro but no oven and the walls are a bit thin, so bring your earplugs. Wifi is slow. Jacuzzis are old but not crowded but towels are hit or miss, so bring them from your room. The person who made up our room did an excellent job every day. Good choice if you are willing to go with the flow and don't demand ultra-lux.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi is in the west building, it's a trek across the parking lot if you're in the east bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Location is excellent! However... Water Pressure in a "nice" room in main building in December was a real problem - had no cold water in the morning, and the hot water was too hot to take a shower - so no showers for two days in a room including bath, and no toilet flush. So, used the public showers. Although staff was courteous, they made no apparent effort to fix the problem or compensate us for the inconvenience.

Food in main dining room was flavorful and portions were good, but services was SLOW - which is a particular problem when you're trying to meet group commitments.

It's obvious that lack of competition lets them get away with this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.