We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location for Skiiing, Needs Renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Mammoth Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mammoth Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Scenic Gondola Ride
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Location for Skiiing, Needs Renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are going for the skiing the location is the best. On the slopes at the Main Base next to the main gondola. This is the base that has the best ski terrain and is open the longest. Also next to the main ski school and the child day care center.

Unfortunately due to the location it seems that the company does not feel pressed to upgrade or keep up the maintenance. I stay there for the location but every trip I have a list of item for repair to give to the staff. Examples from last couple of trips: bad door latch, widow seal leaking, bathroom fan bearings shot, broken bathroom fixtures. Also someone must have been dyslexic because the hot and cold water controls were backwards and the heater controls work opposite to the indications on the controller.

As one of the other people commented there was a CO poisoning incident during the Holiday Break. No detectors since this is an old building and state law says they have till 2016 to install them. They started to install detectors after the incident but not sure when they will be in all rooms. Got checked by the Paramedics and one family member was put on oxygen for about 30 minutes to flush out the CO from their bloodstream. They said nobody was seriously injured but some people did not look so good and were transported to the hospital.

Staff is generally helpful and friendly but this is more rustic and not upscale service. The food/restaurant selection is limited so if that is what you are looking for you are probably better off in town. There are shuttles but they can be crowded and may be iffy if there is a big storm. Driving down to town can also be a pain if it is snowing heavily.

Value depends on what you pay and that can vary a lot depending on when you stay. It is never cheap, and is pricey during the major holidays. Also the resort fee is a bit of a joke. $20 for poor WiFi and pool and sauna regardless of if you want it or not. This should really be optional or part of the room charge so prices can be compared fairly.

As I said I stay there for location not the room quality.

Room Tip: Lower floors good if you do not want to wait for elevator or clomp up/down stairs in boots. Upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    141
    100
    70
    41
See reviews for
121
180
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As everyone else has written, this is an excellent location with the slopes being right outside the door. We only stayed two nights and were happy to be moving on.. We had asked for a quiet room which we got, I would suggest anyone staying asks for the same. The staff in the lobby were very helpful but we found the staff in the dining room a bit hit and miss. It took 20 mins before our order was taken and there were only two other tables occupied so it wasn't because they were busy. Menu is limited and food very average and a little pricey for the quality. We had a deluxe one bedroom. The bathroom was very small as was the bath and the water never hot. Room was clean though the passageway smelt awful! The bed was big and comfy. Overall we feel this property is dated and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the slopes at the end of the corridor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and found the location to be awesome, right on the slopes. There is a ski rental place right in the lobby and they were always pleasant and helpfull. The hotel main lobby is nice with a big fireplace. Our room was just adequate, the sink was clogged, the light by the door didnt work and the walls are very thin. The hotel allows dogs and at least 3 of our nights the dog next door yipped and barked loudly for hours.. Housekeeping is as bad as ive seen for the prices they charge, it should be a lot better: in the 6 nights we were there they never vacumed, never took our dirty cups, i had to set them outside the room as they were gettin moldy, we asked for more several times and were finally told to go ask at the bar for cups, really? We ran out of toilet paper and there were no spare rolls, so we called down and visited the front desk, nothing, on about our 3rd call someone brought a roll, bad, bad. I had just finished dressing when our front door opened and the maid put an iron in the closet and didnt say a word, we chained the door from then on. The food is good but as expected, quite expensive. I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After years of enduring overheated condos and prices at Juniper Springs, we decided to give the Mammoth Mountain Inn a try. Our studio room was perfect for a couple and a college age kid, with a murphy bed that folds out of the way to make the room feel more spacious. Despite the small heater, the room was a bit cold, so we dressed in extra layers. This property is in serious need of a makeover, but once you get used to the fact that it's a bit frayed around the edges, there are some advantages to starting your day in the middle of the mountain, with a short walk to the Broadway Express lift. Kitchenette has a stove and micro but no oven and the walls are a bit thin, so bring your earplugs. Wifi is slow. Jacuzzis are old but not crowded but towels are hit or miss, so bring them from your room. The person who made up our room did an excellent job every day. Good choice if you are willing to go with the flow and don't demand ultra-lux.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi is in the west building, it's a trek across the parking lot if you're in the east bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Location is excellent! However... Water Pressure in a "nice" room in main building in December was a real problem - had no cold water in the morning, and the hot water was too hot to take a shower - so no showers for two days in a room including bath, and no toilet flush. So, used the public showers. Although staff was courteous, they made no apparent effort to fix the problem or compensate us for the inconvenience.

Food in main dining room was flavorful and portions were good, but services was SLOW - which is a particular problem when you're trying to meet group commitments.

It's obvious that lack of competition lets them get away with this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Before you book the Mammoth Mountain Inn, understand that you have to trim your expectations dramatically before you arrive. The structures are very old with very thin walls and very small rooms....think dorm room with nice carpet. I had the pleasure of listening to some large farm-animal snore all night and he was located the next floor up.

The hotel apparently allows dogs so you may also have the pleasure of listening to some yappy rat-dog. I'm sure the hotel does its best to mitigate the dog-noise but the reality is that the walls are so thin that any ill-behaved dog will disturb others.

Frankly, the hotel should be flattened and reconstructed to modern norms if they want to charge the prices they charge. I was also surprised when I reviewed my bill for checkout. The normal charges were there...room charge, tax, mandatory resort fee for the use of a pillow and flush-toilets, etc... but then there was some sort of fee labeled like MMCF Donation, one dollar each day. I didn't know what it was so I called the front desk and it was explained to me that it was a donation to the Mammoth Mountain Ski Team. Are you fricking kidding me???? The Mammoth Mountain Inn is going to slam a donation on my bill without my knowledge....taking money out of my pocket to support the Mammoth Mountain Ski Team. I can't begin to tell you how offensive this is. The front desk guy said the charges were to be reversed upon my request, but I should have to proactively chase a refund for a donation to an organization I've never heard of? Why don't they take the $20 "resort fee" and carve out a donation from those proceeds instead of attempting to screw me on the bill. Very greasy in my opinion and I can't believe they would try to screw their hotel guests like this....so buyer beware.

If you get seduced by the location, simply be aware that you're paying for the the location only.....and for what you pay for the rooms, if you expect more, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First of all, let me say I love Mammoth Mountain and have been skiing here since I was a kid, but have always stayed in condos with my family. Now that I'm an adult I wanted to have a 5 ay getaway with just my girlfriend, and since the Mammoth Mountain Inn was so close to the Gondola, I booked 4 nights.
The Pros: Closeness to the gondola
The Cons: Kids running rampant all over the hotel, even the bar area. Paper thin walls, I was on the first floor and my upstairs neighbors sounded like they were bowling all the time. Mediocre and overpriced hotel restaurant that closed for breakfast at 9AM and Dinner at 9PM. Tiny "Deluxe King" room with view of the parking lot and no balcony. Resort fee and Hotel fees were like $30 per night. I will never stay here again, and advise couples looking for a fun getaway to lodge elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor so you don't have to hear kids running around the rooms and halls ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
Quiet, Pool, Ro...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 30 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 30 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.8 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#5 of 30 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
4.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#2 of 30 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 30 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Mountain Inn

Address: 10400 Minaret Road, Box 353, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mammoth Mountain Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the gondola. The Mammoth Mountain Inn is a great place to base your vacation if you want to wake up on the mountain itself. Stay in a recently remodeled craftsman style condo or suite. All rooms have slopeside access in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mammoth Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Mountain Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Mammoth Mountain
Inn Mammoth Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.