We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than last time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Creek Lodge
85 Rock Creek Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Much better than last time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from another trip to Rock Creek Lodge. This trip was much better than the last visit we had when we had problems with Jan. Jan was still there but we didn't see much of her. They had the most wonderful man, Jeff working the store and he was the nicest person we have ever talked to that has worked at RCL. He even sad down with us and showed us his favorite off the beaten path hiking trails. He was really a breath of fresh air. The scenery was beautiful as usual. The cabin was very clean and we noticed the new items like towels and a shower curtain, that makes a huge difference. My only suggestion would be new beds. I think they have had the same beds for 40+ years and we all have a sore backs for a few days after we get back but it's worth it and this is a wonderful place! Thanks for another great trip!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great location if you like hiking and fishing. The main lodge could use some TLC.
The stove leaks smoke badly and the TV VCR and DVD player need to be replaced.
Modern cabin was great but needed a toaster and larger coffee brewer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our family has been coming each year, sometimes twice a year to Rock Creek Lodge for 38 years straight except for the 1 or 2 years before the current owner purchased it when it was boarded up for that time. We have raised our children coming here and this is a very special place for us and will continue to be despite the complete lack of class by Janice, the lodge manager. Never in my life have we been treated so rudely and disrespectfully by someone and we are from Southern California so that says a lot. I can't believe she is in the hospitality business and she has made it loud and clear that she doesn't care if you are there or not, and in fact would rather not have anyone at Rock Creek Lodge so she doesn't have to work. I know many families who no longer stay at RCL because of her. We will be back despite of this very negative experience as we won't let one miserable person destroy our family tradition but the owners should really re-assess who they have running this lodge and make adjustments.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at Rock Creek Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments in regards to Rock Creek Lodge. I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly (7609370101) as I would very much like to know what has prompted the negative comments about Jan, the manger of RCL. I can only assume from the comments posted above some very negative interaction must have happened between you and Jan and I would very much like to look into it. Thank You Robert Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First discovered RCL two years ago while riding in the Fall Horse drive at the RC Pack Station. Promised to return to this lodge with my loved ones to enjoy the beautiful crisp autumn of the Eastern Sierras and it happened this year! We (3 adults, 3 dogs) stayed at one of the modern cabins which sleeps 6, so there was ample room for us - but I can see where 6 large adults might feel a bit crowded on the available bedding. The cabin was charming, clean, had lots of windows and a small porch. We never ran out of hot water for showers, as another traveler noted below. The cabin has a kitchenette with pots, pans, utensils, dishware, glasses and coffee cups, where we prepared several dinners after enjoying full days of hiking with our dogs, photography, and day trips to Devils Postpile, Mammoth Lakes, Mono Lake, the Mountain Light Gallery in Bishop and Keough Hot Springs just south of Bishop. At the time of our visit, RCL was serving a full and hearty breakfast menu (costs extra). Remember you are in the high Sierras so the expectation is that you are not sitting in front of the TV or pecking at your smartphone all day - so no TV in the cabin. Fine with us! However, we had internet connectivity in the cabin but it wasn't very strong but that too was fine with us! My partner and I love the Eastern Sierras and its quiet rugged beauty and loved RCL. My 80 something Mom liked it a lot but missed her cable TV shows and the high altitude took some getting used to for her. But overall a wonderful stay at RCL and we will return. Many thanks to Jacob, Brandon, Jan and Dexter for their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great access to fabulous high Sierra lakes and hikes. There are two trails right from the resort that get to 10,000 and 11,000 foot elevation lake chains, all within 4 miles and the mosquito flat trail head (2 miles up the road) is said to be the "highest trail head in the Sierras" at 9700', with a half dozen lakes available for day hiking. Super Location and setting, with good breakfasts available.
We stayed in one of the "modern" cabins, basically a cosy single wide prefab with a front porch: 12' by 30'. And yes the heater was like a jet in the room. We left it off overnight. the small space heats up quickly in the morn. The larger new cabins (sleep 6?) have a gas "wood stove" that can heat quietly, but are pricey for what you get.
We will go back.

Room Tip: No bath or toilet in the rustic older cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

It is misleading for it claimed to be in mammoth lakes as it won't show up in GPRS.

5 of us stayed in cabin 3, $285/nite, which claimed it can be occupied for up to 6 people. After 2 of us took hot water shower, no more hot water.

Most of us slipped and fell from the steep shallow staircase from the loft.

The old refrigerator makes noise.

The central heating machine is inside the bedroom, it's so loud that its like you are sleeping with a plane/train. The faux wood fireplace makes the loft hot like hell.

I talked to Janice, who has bad attitude, asked us to pay but no instructions for the cabin...

Other than the location, there is no advantage to stay here, we won't go back and warn all of you beware of this lodge. We traveled frequently everywhere and it's our worst experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a hiatus of 20+ years, my husband and I returned for a week-long stay at Rock Creek Lodge, four days of which he was a participant in a plein aire workshop based at the RCL. I can't really rate the fishing, except to say that I saw many guests - both experienced fly-fishermen and youngsters - returning to their cabins carrying strings of very respectable trout. However, the scenery, which has always been the draw to Rock Creek, is spectacular, and the hiking opportunites are endless. The accomodations are rustic but comfortable, just as we expected, and it was a joy to be away from mobile phone, television and computer (satellite service being tenuous at best). The only downside to the relative isolation is that the RCL store stocks very little in the way of groceries, and their dining room doesn't serve dinner -same issue for the Rock Creek Resort - so come prepared. Kudos to the staff for being so helpful, attentive and especially tolerant of the needs of a large group of (mostly) artists! We are very eager to return.

Room Tip: Take a look at their website to view the locations as well as the amenities provided for the three t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Lodge

Address: 85 Rock Creek Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Also Known As:
Rock Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rock Creek Lodge to your Saves list