We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe easy in the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mammoth Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Creek Lodge
Save
You added Rock Creek Lodge to your Saves list
85 Rock Creek Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breathe easy in the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The first buildings at Rock Creek Lodge were constructed in the early 1920's. There are still a number of beautiful old rustic cabins available for guests. More recently, the Lodge has added "modern cabins" which range from elegant two story structures with fireplaces to more modest "single wide" style accommodations with front porch, living room/dining area, small kitchen small bathroom and bedroom with lots of storage. I recommend you look carefully at each cabin's description on the website, or call the Lodge. There may be a rustic cabin with fireplace, kitchen and bathroom. The main lodge serves breakfast. The bread for toast and French Toast is home made. The jams are fantastic. The bacon is incredibly flavorful as are the eggs and hashbrowns. The staff offers expert guidance on hiking the many splendid high Sierra trails in Rock Creek and Little Lakes Valley. We stay in early October--fall in the mountains, although there can be snow in September. Days are warm and sunny and nights are cold with brilliant stars and the Milky Way. The Lodge is across Rock Creek from Forest Service Campgrounds. My only criticism is the bright night-time lights on the outsides of many of the Lodge buildings and cabins. They detract from the delightful night sky and sense of total isolation. Be prepared for the 9,400 ft elevation. The first night's sleep can be difficult this high up. You might stay a night in Bishop and at Tom's Place to acclimate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We generally stay at a cabin here during Memorial Day weekend every year. The cabins are not high grade but they are clean and what I would consider "quaint". Depending on which cabin you get, you can have a bathroom and shower and kitchen or just a stove, fridge and sink and you have to walk to the communal restrooms. I have no problem with the smaller cabins that do not have a bathroom because I have been camping this way for years. The creek is right next to the more rustic cabins while some of the more up to date cabins all face each other in an open space.
The small general store has a helpful staff and the dining hall has excellent food. I also suggest stopping at the Pie in the Sky, a little diner at the top of Rock Creek where there are daily home-made pies and chili.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizfitzface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Rock Creek area is simply a must-see for anyone who loves the Eastern Sierra, and we make a point to visit every season. Whether camping or staying in cabins, we've viewed it as one of THE places to see Sierra wild flowers during the mid- to late-July bloom. The drainage that includes Little Lakes Valley is not a steep, narrow canyon like many other east-side destinations, but wide and open . . . perfect for viewing -- and photographing -- the spectacular scenery.

The Rock Creek area has two establishments that rent cabins, three if you include Tom's Place adjacent to the 395 and at the entrance to the canyon -- more popular with fishermen targeting Crowley Lake in the valley than folks who want to enjoy the backcountry trails. For years, your high-country cabin choices were either Rock Creek Lakes Resort or Rock Creek Lodge. The Resort has some of the nicest cabins in the Sierras, first rate, but they usually require a minimum week-long stay, and the family dog is not permitted. So for four and five-night stays, it was Rock Creek Lodge. Read some of the reviews before 2007, and see descriptions of what we liked to call the "ghetto cabins," or what the Lodge now markets as "mountain" and "rustic" cabins. They were a bit rough, and often not in the best of repair. (Perhaps the management has gradually made improvements.) But they did the job of putting you and into Rock Creek, and at elevation -- important for aclimating your body for hiking the trails. It was a roof over your head at an affordable price, with a minimal kitchen and functional shower -- not much more. All these older cabins are shown on the cabin map arranged along the lower road -- cabins 5 through 13.

The modern cabins were completed around 2007, and they were a dramatic improvement over the old "ghetto" cabins. We stayed in cabin 16 in 2010 and cabin 14 this past summer. Cabin 16 is actually one of the new designs, with all the modern conveniences, including a microwave. The forced-air heater blasts on like a jet (probably not appreciated by light sleepers), but it does effectively heat the entire interior. The larger cabin 14, while well-maintained, is an older design lacks these modern conveniences, but was probably preserved because of its proximity to the creek and the beautiful view from the living room . . . the large picture windows make it like being in the forest withoug leaving the comforts of indoors. With both cabins, the management earns kudos for stocking the kitchens with durable stainless pots and pans, and utensils that actually work. Too often in these Sierra cabin rentals the kitchenware consists of broken-down junk that looks like it was purchased at a garage sale, and you end up cooking your family meals in pots of oxidized aluminum or flaking teflon coatings. Of course, I always bring my own non-stick teflon pan, as that's asking a lot for a seasonal cabin operator to maintain since some folks just abuse the hell out of this stuff. I also bring my own stemware for enjoyment of quality wines.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our first night sleeping on the queen-sized bed in cabin 14 was not too pleasant. Although the mattress was realtively new, the box springs were ancient, very bouncy and too soft. The management was informed, and within an hour two friendly people came in with a brand new box spring, replaced it, and made up the bed anew. From the perspective of my wife, who has a bad back, this pretty much saved the trip.

What's best about Rock Creek Lodge is its location -- right next to the creek, so you can enjoy activities the instant you step out the door. Near the lodge grounds the creek flows peacefully through a meadow before picking up pace and rushing through some boulder-strewn pocket water, so there's a variety of water to challenge the fisherman, with smaller wild brown and brook trout mixed in with the larger stock rainbows. There also runs a well-maintained trail from The Lodge, along larger ponds and lush meadows, then up an escarpment to Rock Creek Lake and The Resort. Take the camera and/or fishing rod, and cap off the climb with a slice of pie at the Pie in the Sky restaurant!

Room Tip: Extremely popular on summer weekends, and sometimes difficult parking at Mosquito Flat Trailhead. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LightLines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 6 during one of our week long Eastern Sierra trips. You really can't beat the location. Located above 9,000', it's a high alpine setting with great views, and its own creek (well...it's located on Rock Creek, which runs right by several of the cabins.) The setting is nice, but it is right across from a large car camping campground, so it's not super private. Also, it has more a feel of a pack station, with horses and a more open feel.

Cabin 6 is very basic, but lacked a shower/restroom. Our cabin had a double bed and a single bed, which really wasn't great for us, since it's hard for a couple to sleep in the same small double sized bed. I would have preferred one queen instead of two beds, but that's what the room had. In fact, all of their cabins have this odd set-up...none of the smaller cabins have just a single larger bed for couples. It's almost like it's set up for groups of friends or people who just like to sleep by themselves. The kitchenette was small, but served its purpose. I did not like the 1980's fake wood laminte counter, it just didn't go with the feel of the cabin. The windows swung open inward, which again seemed odd, because it kind of got in the way of the bed, and table. It did, however, have a real wood-burning stove, which I really liked. Just be sure you know what you are doing, because there is no other source of heat, and you don't want to just not use it, if it gets near freezing at night.

The bathrooms were a ways away, however, which I didn't like. And the showers were even further. Don't even think about getting up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, unless you want to get all dressed up, put on shoes, grab a flashlight, and walk outside to get to the bathroom. In fact, I didn't shower during our stay, I just used a wet towel in our kitchenette sink to clean up...didn't seem worth the hassle. Overall, it's closer to 3 stars, but I always enjoy staying in high sierra cabins, so that adds one for me. Recommended, but not enthusiastically.

Room Tip: Their website has short descriptions of each cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cthenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed 3-nights at Rock Creek Lodge and enjoyed every minute of my stay. At 9,350 feet, it is a perfect place to acclimate prior to hiking at higher altitude. Just down the road there are several excellent trails to hike. Just steps away from your cabin is a beautiful stream where one can fish all day long. The employees were very friendly. I stopped often to talk to them as they worked the grounds. Everything about my stay was enjoyable. Mammoth Lake city was just a short drive away and so was the city of Bishop but why leave. Bring your food to cook and you never have to leave this paradise resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We were there for the week after Christmas. The week prior they had a huge snow storm (10-feet) and when we were there, another 2-feet plus!

They snow-mobiled us up, but many opt for skiing in and out. The staff is very friendly and my 11-year-old loved the camp dog, "Pete." Other familes were staying there and during off times, the kids played chess, board games and went sledding together.

The food was OMG excellent. House-made breads and soups...all splendid. Each night (we stayed 5-days) we thought it was the best meal ever, but then the next night seemed to top the previous.

We stayed in a modern cabin with heater and kitchen and bathroom and loft for the kids. Somewhat plain and indeed "modern," but exceedingly comfortable.

The heavy snows made it an amazing winter-wonderlandin every sense of the word - it was spectacular to be there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed in one of the old cabins that they called modern cabin #13. It looked out on the parking lot and equipment shed. It was extremely run down. For example the bathroom fixture was hanging loose and I was fearful that it would fall down. The floor in the bathroom was falling apart and the wood was stuffed haphazardly so that you would not get splinters. The whole cabin was dirty. I was glad that I brought a sheet to cover the bedspreads that looked like it wad been there for many years.
The positive was that you are in beautiful hiking country and right beside a creek. Only stay here if you can have one of the new cabins.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
17.9 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
21.3 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
19.0 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
19.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Creek Lodge

Address: 85 Rock Creek Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Rock Creek Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing