We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location: good hotel :” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Lodge to your Saves list
The Village Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location: good hotel :”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

'The Village' is just that. A self contained purpose built village on the outskirts of Mammoth Lakes. The hotel is a collection of privately owned small apartments that are rented out and collected around a shopping and eating open air 'mall'. The rooms are basic and functional. There is no air con in the bedroom, but a ceiling fan. Assuming you are on the 2+ floor an open window will suffice in the mountain air. Beds are large, but regrettably not that comfortable ( although a matter of choice ), soft and 'bouncy'. Pillows are polyester, cheap and lumpy. A room over looking the mall area would be noisy until quite late at night. The hotel staff were helpful with our requests, although there was no bag assistance. In the village are a small number of eateries, all serving very typical US food... huge portions, smothered in mayo, cheese and salt.... OK infrequently but not every night! Mexican, BBQ etc. Mammoth is a ski resort in winter and a mountain biking mecca in summer. There are good walks off of Mammoth mountain to Twin Lakes and great food at the Tamarak Lodge. but be aware of nutters on mountain bikes who are having a great time in near suicidal down hill sections.... BUT the whole area is very dusty. Walking, mountain biking or just being involves inhaling huge quantities of dust. The underlying geology is volcanic pumice hence the dust.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    136
    33
    24
    8
See reviews for
177
96
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I honestly cannot see how this place can only be rated 16 out of 32 at Mammoth it SHOULD BE NUMBER 1. On a 3 week trip staying at 4 star hotels all over California this was probably the best. As a large family of ninewe had 3 rooms in different locations and all were excellent. The only very minor gripe I had was that there was no outlet hole in our door for the air conditioning so we had to leave the door open. Pool was clean and lovely and the location cannot be any better. Staff were very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Heading the advise of earlier reviewers, when checking in we requested the newer Grand Sierra Lodge. The front desk personnel were very helpful in selecting a room that was in this lodge and in a quiet location. We had a one bedroom condo with a full kitchen and all the amenities you would expect. Our room faced west and did not get hot given no air conditioning. It was quiet with the only noise being birds and a few cars passing by on a local road. The only complain was the towels were rather "scratchy".

This is a very good location in the heart of Mammoth Lakes. If you forgot your laptop, which I did, don't worry, there is a free use of the Internet at the front desk area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were told the condos at Village Lodge had a/c when we booked our reservation.
Upon arrival, our condo had a noisy portable a/c unit in the living area, but no a/c in the bedroom. We spent 4 miserably hot and sleepless nights here. We tried to open windows, but there was no breeze, and lots of street noise to deal with. We called the front desk to inquire about getting another condo with a/c. The apologetic clerk said none
of the units had a/c in the bedroom, and there was nothing she could do. Too bad their reservation clerk was not forthcoming with this fact. If you like being trapped in a hot and miserable bedroom in the summer, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Here for June ski trip. Gondola directly from the Village isn't in action until the season. In season you can access the mountain directly.
No complaints about the accommodations. Easy check in, indoor parking. The apartments are small. The best place we have found to eat in Mammoth (Smokehouse) is right in the building.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Walking into the Grand Sierra Lodge, was impressive, unfortunatly we stayed in the White Mountain Lodge, which was average. The sheets and towels were of poor quality. But the room were clean. Certainly not a premier hotel , more like a Holiday inn. Clean with no frills. The friendly staff was a bonus and the location was great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My hubby won this trip on a radio station. Once we started reading the reviews on the Village, we were somehat spooked about what we would experience. I think they have made some significant changes, because everything was fantastic. We asked for a quiet room and got it - if you look at the map of the Village and stay in rooms away from the inside pool area and near quiet, rarely used roads (Forest Trail, Hillside Dr.) you will not have any issues with noise. We requested the Grand Sierra Lodge after reading about how bad Lincoln, etc. were. The staff were friendly, knowledgable and responsive. The room was beautiful, updated and very clean. We even had two humidifiers provided to us- we've been coming to Mammoth for years, and no other condo has made this available. Really helps with the altitude adjustment. The bellhop that showed us to our room took the time to show us all the amenities, how to work things and treated us like family. We rented our skis just around the corner under the gondola, got our lift tickets at the front desk. They have lockers for keeping your ski gear down near where you would exit the building for the gondola, and will provide you with a complimentary lock. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we would need, and most appeared to be nearly brand new. Bathrobes in the closet for going to the jacuzzi/pool along with pool towels and plastic cups so that you can bring your apres ski beverage poolside. We stayed in room 1308 - one bedroom, king size bed with a fold-out couch bed in the living room. We happily paid for an extra night to make sure we had plenty of time for fun and skiiing.

We weren't that impressed with the restaurants in the Village - don't bother with the Smokeyard....in the future we will stick with the tried-and-true and luckily went to the Chart House one night. Wish we had opted for Angel's instead of the Smokeyard. We tried the Mexican restaurant despite our vow never to eat Mexican food north of LA County based on past experience. It verified our vow....Pita Pit rocks - just take the gondola down at lunch, save big bucks and have a fantastic sandwich, then head back to the lifts.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.