We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Lodge to your Saves list
The Village Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ards
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location was brilliant for the lifts and once we got there the staff where very friendly, although dealing with them on the phone beforehand was another story we almost cancelled be caused of the bad reception on the phone I'm glad we didn't though.
The rooms are basic although had everything you need, I did buy some cleaning products to give it a going over because I like the rooms to be spotless and it wasn't just there
Rooms where also too hot at night even in February, when I asked the reception to do something about this they told us to leave the windows open, I didn't fancy it with warnings about bear on various leaflets

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
The Village Lodge strives to provide the upmost service for our guests. I am very happy that we could turn around your initial experience on the phone and would like to thank you for your feed back. I intend to communicate your feedback to our hard working management team. Also during the summer months each unit is set up with an air conditioning unit to stay cool and happy. Be sure to utilize that on those warmer days in Mammoth. Please join us again and happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    144
    35
    25
    10
See reviews for
191
103
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The apartment was confortable and well equiped ; inside the small village of Mammoth lakes was a good point as you could do down directly in the streets and the lobby was very smart and impressive ; rooms were large and bathrooms also but for my second visit in this aera , will note 2 or 3 things what could be improved : due to the fact that we were in the town , perhaps something could be done to reduce the noise . swimming pool could he also heated as was clearly impossible even in august to enjoy .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Village Lodge. We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know where we excel and where we can improve. Your feedback is very important to us and we look forward to have you back to see how your comments have helped us make guest experiences more enjoyable. Thank you and have a wonderful spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in April 2013 for 4 nights in a two bedroom condo. The location is great as the gondola outside takes you straight to the slopes. Would definately stay again. Asked for a late check out as normal checlout is 11am. Got until 2pm free of charge which was greatly appreciated as this allowed us a half day skiing on our last day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Village Lodge. It is a wonderful thing to be able to squeeze a few more hours in on the mountain. It is hard to leave this beautiful place, but we hope to see you back very soon. Have a wonderful spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I got this hotel on 20% discount. I cannot imagine paying regular price for this hotel and have it good value. It would be better to go for a rental in Mammoth. I stayed at White Mountain Lodge.

Pros:
- Location in the Village. Lots to do around here. Either in the Village or Old Mammoth for good locations.
- 2 bedroom condo had two full bathrooms and two soaker tubs. Aveda products in the bathroom are great.
- Full kitchen to cook your food (although will probably need to go across town to get groceries)
- Good TV.
- Good beds.
- Gondola to Canyon Lodge
- Balcony
- Lots of spots for some night life.

Cons:
- Lots of noise. For the price I expect to have some soundproofing! You could hear other rooms oddly and street traffic.
- Village is rather expensive.
- Room in general. Even though it appeared to look really good at the start after staying a while you realize it wasn't built to a true high quality to the price they are charging.
- Fitness room sucked. No towels even or cleaning products in the room also.
- Although this probably is very rare, but we came back and our toilet was clogged with something we didn't do. Not cool at all.

All and all it is a nice location nice hotel. Typical Interwest. I just couldn't imagine paying full price for this hotel as the value just isn't there. Try to catch it on a deal. There are three different buildings in the Village. I am sure there is a difference between each of them so might be best to check the room beforehand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with the Village Lodge. Your feedback is very important to us as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest’s experience. We hope you join us again next time you visit Mammoth to see the improvements we make with guest feedback like yours. Thank you and have a wonderful spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for one night on an impulse, to take advantage of the good snow conditions. Room was spacious, clean and well maintained. Lots of parking, good selection of bars restaurants and shops. A little on the expensive side but that is probably as much to do with the current exchange rate. We hadn't been to Mammoth for 5 years and had forgotten what a great ski resort it is. We will be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay at the Village Lodge. We are so happy we can be a part of your experience and hope to see you back very soon in Mammoth Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location with quick and easy access to Canyon Lodge ski area via a 10 minute free ride on the Village Gondola, or to the Main Lodge ski area via free shuttle bus which runs every 15 minutes. Was very easy to get from the airport to the Village Lodge using the free airport shuttle. Lot of nearby restaurant choices but you'll need a car or bus to get to the local Safeway supermarket. The room was clean and roomy for the three of us; the kitchen was very useful for breakfast when rushing to get out to the ski slopes. The only issue was controlling the room temperature; even with the thermostat off, the room was a little warmer than we're used to. Otherwise, everything was great.

Room Tip: If its snowing, get a room away from the roads as the snowplows run during the early morning hours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Village Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Sometimes the buildings can get a little warm, so we do provide an air conditioning unit in the entry closet of each condo. We do apologize that it was not a comfortable temperature. We do hope that you visit us again. Have a wonderful spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California's Wine Coast Country, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Typical skiing purpose-built Village condos. Comfortable, clean and seems efficiently run. We have stayed in other such locations, Stratton, Tremblant, and Whistler, and this one is comparable.
I would only fault them on the pool area. No towels were ever available anywhere around the pool or in the locker rooms. The temperature of the two hot-tubs was fine but the pool temperature was way too cold and varied widely from day to day. The size of the pool and pool area seems a bit inadequate given the number of condos? Room for only 20 loungers for the entire complex? Even in April skiing weather all the loungers were taken twice when we went to the pool - i would imagine it could be a big problem in summer.
I also was a bit shocked by the presence of two barbecue grills in the pool area, just a couple of feet from the pool itself. Most places you are not supposed to even eat in the pool area - not sure pleasant it would be for the people using the pool and the loungers if someone was barbecuing and blowing smoke everywhere. I would also worry whether it was safe to have grills right there with so many little kids running around?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at the Village Lodge. Interactions with and comments from our guests in terms of what we do well and suggestions for improvement are very valuable to us. We are always looking for ways to improve and create the best experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.