We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more do you need!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Lodge to your Saves list
The Village Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What more do you need!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for one night on an impulse, to take advantage of the good snow conditions. Room was spacious, clean and well maintained. Lots of parking, good selection of bars restaurants and shops. A little on the expensive side but that is probably as much to do with the current exchange rate. We hadn't been to Mammoth for 5 years and had forgotten what a great ski resort it is. We will be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay at the Village Lodge. We are so happy we can be a part of your experience and hope to see you back very soon in Mammoth Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    136
    33
    24
    8
See reviews for
175
95
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location with quick and easy access to Canyon Lodge ski area via a 10 minute free ride on the Village Gondola, or to the Main Lodge ski area via free shuttle bus which runs every 15 minutes. Was very easy to get from the airport to the Village Lodge using the free airport shuttle. Lot of nearby restaurant choices but you'll need a car or bus to get to the local Safeway supermarket. The room was clean and roomy for the three of us; the kitchen was very useful for breakfast when rushing to get out to the ski slopes. The only issue was controlling the room temperature; even with the thermostat off, the room was a little warmer than we're used to. Otherwise, everything was great.

Room Tip: If its snowing, get a room away from the roads as the snowplows run during the early morning hours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Village Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Sometimes the buildings can get a little warm, so we do provide an air conditioning unit in the entry closet of each condo. We do apologize that it was not a comfortable temperature. We do hope that you visit us again. Have a wonderful spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California's Wine Coast Country, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Typical skiing purpose-built Village condos. Comfortable, clean and seems efficiently run. We have stayed in other such locations, Stratton, Tremblant, and Whistler, and this one is comparable.
I would only fault them on the pool area. No towels were ever available anywhere around the pool or in the locker rooms. The temperature of the two hot-tubs was fine but the pool temperature was way too cold and varied widely from day to day. The size of the pool and pool area seems a bit inadequate given the number of condos? Room for only 20 loungers for the entire complex? Even in April skiing weather all the loungers were taken twice when we went to the pool - i would imagine it could be a big problem in summer.
I also was a bit shocked by the presence of two barbecue grills in the pool area, just a couple of feet from the pool itself. Most places you are not supposed to even eat in the pool area - not sure pleasant it would be for the people using the pool and the loungers if someone was barbecuing and blowing smoke everywhere. I would also worry whether it was safe to have grills right there with so many little kids running around?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at the Village Lodge. Interactions with and comments from our guests in terms of what we do well and suggestions for improvement are very valuable to us. We are always looking for ways to improve and create the best experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great location next to Village and Gondola,especially Lincoln House portion of property.Its literally steps to Gondola and when your carrying ski/snowboard equipment that's a plus.Many restaurant choices in Village,Starbucks,Ben and Jerry's,etc.We tried Lanaukis which had pretty good ribs and really fast service and fairly cheap.

Rooms are good,nothing fancy but noise outside and kids running, jumping and screaming in adjacent rooms and pool areas can be annoying.Front desk did quiet down noisy kids above us fairly quickly ( wheres common courtesy theses days anyway)

Ski lockers are available on lobby level and you can either bring a lock or borrow one from front desk.

The gondola is a 5 minute trip up or down mountain and with the prices of food up there it's pretty easy to come down and grab something to eat in your room or at the Village and save some $$.There are also vending machines by ski lockers that sells candy for $1.25 versus $3 on mountain.

Room Tip: Lincoln House if you're going up to ski.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSmith11053, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review of our property. It is so nice to hear that you took advantage of the Gondola to access the mountain. It has truly been a wonderful addition to the Village and Lakanuki is one of many après ski restaurants located in the Village. It is a favorite among locals and visitors alike. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Mammoth Lakes and we look forward to hosting you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been lucky to be guests of an owner the past 5 years. 2br is great for 4 adults and 2 children. Short walk to Gondola. Nice having a full kitchen to use. Front desk staff is nice and always greets us whenever we walk by. Pool is warm enough to use in winter. Hot tubs by main building can be unreliable (probably due to so much use). Fire pits are nice to use and cook s'mores. If there's enough snow, there's a nice sledding hill for kiddos. Building is clean -- they mop lobby and foyeau (sp) most every day. Clientele is good...families, couples, etc. Rooms by Lakanuki can be noisy at night due to inebriated revelers walking around outside and stumbling home, esp Thurs, Fri and Sat nights. But, with the ear plugs the Lodge gives, it's pretty manageable. Overall, a great place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write such a thoughtful review of The Village Lodge. What a wonderful treat to know one of our condo owners! We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us in the upcoming summer months for all of the fun activities and festivals put on at The Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My family of five stayed here in August 2012 in an apartment style room. Very spacious, immaculately clean and stylish decor. Check in staff are SO friendly and helpful. Lots of eating options, several of which we tried over out three nights there. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your experience at The Village Lodge. We look forward to having you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

You could not fault the position of this hotel in the village, just a stone's throw away from the gondola up to the ski area. It might be a little noisy if you are on the actual village side as there are often private parties in the restaurants below but they give you earplugs just in case! Our room had extremely limited space for clothes so we asked for another room. We were given keys to look at a selection but none of them were any better. The hotel was only at 40% capacity so they could have offered us something better - but didn't and we had already unpacked and were, after a long journey and dinner, too tired to ask. There was plenty of space to hang things but just a couple of small drawers. We lived out of our suitcases, which was not ideal. A disappointment after The Ridge at Tahoe. Hot tub was good, no restaurant on site. We would insist on a better room next time.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to review your experience at The Village Lodge. One of our biggest attributes is our accessibility to the ski area. The Village also offers après ski at one of five restaurants on property. It is always important to make sure that your stay with us is enjoyable and unique. I do hope that you will come back to stay with us again. We have plenty of units to choose from so I am sure we can find one that will meet your needs. Please feel free to contact our front desk team before your arrival to make any requests necessary for a fantastic stay in Mammoth Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.