We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the Sierra Mountains..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Lodge to your Saves list
The Village Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Woodham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Sierra Mountains..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great place in excellent location close to gondola (this is not a noise issue - however what you need to be aware of is if your room looks onto public highway they clear the pathways with a noisy machine at 4am!). This is not a huge issue - you are after all in a 'ski resort'. Earplugs are provided should you need them - if you are exhausted from skiing (which is why you are here in the winter then you won't hear it!)

Room perfect for skiers - fully equipped kitchen all necessary gadgets. We had a problem with a blocked toilet - within minutes this was fixed. Problem with Internet connection overnight but this was a resort thing - wifi in whole village resort - this was a great help.

Hot tubs never full as there are 4 - pool looks great but never tried it!

Plenty of restaurants in village - no need to go downtown however good to get out and about. There is a very reliable bus service never far away, however The Lodge offers courtesy service - again never had to wait more than 5 mins for a lift that includes being collected from your chosen venue. Short walk to the gondola to get you on the slopes - steps up to it a bit of a pull bearing in mind the altitude...

Lakanuki for après ski - down the street from The Lodge - great atmosphere and gorgeous shrimp dish.

Would definitely return here- ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: Possibly less noisy in the winter if you ask for room overlooking pool/hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for such a thoughtful and outstanding review of your stay with us at The Village. I know our future guests will find the detail provided by your review to be very valuable. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your experience and hope that you join us again in the near future. Have a great Winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    136
    33
    24
    8
See reviews for
177
97
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hard to beat this location for all it has to offer. You drive in, park and never really have to take the car out again until you leave. The gondola is right at your door. Shopping and restaurants are all there, too. The variety is good and most will find something they like.

The staff is helpful and the room was well equipped. There was even a humidifier! The jacuzzi was just the right temperature for after ski enjoyment. The only thing was that the night time can get noisy since the village comes alive at night. Ask about where the room is facing if this is a concern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of The Village Lodge. It is wonderful to hear that your experience was enjoyable. We look forward to having you with us for your future stays at Mammoth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom condo over new year's eve with family.

I was pleased with the kitchen - granite countertops, more than decent appliances and kitchen was well equipped with supplies. This made it less of a chore to prepare breakfast.

The decor was a lot more modern than I had expected, with the exception of the two TVs which were massive black tube TVs - for the price of the condo, you would think they could upgrade all the TV to decent flat screens. The TVs are also awkwardly placed in the living room making it difficult to see from the couch.

Everything was quite clean and the village is conveniently located to restaurants and the gondola to canyon lodge and some of the ski lifts. Despite it being centrally located, we found we made use of the car often to dine outside of the village as well as pick up groceries, and drive to the gondola up to the summit.
The downfall of this is that the parking garage is awful - spots were pretty tight for all the SUVs and trucks, not to mention the entrance and exit are very narrow.

Another issue was the elevator - it took forever and sometimes would be packed by the time it stopped on your floor. This wouldn't be so annoying if walking were an option, however the stair doors to the floor our room was on was locked, so we had no choice but to use the elevator for one level. This was super annoying and I could see no reason they would lock this door, when you do not need a pass for the elevator either.

Also the gym in this hotel leaves something to be desired - it is small and has limited free weights.

Overall I ranked this stay as average as there was room for improvement and it was quite costly - however, it is very clean and the furnishings appear new-ish and clean as well. I'm not sure what the other options in the area are like, whether they are newer/better or not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Village Lodge. Your feedback is extremely valuable and we are always receptive to looking at ways that improve your experience at The Village Lodge. I am very sorry that your stay with us did not match the highest standards we strive for. Please call our front desk direct with any special requests you may have for your next visit to Mammoth, including a preference for the Grand Sierra building where the gym facility has a larger floor plan and the stairways are unlocked as it is the only building staffed 24/7. Thank you again and we look forward to creating a better experience for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently returned from a stay here in a 2 bed/ 2 bath unit on the 3 rd floor. We were given an end unit with a good sized balcony which would be great to sit out on in less snowy weather. The unit was well equipped and comfortable with a King bed in the master and a Queen in bed 2. We also had a queen sized sleeper sofa which was comfortable. The 2nd bedroom had no chest of drawers but the staff rustled up another night stand to provide some storage. We also needed extra bending for the sleeper sofa and this appeared quickly. The front desk was super helpful.
The master bedroom faced Starbucks and Campo and was noisy at night on the weekend but the noise stopped before 12 and the windows were relatively good at shielding the worst of the noise.
The location is excellent. We've used Mammoth Mountain Inn a few times because you can ski in and out but decided to try The Village because the MM Inn is looking tired, and you can face a labyrinth of passages to get to the main building and out and we had my elderly motherinlaw with us. This was a good decision for us this trip. The gondola was right there and was an easy ride to Canyon. Drawbacks were mostly due to huge numbers of people using facilities at this super busy time of the year. Get off the slopes a little early or stay and have a drink to avoid the line to get back on the gondola in the afternoon!
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on your stay with us at The Village Lodge. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to bring up the night stand to provide more storage space. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your vacation and have experienced the majestic vibe created with all of the restaurants, boutiques and Holiday events that make The Village at Mammoth. We hope you’re looking forward to the next time you visit the beautiful and natural wonders of Mammoth Lakes, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We rented condos here several times during the ski season and loved it every time. Last season we enjoyed a lot the sitting place for children across the plaza from gondola, this was very convenient. Easy access to gondola and to the slopes, many restaurants and shops in the area, great service, even more convenient the shuttle access up to the Main Lodge.
Not all units have internet access. Next time for sure we will ask if unit has internet access. Pool and Jacuzzi were nice and heated but a bit of a hassle getting there. Rooms are small but comfortable and new. Bathroom was always cold!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a stop on the road between Las Vegas and Sacramento for us, and we just wanted a decent place to spend the night. We came in late and left early. First of all, this was before the ski season started, so there were only a few guests.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The room it self was quite large and still very cozy with a fireplace and fully equipped kitchen. One large bed and a comfortable bed settee.
There is a complimentary shuttle bus that goes down town.
To get a top grade in my book, there needs to be something extra ordinary, and there was no such thing or service, so there for it only gets four stars.

Room Tip: From other reviews I've read, there is a chance the fireplace isn't tuned on in the late sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After reading the reviews I was a bit hesitant about only booking one night at the Village Lodge as previous customers had loved it so much, Well they were right. As soon as we checked in we knew we had to book another night. The place is gorgeous!! loved the village feel, rooms are great. What we didn't like was the amount of noise that is heard at night from the bar downstairs, I can see how this could be a real problem in the busier months. The the staff were lovely, rooms are great and Mammoth Lakes is awesome. Can't wait to return in the snow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.