We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Village Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Village Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Scenic Gondola Ride
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After reading the reviews I was a bit hesitant about only booking one night at the Village Lodge as previous customers had loved it so much, Well they were right. As soon as we checked in we knew we had to book another night. The place is gorgeous!! loved the village feel, rooms are great. What we didn't like was the amount of noise that is heard at night from the bar downstairs, I can see how this could be a real problem in the busier months. The the staff were lovely, rooms are great and Mammoth Lakes is awesome. Can't wait to return in the snow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    129
    33
    23
    7
See reviews for
163
80
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good accomodation, we booked a 1 bedroom apartment for a 2 night stay driving between San Francisco and Las Vegas.

The scenery on the drive was stunning and the resort is well situated in the mounatins amongst stunning scenery

The apartment was very well appointed from a full kitchen and dining area to large bedroom and bathroom.

Very comfortable lounge area with a pull out sofa and fire, good veiw from the balcony of the mountains and other areas of the resort.

We went in the inbetween season from summer to winter skiing and although a lot of the resort restaurants and shops were closed there was a very good mexican restaurant which we tried the first night and the obligatory Starbucks

Secure underground car parking is provided and complimentary internet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Prior to travelling and choosing this lodging in the Mammoth Lakes area, I've read a lot of reviews on T.A. And I have to agree with the other reviewers who wrote about strange smell in this hotel.
Check in was a breeze and the staff was friendly and courteous. We got a one room condo with a den on the 5th floor, away from the bars and pool downstairs to avoid the noises. Upon arriving on the 5th floor, we were hit with a nauseating smell, like rotten eggs/vomit smell. I was really worried, but when we opened the door to our room, thank goodness, the smell was not there. We still had to open all the windows to clear out the smell of cleaning agents. The room was clean and nicely appointed, with all the cooling utensils and tools one would need to make a quick meal.
I notified the front desk lady about the smell and she replied that she would send somebody to investigate the smell asap. When we returned to our room later, and even the next day, or when we left, the smell was still there!?!
We walked around and were looking for the entrance to the lobby, and we had to ask a maintenance guy for the entrance, he was a being pain in the derriere. He asked me dumb questions like "what entrance, what door, what are you looking for", just real dumb, unprofessional, rude remarks.
Besides that crazy,crude maintenance dude, everyone else in the hotel were very nice.
Overall, a very nice stay, just don't worry about the disgusting smell in the hallway, and you'll be fine.
I have to dock one star because of the odor, otherwise, I would give this property a 5 stars.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the front streets with all the bars/restaurants, and the ones facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful stay, friendly helpful staff. Clean rooms, baths and kitchens. With in 1 hour of Yosimite with shops and restaurant on the property. We stayed in October, so it was before peak season and snows. Lot's of gorgeous scenery. The bed was amazing... fantastic nights sleep. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom condo was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent three nights in early October 2012 at this beautiful resort with possible intentions of purchasing a unit like my brother did several years ago. Very nice community, great scenery, lots to do for the outdoors and great shopping. Highly recommend staying here for some nice relaxation or outdoor activities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only stayed one night here as a stopover between Las Vegas and Yosemite.

We checked in and the lovely lady upgraded us to a nicer room which we were well chuffed about. The room was huge and even had it's own kitchen. The car park underneath with an adjoining elevator was very convenient and the hotel is smack bang in the centre of the village.

We liked it here a lot and in fact we'd love to come back in the winter season and try some skiing!

Top marks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We only had 1 night here in a 1 bed apartment - it wasn't long enough! Great, well equipped apartment with balcony.
Check in was very efficient and the young gentleman who checked us in was charming and professional.
Location is great for walking and skiing in winter.
We would like to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: If you have children and they need to get to sleep early ask for a roomaway from the bar areas as no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#5 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.