We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Lodge to your Saves list
The Village Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lift & Lodging
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We was fortunate enough to have one of the apartments here for 2 days and all I can say is WOW! This place is amazing, not only is it in a fantastic location with great amenities close by its also a great place to chill out. I was disappointed that I only stayed here for 2 nights.

There was an amazing heated pool in the grounds but we never got to try this out. We did have a hot tub within our section that was pretty much private (due to the fact there was no one staying down our hall)

I have nothing but compliments for the staff here. They brought us fresh dressing gowns and gave us fantastic tips on things to see and do. There was no breakfast included but we had out own private kitchen.

Our apartment had a double bed, sofa bed, tv with dvd, fire place, private kitchen, private bathroom and private patio. The hotel even has a playstation & xbox, dvd and boardgame rental service all at no extra cost.

overall I would stay here again, but would spend a bit longer here

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    136
    33
    24
    8
See reviews for
177
96
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from 4 nights at The Village and could not have been more please. We had a studio with a full kitchen and were pleasantly surprised. The customer service was great! We did not have a plan when we arrived and the staff was more than eager to assist. The food choices in The Village area were outstanding! We had enough choices and of course were thankful there was a Starbucks and Ben and Jerry's. I have nothing bad to say. We will return.

There are so many activites within 5 minutes of the resort. We originally were only going to stay 3 nights, but ended up booking another night because there were more things we wanted to do in the area.

Room Tip: Studios are all located facing the street above the check in area. There are none facing the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just returned from a great trip to Mammoth Lakes, CA late August, 2012. I found this hotel online and paid what I felt was a great rate for a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath condo with a full kitchen. I believe it was about $219 per night.

Location is right in the Village. Lots of shops, Starbucks Coffee, Bagel place, Salad/Sandwhich places, etc... All restaurants in the village (IMHO) were average - nothing special and prices at a premium. If you want more value for your money, plan to head where the locals go such as Slocums.

The condo was spacious and well appointed. It's beginning to show signs of wear and tear. Management should walk through each unit and create a maintenance schedule. Paint missing on door jambs, furniture scratched and peeling veneer, kitchen drawer coming apart, kitchen equipment not functional. Bedding was very comfortable. Towels were tiny, particularly for the pool area. The kitchen is spacious with not so hot equipment for cooking - terrible knives, pots/pans that are no longer non-stick - so cooking eggs was impossible with the equipment provided. We could've asked them to find us better equipment, but we rarely cooked. Something the management should also pay attention to in each unit.

We asked to overlook the pool area and were accommodated. Shouldn't have done that because it does get loud particularly on the weekend. There is no central air conditioning in these units - rather a floor model they use in the main living room. It was difficult to cool off the master bedroom even though we had a ceiling fan and floor fan to help. It's Mammoth - I would bet we stayed there on one of the hottest weeks they've had. The fact that they don't have central A/C wouldn't deter me from staying there again.

The staff was helpful and nice. No cocktails or pool side service so prepare to bring your own if that's something you enjoy. The pool and hot tub were our kids favorite - nice size and two separate extra large jacuzzi's. Very nice.

Overall we had a great trip - the location was perfect, just 4 miles to the base of the hill and they do have a lift right from the village for skiers in the winter. We would stay here again and feel we paid a fair price for the amenities.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly over the pool in the summer if you prefer more quiet. Avoid floors that are ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Enjoyed the property, nice to have many shops and restaurants a short elevator ride away. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Well located. Lots of activities happening on site. If your looking for a place that has great accomodations, lots of activities, and location this is the place! The only small issue is why would such a nice property not have central AC?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Very nice suites. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and livingroom. Very spacious.
Ourdoor pool was also very nice.
We didn't mind the noice from the bars below our balcony, but I could understand if someone does.
Unfortunately we only stayed 1 night between Yosemite and death valley. Wish we stayed longer. Really liked it here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We only stayed for one night after visting Yosemite and regretted that we had to leave so soon.
The Australian girl at reception was very nice, our appartement was large, well appointed and very clean and the swimming area well maintained. The hotel is in a very pleasant location with restaurants, bars and shops and plenty of things to do for the children.
Late at night it can be a bit noisy and the room was very hot. There was a portable aircon unit, which was very effective but too noisy. Plenty of secure parking space.
Lovely hotel and certainly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012. The area was great, lots of restaurants etc. The apartments are a good size and the kitchen was handy. My only complaint is that it was too warm. It was warmer in the apartment than outside. There was a portable air conditioner in the living room but it was loud and didn't do anything for the bedroom. We found it hard to sleep due to the heat. Only for this I would have given 5 out of 5!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.