We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sinful sweets, but oh so yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shea Schat's Bakery

Shea Schat's Bakery
Main Street, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-6055
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 74 restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
sf bay area
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“sinful sweets, but oh so yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

very slow staff with a good crowd in the morning. Chocolate croissant was soo sweet. Sourdough bread was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    70
    46
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great bakery & sandwich place (and the larger location in Bishop is amazing!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

O-M-G!!! The location in Mammoth is limited compared to the one in Bishop, but still… wow! You start to drool as soon as you walk into the place. Sandwiches for a day of hiking were incredible. And the pastries? Only my sister makes better baked goods from scratch. Maybe dangerous to the waistline, but heaven for your tongue. Came here several times with my wife during our vacation stay last month. And bought a bunch of stuff at the one in Bishop for home.

Go to this place! You-will-not-regret-it. Trust me (I'm drooling again just writing this review).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great bakery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We picked up some pound cake and cookies at Schat's Bakery and enjoyed them both! The building is very cute and there's a nice selection of bakery items. We'll definitely return next time we're in town.

The shortbread chocolate chip cookie was really good, but the pound cake was tops.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pull apart bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Usually very busy, great bread and pastries. Hot coffee and morning sandwiches. We bought the "pull apart cinnamon bread" it was terrific, so we bought another to bring home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A real Dutch bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed this Bakkerij. Its a little bit of Holland and the cookies are great. the bread is as we use to have in holland.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shea Schat's Bakery also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Shea Schat's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shea Schat's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.