We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was Nov-March ALL YEAR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain

Mammoth Mountain
10001 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-2571
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Fishing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A variety of late spring and early summer terrain is available for first-time beginners and double diamond pursuers.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wish it was Nov-March ALL YEAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Best skiing in CA and possibly the US. Pricey, but there are deals out there if you look for them. You'll need a few days to really take advantage of all there is here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    112
    13
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our children wanted to spend a day learning to ski and snow board, having never done it before, so we purchased a one day lesson on the mammoth mountain website. The package included lunch and put them in the adult group as they are 13 and 14. When we arrived we were unsure of where to go as we have never been to a ski resort and don't know the protocol. We eventually found a desk where they attempted to help but they sent us to another part which is the kids section. The girl was very helpful and patient but informed us that our 13 year old was in the 8-13 kids group and not the adult group as per the website. She said they never put 13 year olds in the adult groups, I pointed out that the website says this and even when you choose the package it says adult group 13 years and above. My daughter did go into the adult group but this did not include lunch which was conflicting with the online reservation information. Anyway despite this they both really enjoyed themselves and it gave them a good taster session to see if skiing/snowboarding was some thing they would like to do in the future. My feedback for Mammoth Mountain is to review the website and update the information. We also tried to book the Snowcat day tour as a birthday surprise for one of our party only to be told it only runs on weekends, we were very disappointed and again would have appreciated it if the website gave this information -which it didn't.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great skiing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Fabulous runs for all ski levels. You can ski all day without doing the same run. Food a bit pricey, but good taste and variety.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's a Family Affair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was probably our 15th annual trip to Mammoth Mountain. with our daughter and her family and we have never been disappointed. The thing that was so noticeable this trip was the amount of money and effort recently put into improving Mammoth's services and facilities. From fresh flowers in the rest rooms to the addition of high speed chairs everywhere on the mountain, the improvements are very visible. Money well invested in our opinion. We just keep coming back after skiing elsewhere and smile as we say, "This is our favorite place to ski."

P.S. Our family's ages start at 12 and go to 78 and there are plenty of slopes (at all levels) for every one of us.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best groomed runs ever...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Corderoy is perfect...helps you to be all that you can be as a skier/boarder! XC trails are wonderful too...work on your downhill techniques!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.