We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the town and the resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain

Mammoth Mountain
10001 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-2571
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A variety of late spring and early summer terrain is available for first-time beginners and double diamond pursuers.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“love the town and the resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

pretty expensive and like a zoo during holidays, other than those it's perfect! love both the little town and the remoteness feeling of it and the resort is very wide and the wind brings fresh snow most of times..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    91
    11
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Greatest boarding in our lives!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The amount of lifts alone make the mountain an amazing value for the lift tix. Buy the three day pass if u intend on staying a while, your gonna have to in order to try all the runs. You get a really good discount for the three day tix. Every staff member whether busy or not made time to say hello and ask how we were doing on the mountain. They had multiple guides stationed at the various oversized maps to help navigate your way down the mountain. The assisted skier program was a sight to see. There were so many assistants out on the slopes helping and guiding thier respective disabled students that it was clear mammoth makes it a point to ensure everyone of any capability, mental or physical would be able to enjoy the besutiful mountain and what it had to offer. It was great seeing an organization with its members all on the same path of offering an amazing experience on the mountain!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central CA coast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Ski Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This mountain has any kind of skiing anyone could want; steep(VERY), trees, open bowls, chutes, LOTS of blue and green runs. Two chair lift rides will get you to almost anyplace on the mountain with most now being high speed detachable chairs. Not many lift lines anymore, because of the high speed chairs, but you can go up to the top of the mountain to get away from crowds. I don't ski in the terrain parks but there are at least 2 top quality ones. Eating on the mountain is expensive but there are a lot of good choices.

I have skied Europe, South America, Canada, our Rockies, etc., and Mammoth Mountain is still my favorite.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Snowmobile Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We took the double snowmobiles out with our family. It was so much fun. We drove for over 10 miles through beautiful wooded areas and open fields. It was breathtakingly beautiful. The guide was great at making sure we were safe and stayed together. The snowmobile exhaust was stinky. I wish we could have smelled the fresh air instead. We had an awesome time!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice mountain, rentals not efficient, lessons not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Liked:
Skiing conditions were great. I like the electronic card "lift tickets" so there was no need to stand in line for life tickets or mess with putting it on or taking it off. You can reload the life tickets via the web.

Disliked:
We rented for 2 adults and 3 kids with lessons. Lessons were at 9am and we arrived at 8am to wait in line to get our rentals. Although only 4 groups in front of us (2-4 people each), it took over 90 minutes to the kids lessons. The rental line is very inefficient. Seating while trying on boots is haphazard and the staff seems willing but not helpful. Rather than getting boots at one place, skis at the next, poles at the next, etc that i've seen at other places, this is just one stop, get everything. it's chaos. On top of that, we had to bring all the kids with their gear down a flight of stairs just to get a piece of paper and a bib and then go up the stairs again to the same level we were just at. Imagine 5 people, 3 little kids 8 and under with all their gear hobbling down and then up the stairs. Additionally, the snowboarding beginner lessons for the kids was relatively understaffed so the kids are waiting around a long time. at one point, i saw maybe 15-20 kids with 2 instructors running up and down the hill. I feel like other ski resort lessons have been more organized and therefore also more effective (they are there to learn right?).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mammoth Mountain to your Saves list