We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowmobile Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mammoth Mountain

Mammoth Mountain
10001 Minaret Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
760-934-2571
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding, Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A variety of late spring and early summer terrain is available for first-time beginners and double diamond pursuers.
san diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Snowmobile Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We took the double snowmobiles out with our family. It was so much fun. We drove for over 10 miles through beautiful wooded areas and open fields. It was breathtakingly beautiful. The guide was great at making sure we were safe and stayed together. The snowmobile exhaust was stinky. I wish we could have smelled the fresh air instead. We had an awesome time!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    91
    11
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice mountain, rentals not efficient, lessons not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Liked:
Skiing conditions were great. I like the electronic card "lift tickets" so there was no need to stand in line for life tickets or mess with putting it on or taking it off. You can reload the life tickets via the web.

Disliked:
We rented for 2 adults and 3 kids with lessons. Lessons were at 9am and we arrived at 8am to wait in line to get our rentals. Although only 4 groups in front of us (2-4 people each), it took over 90 minutes to the kids lessons. The rental line is very inefficient. Seating while trying on boots is haphazard and the staff seems willing but not helpful. Rather than getting boots at one place, skis at the next, poles at the next, etc that i've seen at other places, this is just one stop, get everything. it's chaos. On top of that, we had to bring all the kids with their gear down a flight of stairs just to get a piece of paper and a bib and then go up the stairs again to the same level we were just at. Imagine 5 people, 3 little kids 8 and under with all their gear hobbling down and then up the stairs. Additionally, the snowboarding beginner lessons for the kids was relatively understaffed so the kids are waiting around a long time. at one point, i saw maybe 15-20 kids with 2 instructors running up and down the hill. I feel like other ski resort lessons have been more organized and therefore also more effective (they are there to learn right?).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Winter Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mammoth Lakes, Ca. What an amazing place. Built by, Dave McCoy and friends. I started skiing here around 1968 and have only missed a couple of seasons since! Mammoth Ski resort has it all for the complete beginner to the extreme athlete. The top of the mountain sits just above 11,500 feet and the town hovers about 8,000 feet. A picnic paradise, you can find lots of great places to stop and have your brown bag lunch just, off the beaten trail! Or you can spend $$ on lodge food. Depending on your budget, if you need to rent ski and or Snow board equipment? Save big when you rent off the mountain at a local ski rental shops around town. I personally prefer the Ski Renter. This is a friendly locally owned ski shop ready to help you if your new and or just an old pro looking to demo the latest gear. Owner /Operator, Mr. Rob
Don’t forget summer in Mammoth, CA is just as amazing. Day hikes with fantastic panoramic views, excellent fishing, all terrain mountain biking, zip lines, swimming, music festivals, AMA motocross events, clubbing nightlife, etc. Go and enjoy

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The customer service is excellent. Unlike the SoCal resorts, Mammoth Mountain staff help lift kids onto the lifts without you asking. Everyone is so friendly. My family and I love coming here year after year.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good skiiing, lots of run to choose from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Skiing and convenience is good. Some areas of the mountain get too crowded and the young snowboarders can be a bit risky and inconsiderate, especially on the terrain parks, but overall a good place for families.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammoth Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Mammoth Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mammoth Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mammoth Mountain to your Saves list