We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petras Wine Bar and Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Petras Wine Bar and Bistro
6080 Minaret Road, Alpenhof Lodge, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
(760) 934-3500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eating out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent meal, not cheap but good value for a special night out. The wine list was extensive and the service spot on.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    30
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Rey, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Added to our must-visit list in Mammoth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We traditionally make sure to eat at four restaurants in Mammoth; Petras may have become our fifth. We had an excellent and interesting meal; the service was superb. The menu was quite interesting. Easy access from the Village.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love this place. We sit at the bar and have dinner whenever we are in Mammoth. The bar staff is always friendly and helpful. Like all restaurants in Mammoth, Petras can be hard to get a reservation on big ski weekends or winter and spring breaks. We've always been able to get a seat at the bar and eat there. The wine selection is outstanding and the staff is well versed in varieties available. The menu is prepared daily and the food has always been good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best meal in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate here twice and the food was fantastic both times. The restaurant is cosy and intimate, always busy so worth booking if you can, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for and this place is definitely worth a visit. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good steaks, terrible pasta, a little pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The bistro is cozy and has a nice fireplace. My pasta was overcooked and absolutely tasteless (it had a bland creamy sauce and boiled broccoli and squash cut in huge pieces). My salad was nice but quite minimalist...My husband's steak was good. Our waitress offered me to change my pasta, and, as I declined, didn't charge us for it. The place is on the pretentious side, there's room for improvement, both of the cuisine and service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petras Wine Bar and Bistro also viewed

Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Petras Wine Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petras Wine Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.