We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short menu but superlative food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakefront Restaurant

The Lakefront Restaurant
Twin Lakes Road, Tamarack Lodge and Resort, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
800-237-6879
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Belmont, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Short menu but superlative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Lakefront Restaurant, which is by Tamarack Lake rather than being a couple of miles down the road in Mammoth proper, is small in an old log building and that means a short menu. But what they offer is always superlative. Reservations are usually need and if you want a lake-view table, then you should arrive at the 5:30 opening. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Mammoth Lakes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    9
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A missed opportunity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our reservation was for 8 pm and we ere seated at 8:50 pm. There was no place to sit in the lobby since all seats were occupied. The menu is limited, with a few new items (new chef). The wine list is limited and could have a little more variety. The wines sold by the glass were not interesting and mostly unknown.. We have gone to this restaurant many times in the past and always had a great experience. We will now go to other places to eat until we here good reviews. This was a major disappointment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to Me.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have been to Lakefront many times and always have had great meals. May 10th was no exception. Excellent food and service as the snow flurries flew outside. Small location so best with group no bigger the 8, also reservation recommended. In the summer the sun sets directly into the dinning room and it can get very bright and warm until the sun goes behind the mountain. Go and enjoy the rustic atmosphere and excellent food. Get there with enough time to enjoy the sights of Twin Lakes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We've eaten at The Lakefront Restaurant many, many times over the years. The atmosphere is still the same (rustic, cozy, charming), and the service is still sharp. The problem is the food. The menu is very brief and rather unvaried. No specials on a holiday Friday night! Ingredient quality is excellent, but the preparation is sub-par. All of our steaks were way, way overcooked, and everything was over-salted as well. I'm not writing this to speak ill of an old friend, but in the hope that the management and kitchen staff take a hint from a repeat customer who is looking forward to returning when they get their act back together.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had heard nothing but great things about Tamarack and they were all true! The oxtail risotto was one of the best dishes I have ever had. My wife usually likes to taste a little of what I have and she couldn't stop it was so delicious. The elk and duck main courses were great as well. Quaint little place in a beautiful setting. We are definitely going back the next time we are up in Mammoth!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lakefront Restaurant also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to The Lakefront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakefront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.