We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Gateway Drive, (at Routes 22 & 512), Bethlehem, PA 18017-9076   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Easton, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I dont understand where all of these negative comments come from. I was unaware that because of booking with Hotwire I was not promised a non smoking room, but Evan and Liz at the front desk were able to do have housekeeping come and make sure it didnt smell like smoke. I went to the restaurant were carol and rosanne made sure i had everything that i needed, and martha was able to switch charges to another credit card for me when i checked out. If every hotel i stayed at accomodated me like this hotel did then I would be one happy camper.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    142
    87
    49
    42
See reviews for
143
118
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Booked via hotwire.com and selected a "3 star" hotel which normally places you at some of the mid level + chains. Found out it was a Best Western I was skeptical however the prior night stayed at Best Western Harrisburg and was very please at the cleanliness of the property. Arrived at Best Western Lehigh Valley and checked in to room to find ripped/torn curtains, blood stains on curtains and a dirty commode seat. Had to laugh it was so filthy. Called hotwire to advise of incorrect 3 star ranking based on cleanliness.
called front desk at 8:30pm to move but no answer after 4 tries.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHolmwood, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during this stay. I can assure you take what our guests are telling us very seriously and respond to concerns immediately. I would like the opportunity address your specific issue and try to make amends for your recent disappointment. Please feel free to contact me directly at pdinapoli@lehighvalleyhotel.com

Paul

Paul DiNapoli
Managing Director
Best Western PLUS Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Hampton Inn & Suites Bethlehem
200-300 Gateway Drive
Bethlehem, PA 18017
610-866-5800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Booked through Hotwire $69 including tax. The room was worth $69. I don't think it would be worth the regular rate of $109.

Since this was a smoking room (I was originally given a n/s king room but upon check in was told they no longer had that room available) the ceiling tiles were brownish in color. The room didn't smell of smoke, just had a musty type of smell. The over all room was clean (did notice some ripped up pieces of paper under the bed). The bathroom was clean. The water pressure in the shower was great! The bed was ok, not as comfortable as it looked.

They have a restaurant and bar but we didn't eat there. In the morning a complementary continental breakfast was included. They had oatmeal, french toast and a few other breakfast items-not bad for being included.

Overall I'd say it's ok to stay for a night if you just want a plain and simple room but book through Hotwire for a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I, along with several friends & family connected to our friends who got married, stayed here for the night of our friends' wedding. The bride & groom had set it up for a special rate of $75/night and transportation to/from this hotel to the reception, so we couldn't turn it down! I wish we had. When I booked I realized that we would likely need to check-in before 3pm, so I asked if that was possible while I was on the phone and they said it would not be a problem.
We arrived at the hotel with about 1.5 hrs to the wedding, and all we need to do was change clothes and freshen up. We attempted to check in to our room, which was of course not ready. The person at the desk was very rude, as was the cleaning staff that she checked with to see about the room's status. She made absolutely no attempt to see if there was another room we could have, and made no apologies even when I explained we were there to attend a wedding (and had obviously booked as part of the wedding block of rooms). I know we were early, so I expected that we might have to wait briefly or have to find a different room, but the receptionist did NOTHING to help us until I begged for a room (aka not the non-smoking king that we had booked) and we finally got a 2-double bed room in a different part of the hotel from the wedding block.
I would say that it was a fluke for us, but guests who arrived AFTER the wedding (which was AFTER the 3pm check-in time) were not able to get their rooms either. I really don't understand why you would book wedding blocks and then not have them ready for the day of the wedding (again, after the 3pm check-in time). And obviously I would expect most people who show up after the check-in time to be a little disappointed if their room is not ready. The service was very poor and we were disappointed (but not totally surprised given the bad reviews of this Best western here on TA). I guess we were just hoping for a better experience.

The room itself was ok, it smelled quite musty and chemically-clean (which dissipated to just an unpleasant odor over a few hours). The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. On the plus there were 2 sinks, and the bathroom looks relatively clean.

I would not recommend this place, we experienced sub-par rooms and very bad service. I would have gladly paid a little more per night to have a better visit at another of the local hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I read ALL these negatives reviews and wasn't sure what we were going to get!! We got a GREAT deal thru hotwire so I was scared.
BUT upon my arrival we were given a smoking room, because you don't have a choice when going thru hotwire. SOOO having small children i checked out the room AGAIN based on other reviews, AND you couldn't even TELL it was a smoking room!!! When I opened the door i was pleasantly surprised at how NICE this place was and better yet CLEAN!!!!,,There were two sinks. one on the inside and one on the outside, it was a spacious room!!! Whoever had a problem with this place has extreme expectactions of a hotel. Its a 3star hotel on hotwire and it should be a 3 star ! I have somewhat high expectations for a hotel as well. But mine were met when i found how clean the place was!!!

The foundry was a nice place we had dinner on sat and it was decent, the continental breakfast was AWESOME!! OMG! Not sure if its because we were there on the weekend or not, but they have bread, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal, juice, oatmeal and frenchtoast in the warmers!! I am not sure what the one reviewer expected of a continental breakfast but this one was BY FAR the best we ever had!!!
Yes it was a bit loud in the hallways at night! BUT we stayed on Fri and Sat and after all it IS A CONFERENCE CENTER!! Which btw, i hadn't a clue what that meant, but now I do!!! There is a nightclub in the hotel and it can get loud but it never kept me up!!!

My only complaint and its not even a big one is that i wish the girl at the counter had told me that my room had a door that lead to the parking area where we could park and unload the car,,lol,,THATS MY ONLY COMPLAIN!!!

I HIGHLY recommend this place!!! I am SOO glad we took the chance and stayed!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed there Feb 2011. Old, kinda dingy and very Red Roof like. Booked on Hotwire as 3 star and it is really below a two star. Not terrible. Just not what they advertise themselves to be. This is a 40 year old two floor Motor Motel. Shouldn`t be a Plus. Best Western is kidding its customers if this is a plus level hotel. More like a Minus. Lobby nice but that was it.
On a positive the restaurant is absoolutely a gem. Fantastic meal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed one night and every staff member I met went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 300 Gateway Drive, (at Routes 22 & 512), Bethlehem, PA 18017-9076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethlehem
#10 Family Hotel in Bethlehem
#12 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, this charming full-service hotel offers modern conveniences perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. The BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center is located in the heart of Pennsylvania's scenic Lehigh Valley, allowing guests easy access to popular attractions and surrounding cities, including Allentown, Easton and Philadelphia. Enjoy walking through historic Bethlehem or appreciate local art at Banana Factory®, the Allentown Art Museum or the unique SteelStacks®. There's plenty of family-friendly fun at the nearby Dorney Park and Wildwater Kingdom, the DaVinci Discovery Center and Crayola® Factory. Or, hedge your bets at Sands Casino, just five miles away. Lehigh University and several other local colleges are also only minutes away from this Bethlehem hotel.Perfect for well-executed events and stunning weddings, this property is a premier event venue in Lehigh Valley. With more than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, we can accommodate events of up to 800 people. Guests traveling on business will appreciate the hotel's full business services and close proximity to corporate locations such as the Lehigh Valley Industrial Park, Lehigh Valley Hospital, Specialty Minerals, Booch Rexroth and more. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley & Conference Center is just three miles from the Lehigh Valley International Airport. Each of the 192 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms at this pet-friendly Bethlehem hotel features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Start the day off with a complimentary full breakfast and unwind in the evening with a drink at the onsite restaurant or cocktail lounge, complete with live entertainment. Other hotel amenities include the largest outdoor swimming pool in the area, an exercise facility and children's activities.Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel Bethlehem
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel And Conference Center
Bethlehem Best Western
Best Western Bethlehem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.