We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Cherry Lane, Bethlehem, PA 18015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Germantown, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My family of 5 stayed here the night of June 3rd on our way from Gettysburg, PA to New Jersey. The room was very clean and fresh. The beds were very comfortable. It was helpful to have the sofa bed for our youngest.

We used the pool and the fitness center and both were also very clean and the exercise equipment was new and in good condition. My whole family loved the breakfast offerings, especially the pancakes!

I would recommend this hotel for any family. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at during our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlyjones, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    50
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
61
44
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We had a long-planned trip to Bethlehem to visit the Peeps factory. The CEO of Just Born, the company that makes Peeps, had invited my seven-year-old daughter and her two best friends to take a personally guided tour of the production line. I booked a room several months in advance for the Sunday before our Peeps visit, which happened to be the day after Easter.

A few days before our arrival, I received a frantically apologetic email from the CEO of Peeps explaining that it just occurred to him that the factory is traditionally closed the day after Easter. He was beside himself in embarrassment. "Is there any way you guys could come a few days later?" he wrote. We assured him that he could relax, we'd change our arrival date and come a few days later. The girls had been waiting all winter for this trip, so what's six days, right?

I cancelled our reservation and promptly made another one for the following Monday. Did I realize that I was canceling a non-refundable room at the time? Of course not. I do now. But what pisses me off is how rigid Kimberly Jones was when I called to ask about the double billing. Sometimes in life things happen. In this case, in my effort to make sure I wasn't going to let down three young girls who were so excited to visit Bethlehem and the Peeps factory, I didn't read the fine print. My bad. But given the circumstances, and given the fact that we ended up staying at this very hotel less than a week later, and given that I took the time as a customer to call and explain what had happened, one would think that the Holiday Inn Express could be a bit forgiving. Sometimes customers make mistakes.

In the end, Ms. Jones gets her $144 twice. And she ensures we'll never stay in a Holiday Inn Express again, something we've done plenty of in the past. She also ensures that I will alert the wonderful folks at Peeps to make any of their guests aware that there are other places to stay in Bethlehem. (Maybe that's the reason the HIE is only #14 in a tiny town.) And she further ensures that I write a nice little note to the good folks at IHG explaining how her rigidity has cost their entire chain a good and loyal customer, all over a measly $144. Way to go, Kim.

To recap, it's not the fine print I'm debating here. I should have checked better. It's that Kimberly Jones could listen to a customer who actually ended up staying in her hotel a week later than planned, could listen to my explanation about the last minute hiccup in our factory tour, and still not give a hoot.

Room Tip: book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlyjones, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
I am very sorry you encountered a charge for an Advance Purchase reservation with a no flexibility cancellation policy. Please know that not all rates available have a non flexible cancellation policy. For future reservation please be sure to read all terms and conditions with the specific rate that you reserve. Again, I am very sorry for any inconvenience this did cause you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel met all expections. It was clean and comfortable. The wireless worked great. The breakfast was very good and they have a really cool automated pancake machine! There was a pool - we didn't use it. We stayed overnight to visit Lehigh the next day and it was very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygirl75, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice comments on the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

A clean and relatively new Holiday Inn located basically between Lehigh University in Allentown and Lafayette College in Easton. Free better than the usual Holiday Inn hot breakfast with a fascinating automated pancake machine as opposed to the waffle machines you might have used at the Staybridge Suites before. Critical amenities include free wireless and an indoor pool. The new Sands casino is not far away. One of the better Holiday Inns.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygirl75, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback you have given the hotel. I'm happy to see our location was perfect for your college visitations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here last month on our five-day college tour. We had already toured four colleges in three days, and had discovered that we were pushing ourselves a bit too much with this schedule. But the no hassle check-in here helped us relax. We had signed up as Priority Club members on a vacation several years back, and were rewarded with a nice snack package when we checked in.

My daughter loved seeing the Waffle House next door, since she for some reason had always wanted to eat at one. It was nice to have a relaxing (and inexpensive) dinner over there after several days on the road.

We had a room that faced the interstate, but were not bothered by the noise. I ate at the free breakfast downstairs the next morning, but brought some pastries up to the room for my daughter before we headed off to Lehigh. All-in-all, we had a relaxing time in this hotel, which was all that we asked for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygirl75, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write some very nice comments on our hotel. It is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I booked a reservation here to visit family over Christmas. I was stuck in another state due to the snow storm so I cancelled the reservation BEFORE the required time so that we would not be penalized.

When I looked at my credit card statement I was still charged for the stay. I contacted the hotel immediately and they say we didn't cancel the reservation so they had to charge us. They continued to argue that it was a no show and that it was booked under my husband's name. I looked on his account (since Holiday Inn won't allow you to have one account, we have 2 separate accounts in case only one of us is traveling)...no reservation shows up so I don't know what they are talking about.

The GM tried to tell me the hotel was booked solid, but I know this isn't true because we thought about trying to make the trip anyway so looked on the web to see if there were still rooms available on the web and they showed availability and when I called the front desk to verify and they still had rooms.

Just beware when you book a reservation that might need to be cancelled - the General Manager WILL NOT HELP you in any way! Seems like a shady hotel considering the other reviews. I definitely won't be staying at ANY Holiday Inn's again if this GM is any indication of the customer care of Holiday Inn Brands.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygirl75, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the inconvenience. However, after careful consideration and working with the Better Business Bureau, we have determined that the guestroom was never cancelled as there was no cancellation number provided when spoken to the hotel's manager. We, at The Holiday inn Express & Suites, take each reservation and cancellation care. If a cancellation number was provided by the guest, we would have gladly cancelled the reservation and refunded your credit card. We hope in the future you do stay with us!

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers, ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My friends and I stayed in this hotel overnight on a shopping/casino trip. It is a nice hotel and the room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. We made use of the free shuttle service which took us to and from the casino. The shuttle runs until 11pm at night. As a Priority Club Member I was offered a late checkout, which was the first time I had ever been offered that service without having to ask for it. The pool is on the small side but all the pools are in these type of hotels. It serves it's purpose. The free breakfast was not the best I ever had. To give the hotel staff their fair shake, the hotel was fully booked and there was an entire flock of kids from a Lacrosse Tournament staying there so the breakfast area was swamped. But the eggs/omelettes were being brought out cold and they were either out of alot of things or didn't have them that other Holiday Inn Express hotels normally have at their Breakfast bar. There isn;t much around the area of the hotel, except a Waffle House right next door which is what we had after we came back from the casino. It was pretty darn good or we were starved, not sure haha We didnt eat at the casino because the prices were very high. If you are going to be in the Bethlehem area, this hotel is a good choice

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygirl75, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for the compliments on the hotel staff. it's great to hear you took advantage of the free shuttle service to the casino and the late check out that we offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Bethlehem, PA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem

Address: 2201 Cherry Lane, Bethlehem, PA 18015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bethlehem
#8 Family Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, in the heart of beautiful Lehigh Valley, is conveniently located at exit 67 off Interstate 78, just minutes from historic downtown Bethlehem, and only 2 miles to the Sands Casino. We are the closest hotel to Saucon Valley Country Club, Silver Creek Country Club and The Meadows. Families will discover the Holiday Inn Express Bethlehem is the perfect choice for visits to Dorney Park & Wildwater Kingdom, the Crayola Factory, Musikfest, and Chriskindelmart. Business travelers will find us just 10 miles from Lehigh Valley Int'l Airport (ABE), and nearby to Olympus, Dunn & Bradstreet, Lutron, and Linde. The Holiday Inn Express Bethlehem is the closest hotel to Lehigh University's Goodman Stadium and Stabler Arena, just 1 mile away, and only 3 miles from Lehigh's main campus. Additionally, DeSales University, Lafayette College, Muhlenberg College, and Moravian College are all just minutes away.Enjoy comfortable, attractive rooms featuring free wireless Internet access, 32-inch flat screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators, and free local phone calls. Start your day with our complimentary Express Start extended Continental breakfast featuring a variety of rotating items of bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bagels, yogurt, and of course the world's best-tasting cinnamon rolls and our new pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Bethlehem
Holiday Inn Express Bethlehem
Holiday Inn Bethlehem
Bethlehem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bethlehem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.