We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bed and breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sayre Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sayre Mansion Inn to your Saves list
The Sayre Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   250 Wyandotte Street, Bethlehem, PA 18015   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice bed and breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a nice stay at the Sayre during a recent family reunion. I will be forthcoming in saying that the bed and breakfast scene is not my deal. But, I must say that this was a nice place. The staff was amazing, friendly and helpful. The room (#26) was nice with comfy beds. The bathroom was clean and adequate. The breakfast in the morning was pretty good. However, two of us don't eat pork, which cut out almost every hot item. The fruit and bakery items were nice. In the end, I'm not quite sure the $250 price tag was worth it; but if bed and breakfasts are your thing, I think you would be pretty pleased with this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    34
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
84
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the moment I called and made my reservation, I had really good feelings about the Sayre. The lady on the phone was welcoming and helpful and got me excited for our stay there. My husband and I were taking our 15 year old son and his cousin to get their Advanced Scuba Certification at Dutch Springs, a short drive from the Sayre. They made take out breakfasts for them both days, printed out directions for us, made restaurant recommendations, refrigerated food we got at the Allentown Farmer's Market, and were generally as cheerful and accomodating as can be.
Our room (34) was perfect in that it had a separate alcove with a single bed. We were able to fit the rollaway cot in there as well, so they had their space and we had ours. The room was much larger than most rooms at inns, and this wasn't even one of their suites! Air conditioning was perfect, there are bottle water fountains on each floor, and the double bed... we couldn't believe how comfortable it was.
Breakfasts were delicious, Bethlehem is a fascinating historic city, and we had a thorougly enjoyable stay. We will definitely return to the Sayre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband sister & I only stayed one night but so glad we did. Dana did a wonderful job of welcoming us & giving us ideas for dinner & calling for reservations. HAd a nice rollaway bed for an extra person . Cost $140. But with the scrumptious breakfast well worth it, fresh fruit, French toast or omlet. Walked around town & saw the remains of the old steel plants . Lehigh Universty pretty place to walk around

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I grew up in the Lehigh Valley and drove past Sayre Mansion hundreds upon hundreds of times - (I even took a courses at Lehigh U.) but never really paid attention to the Mansion. I knew it was there, but never knew what it really was. Regardless, my husband and I had one night to get away to celebrate our 15th anniversary while we visited family in the area. Our little ones stayed with family and, for the first time in nearly 4 years (!) we had a night away from our kids. Obviously, that put us in a good frame of mind.

Sayre Mansion is in a great location - a very short ride to downtown Bethlehem, Moravian Central Church, the casino, the Stacks, Lehigh U, and so on. We stayed in room 12 which is on the main floor and kind of out of the way - we wanted quiet. It was! The AC was a bit loud, but it did keep the room comfortable. The decor is individual to each room. Although it had a lived-in feel, I kind of prefer that to the sterile-style of updated hotels. The bed was comfortable. The room was very large, with a desk, fireplace, and leather love seat. The TV was small. The bathroom had a pedestal sink, toilet, and corner shower. Nice bath products.

Breakfast was very nice and included in the room fee. Served in the dining room, there was fruit salad, tea, coffee, yogurt, cereal, danishes, juice - all self-serve, plus you could order what you wanted from the kitchen - we got eggs and bacon and toast and it was very nice.

We did try to check in a couple hours early, but were not able to (fair enough - we just turned up). We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Definitely use the descriptions on the Sayre Mansion Inn website. Rooms vary in rates depending on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My children and I stayed here and loved it. We were given an extra rollaway bed in case it was needed. Kids loved the breakfast. Room was cool and clean (summertime). Service was excellent. The piano was a bonus, which my children could practice their lessons on a little at a suitable time. Large yard for kids to run around on before we got in the car. Nice pizza place down the hill For us, this was the perfect place to stay for our trip to the NJ/NY metro area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The stay was perfect, we took a room that was on the 3rd floor off on its own so no one needed to walk past our door. the breakfast the next morning made the stay outstanding. We only stayed one night but would have enjoyed staying if there was more to do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice place overall. Bethlehem is a nice place to stay with plenty of great restaurants in the area. The room we stayed in was nice but we could hear the couple in the adjoining room way too clearly... The breakfast was good, but like the stay, nothing we feel a need to do again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sayre Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sayre Mansion Inn

Address: 250 Wyandotte Street, Bethlehem, PA 18015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sayre Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the gracious hospitality and modern comforts of the Sayre Mansion, circa 1858. We're Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel offering luxurious accommodations, historic charm, Free WIFI and a delicious complimentary Innkeeper's breakfast daily. Whether your visit to the Lehigh Valley is for business, pleasure or a romantic escape, you will love the Sayre Mansion's meticulously restored guest suites and rooms, private event venues and our attention to detail. The Sayre Mansion is footsteps from Lehigh University, St. Luke's Hospital, the Steel Stacks Performing Arts Center and the excitement of the Sands Casino. Plus, we are close to many corporate headquarters, Lehigh Valley Airport and the areas best restaurants. Make the most of your visit to the Lehigh Valley. Enjoy the experience of the Sayre Mansion, Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sayre Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sayre Mansion Hotel Bethlehem
Sayre Mansion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sayre Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.