We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Downhill from here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sayre Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sayre Mansion Inn to your Saves list
The Sayre Mansion Inn
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   250 Wyandotte Street, Bethlehem, PA 18015   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Ft Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“All Downhill from here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Seems the Inn has lost its attention to detail. Stayed there 1st weekend of Dec 2011, housekeeping doesn't have a clue, took out 2 used coffee mugs, left 1 clean one, didn't refill coffee or clean maker, towels just thrown on sink vanity. Bed not properly made, had to do it myself. Don't sleep in or you get the scrap leftovers at breakfast. Been staying here for years, don't know what happened but terrible time. All downhill from here!

Room Tip: Stay away from the Hayloft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
89
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here one night in Oct 2011...this is a lovely old Mansion that currently is downgraded by city street construction...its difficult to into and out of the Inn and the noise is terrible if you are in a room near the front of the Inn. Now, this is not the Inn's 'fault' but they could be giving some type of discount -- except we're told this construction has be on-going for quite some time and has months to go till completion, so it probably isn't possible to compensate folks for that length of time and I'm sure they aren't the only business in Bethlehem impacted by this street construction.
The Inn itself is lovely, although it is need of some upkeep -- fresh paint inside (that type of thing)...we were thinking they are perhaps waiting till the road construction is complete?
Our room was in the back of the house and is large and nicely furnished with comfortable bed, chairs and loveseat. The bathroom in our too was tiny, but the on-line description was accurate so we weren't surprised by this. Room was very quiet.
Reception folks were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast seemed unorganized and rushed, we were disappointed by this...and, it was cramped/crowded in the breakfast area.
Overall it was an average experience for us...a bit on the fence as to if we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The Inn is on a busy street (even without construction) so if you are a light sleeper you should cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callicoon, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the Sayre Mansion Inn in September 2011. We had stayed there on our honeymoon and wanted to have a little anniversary getaway. The building is beauifully redone. We had reserved a queen sized room, but when we arrived, we were offered a free upgrade to a king-sized room which we chose to use. The room was gorgeous with a fireplace, sofa and incredibly comfortable bed. The inn is located in the historical district with lots of beautiful old houses and buildings within walking distance. Traffic noise can be a little loud in the front of the house, but it is very quite in the back of the building. The breakfast was fantastic. All together, it is a great place to get away for a weekend and enjoy feeling a little pampered.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I wanted to get away but not too far from New York. We decided on Bethlehem, PA, and I overall I liked it! My husband though was not too happy about it being on a main road, take note of that, I don't see that being said anywhere, it is not in a secluded location. However the place is nice, breakfast was good, rooms were nice as well! I wasn't too impressed by the woman who checked us in, she didn't give us a tour, and she didn't really give us a good welcome, but the kitchen staff was amazing, and the man who helped us find activities around the place was nice too! Bethlehem was nice around the holiday time, so it was a convenient location. I would recommend this place, however if you are looking for a peaceful secluded place, this is not it, you will hear a lot of traffic outside.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Sayre Mansion B&B Oct 2011. We had a wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. Mary gave us a warm and friendly welcome as did the rest of the staff! We had dinner at a nice Italian Resturant, it was just a brisk walk away. Bethlehem was a great historic city with lots to explore. We had an awsome mini vacation. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. We did a last minute online booking that offered 25% off which made it even better! We will return for sure. LouAnn & Lou

Room Tip: If you have the extra money the suites and larger rooms looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you are looking to get-a-way for a weekend then Sayre is your place. Please know it is not surronding by lavish gardens and wonderful views of the hilltops. It is located on the corner of an intersection..yes with traffic lights...in a heart of an upcoming city that will surely have a lot to offer any out of town guests. I have read many reviews regarding the location of Sayre but their location is not their fault...it is what it is. My boyfriend and I stayed in Suite 3 and couldn't be more satisfied. The room was clean, bright, and the bed was magnificent! The towels!!!! The towels were wonderful! Did I mention the bed was magnificent??? The couch was very comfortable and the whilpool was the bomb! I have NO complaints about Sayre. The breakfast was great and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it highly to anyone who is looking to enhance their relationship.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite...it feels like home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I've been to Bethlehem a number of times on business. I stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem a until the Hotel Bethlehem significantly raised their rates a few years back. I found The Sayre Mansion Inn. What a terrific find.

The staff is great, breakfasts are wonderful, the whole property is well kept and the rooms are spacious. There is some road noise but it is not overwhelming.

This is what I think of when I read "Bed and Breakfast".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sayre Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sayre Mansion Inn

Address: 250 Wyandotte Street, Bethlehem, PA 18015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sayre Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the gracious hospitality and modern comforts of the Sayre Mansion, circa 1858. We're Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel offering luxurious accommodations, historic charm, Free WIFI and a delicious complimentary Innkeeper's breakfast daily. Whether your visit to the Lehigh Valley is for business, pleasure or a romantic escape, you will love the Sayre Mansion's meticulously restored guest suites and rooms, private event venues and our attention to detail. The Sayre Mansion is footsteps from Lehigh University, St. Luke's Hospital, the Steel Stacks Performing Arts Center and the excitement of the Sands Casino. Plus, we are close to many corporate headquarters, Lehigh Valley Airport and the areas best restaurants. Make the most of your visit to the Lehigh Valley. Enjoy the experience of the Sayre Mansion, Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sayre Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sayre Mansion Hotel Bethlehem
Sayre Mansion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sayre Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.