We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Octoberfest hosted by Yuengling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SteelStacks

SteelStacks
101 Founders Way, Bethlehem, PA 18015
610.332.1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SteelStacks is a ten-acre campus in Bethlehem, PA, dedicated to arts, culture, family events, community celebrations, education and fun. The campus is in the shadow of the blast furnaces of the former Bethlehem Steel plant.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Octoberfest hosted by Yuengling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Steel Stacks Oktoberfest was hosted by Yuengling was just ok. The venue is perfect for such an event but was missing something (not a festive environment) . Although I do like Yuengling products, I thought there should have been other vendors available. The food was expensive for the quality and i thought there should have been more German choices available, The entertainment was good at the main tent, and on the grounds. Inside the main building we found some other tap beer available as well as gift shops. Upstairs we found a club atmosphere with seating/wait staff available. A group called the "West Side Winders" were playing and we found ourselves front and center watching this very good band for their entire show. That group made the event worth while for me.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    56
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beer anyone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Bethlehem Pennsylvania is the location for a music festival called Musikfest. Last year’s fest was my first experience as we were there visiting an old Navy buddy of mine. It is a free festival packed with free entertainment (take your pick from the 10-or-so stages at any given time!) Keep in mind there are some shows that you do need to purchase tickets for.

The most important aspect of this fest is that you can actually walk around with beer. It was such a weird feeling walking down the sidewalk drinking your beer in public as you pass police officers and they just give you a nod. Buy a Musikfest mug with a lid. You can get these filled at various watering holes in town cheaper than you can at the festival. But there's so much to experience at Musikfest including the diversity of the music.

The food vendors offer tons of choices at Musikfest but they can be a bit pricey.
Wear comfortable shoes, because you'll need to walk up hills, on gravel, grass and hay.
My only real complaint is that you could not use cash in the festival. You could only use tickets. This means you either have to keep returning to the ticket booth once you run out or by a lot and risk not using them.

Overall – I wish we lived closer it was a great time with an awesome atmosphere and I would be there year after year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue with something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I love the new Artsquest facility at The Steel Stacks. There's something for everyone, with multiple venues and events year round. We are probably there twice a week on average.

Most recently, we just attended a free outdoor brass band concert at the Levitt Pavilion. There were ample seats provided on the grass, open space to bring a blanket or folding chair of your own, and plenty of tables on the outdoor patio. The sound quality was excellent for an outdoor venue.

There are also two movie theaters inside showing great films daily in a small, comfortable setting. They also have themes for their weekly schedule, for instance weekly horror movies, and a summer of James Bond films, etc. Food (not just the usual popcorn and nachos) and drinks (including a full bar) are available.

Upstairs is the Yuengling theater, bringing in great musical and comedy acts. During the shows, there's a full dinner menu available with table service. Likewise, there are several bars inside the the theater. Every show we've seen here has been excellent including the Preservation Hall Jazz Band (twice) and Big Bad Voodoo Daddies. Really looking forward to seeing Patton Oswalt in September.

They offer so many other things/events daily...too many to name them all...art exhibits, indoor and outdoor shows, comedy, music, movies, Musikfest, heritage festivals, and on and on. There's always something worth seeing, with a good mix and free and fee admission events.

It's a wonderful addition to the community, and a fantastic way to use and reinvent the old Bethlehem Steel grounds. My only negative, and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars, is that for the price, I have found some of the meals unremarkable in portion and quality. Otherwise, I strongly recommend checking their online schedule, and I'm confident you'll find something that will capture your interests.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pa.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Concert Venue Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Bethlehem Steel Stack Musikfest Cafe is an example of how everything can be done to perfection. The cafe itself is just one small portion of the complex, which offers a casino, moviehouse, outdoor concert area under the stars, and more. There is free parking, but arrive early; it fills up fast. The traffic is really congested also. Tickets were $42, not including dinner. Purchase of a minimum of $10 worth of food is mandatory. It is well worth the price, believe me.

The cafe itself is located on the 3rd floor of the building. It features 2 bars: one at either end of the hall, and tables for dining and listening. The tables have plenty of room between them, and you don't get the feeling you are crammed in. There is plenty of room to move around. The stage is visible from any locatrion in the hall, and there is also a balcony. The sound system is excellent. This place attracts really good acts because performers love it there. My son and I ate dinner while watching a terrific musical act: the legendary John Mayall and his band. The backdrop to the concert was an impressive view of the Bethlehem Steel stacks, lit up at night, and visible through a large glass wall.

I ordered salt-crusted Tilapia with a ginger/chick pea sauce, which was excellent. My son enjoyed his burger and fries. There are lots of light munchies on the menu, for those who aren't quite as hungry. Our waitress really took great care of us without being intrusive. We left her a gererous tip.

After the show, Mr. Mayall signed autographs at a table by the front door, and posed for a picture with my son! What a great evening! I can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE USA
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“History, music, cinema, food, farmer's market, shopping - it's all here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Website Artsquest.com outlines the latest offerings - from insight to the local history to exposure to quality entertainment, free concerts of a variety of bands, special entertainment venues geared towards kids/families, intimate comfty movie theaters, what a great spot in the Lehigh Valley! They have done a quality job of creating a wide variety of musical entertainment (both free concerts & ticketed).
Definitely a place to take advantage of, whether visiting or if you live in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SteelStacks also viewed

 

Been to SteelStacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SteelStacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.