We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't know...Go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SteelStacks

SteelStacks
101 Founders Way, Bethlehem, PA 18015
610.332.1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Bethlehem
Type: Art Galleries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SteelStacks is a ten-acre campus in Bethlehem, PA, dedicated to arts, culture, family events, community celebrations, education and fun. The campus is in the shadow of the blast furnaces of the former Bethlehem Steel plant.
Bethlehem, PA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“If you don't know...Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

You gotta check it out. As a local Bethlehem resident, I was excited that someone wanted to do something with the old Steel Mill(That's right, Steel Stacks is appropriately named). The property is great with Levitt Pavillion showcasing live music in front of it's great lawn and industrial back-drop. Steel stacks features live music in the lobby area, on the patio, and in the Cafe for events/shows. There is a movie theater shows some non-conventional stuff like John Hughes night or the Rocky Horror Picture Show. They also have comedy night on the second floor and live events in the theater. We have really enjoyed every piece of this property since it opened. Now with the events center opening, it will give even more options to go out and experience great shows. Remember to visit the Sands casino which is a quick walk down the complex and get some great food/drink and more live music at Molten and St. James Gate.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    50
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Concert Venue - Musikfest Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I see a lot of concerts in a lot of different places, but SteelStacks/Musikfest cafe is the one place where I will choose the band BECAUSE of the venue. Absolutely love it here! A place where you can comfortably lounge and socialize before and after the show without having to scream in the ears of your friends in order to be heard. Good drink selections that can be carried ALL OVER the venue - upstairs downstairs, etc. I don't know what kind of liquor license they have, but I rarely see freedom to walk around with your alcohol as you do in this place.

The stage is nice and high and located so that the performers can be seen from every corner of the room. And the room itself is a nice size - enough to accomodate an enthusiastic crowd, but small enough to maintain that intimate feel

Of course, this would all be for nothing if it were not for the abundance of class musical acts that they attract. Indy acts that one would usually have to travel to Philly or NY to see are making stops now in Bethlehem - I love it. Best of all, I have seen at least 5 shows here and without fail, every single time, the artist comments about how much they love the place as well.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Urban Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a very very very urban cool type venue. Just attended an event on the second and third floors. The food was nicely presented and fine. The staff was very efficient and courteous. The location had a feel which I believe is unusual in the Lehigh Valley. It is a kind of modern urban rough edged sophistication. The rooms' view of the Bethlehem Steel Furnaces was dramatic and artfully done. The rooms were spacious and airy - if appropriately cold. The sound system was top notch. The whole facility was unique, functional and complimented the setting in a thoughtful and effective way. It is a real Bethlehem Steel signature arrangement. The ambient music was sophisticated. Kudos to the designers.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“AWESOME HIDDEN GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Saw a a great show in artsquest musikfest. and christmas market and light show on the steel stacks was great. Fun time DON'T MISS THIS LITTLE HIDDEN GEM IN TOWN.,, FUN FOR ALL AGES.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a fantastic renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I have not been down to the renovation of the old steel mills in Bethlehem because I have a bad attitude about casinos in general. However last night I finally got over there to see a movie ("The Way" with Martin Sheen - fantastic) at the Frank Banko Alehouse Cinema. It really is impressive, and my favorite part is how they managed to separate the music, film and art venues from the casino...to the point that you don't even realize there is a casino in the area. The theater itself is gorgeous. The building contains two movie theaters, the MusikFest Cafe(open as a concert venue only, not an a-la-carte restaurant), a bar and concession (yes, you may bring your beer/wine/booze into the movie theater), a gift shop and a gallery. The view of the lighted blast furnaces through the two-story wall of glass provides a stunning backdrop. Take some time to come see a film here, or just have a drink at the bar and admire the view. You'll be glad you did.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SteelStacks also viewed

 

Been to SteelStacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SteelStacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.