We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Hotel Bethlehem to your Saves list
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Main Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Pkg
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Exceptional Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

More than anything, my travel companion and I were struck with the exceptionality of service at Hotel Bethlehem. Hotel employees went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy.

In particular, I would single out a desk clerk named Shannon (if I remember correctly) who learned to call me by name almost immediately and couldn't have been more warm, helpful, and polite. She even helped me find a phone charger (after I recognized that I had left mine at home) which turned out to be the personal property of another hotel employee!

Additionally, we were gifted with complimentary drinks and a meal for having to wait over an hour to check in due to a flood of late checkouts following a weekend of high volume wedding activity. And even a curmudgeonly bartender was crisp and efficient and generous.

Room Tip: My room was on the eighth floor and comfortable despite being smaller than I expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Rob S,

Thank you for sharing your experience! Our number one priority is our guest. We enjoy what we do here and it is our goal to provide that exceptional service to everyone. Shannon is an asset to our team, we are lucky to have her. I am sorry that your room was not available for you when you arrived. I am however happy to hear that Shannon was able to take care of you in the Tap Room while your room was being prepared for you.

Thank you again. We hope your business travels bring you back soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    123
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
122
196
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were pleasantly surprised when we got to the Hotel. Hotel was historic & beautiful, accommodations were clean & quite pretty and located in a charming little town with great shops & restaurants! Not to mention almost walking distance to the Sands Casino! But what a great surprise to come down Sunday morning to an amazing spread for Brunch. Excellent food at a phenomenal value! Great Hotel! Will definitely be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Jennifer C,

Thank you for writing a review! We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised when you arrived. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location in Downtown Bethlehem. There is so much to see and do right at our doorstep. We appreciate your joining us for our award winning Musical Sunday Brunch. There is something for everyone.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Bethlehem. It is an elegant, old building with charm and beauty. The room was lovely and the bar and restaurant top-notch. We were very pleasantly surprised that this excellent hotel is located in the quiet town of Bethlehem. There were 2 weddings and guests from all over the country. I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi crosew802,

Thank you for joining us during Parents weekend! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The Tap Room is a great place to unwind with a drink and a bite to eat. While there you can see our Former Famous guests from the Dalai Lama to President Kennedy to Bob Dylan. We have the perfect location in Bethlehem. We are just minutes from Lehigh and Moravian. There is so much to do and see right outside the Hotel including Historic Moravian Bethlehem a National Historic Landmark District.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recommending us to other travelers! We look forward to seeing you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for only one night. Nice room and staff was courteous and capable. Room was clean and bed comfortable. We ate in restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. Decent food and not too expensive. Service could have been a bit quicker but not that bad overall. Would recommend to others to stay here. Parked in attached parking structure. Think they tacked on an extra fee of $5 for this. Hotel is very historic and in a great location. Beautiful area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Gandoff22,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed yourselves while you were here. It is great to hear that you were able to join us for both breakfast and dinner. Our new menu items have been receiving very good feedback. I have shared your comments in regard to the speed of service with our Director of Restaurant Operations to assist us in preventing that in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was here for a business conference and was impressed by the attention to every detail the staff provided during our meetings and stay. Small, clean and cozy rooms, nicely appointed an in a convenient location. Food and service were impeccable! Would stay again,

Room Tip: Avoid room 932, which is apparently haunted,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi JackiB0312,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It was our pleasure to have you and the other attendees here with us during the conference. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything while you were here. Our staff enjoys what they do and pays close attention to every detail. Room 932 is affectionately known as our “Room with a Boo”. There is a friendly spirit who from time to time likes to make its presence known. I assure you there is nothing to fear.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am formerly from the Lehigh Valley. We recently stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem. I was more than surprised by the level of service and quality!

I travel extensively for work and stay at many of the nicer hotels (i.e. Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, Mandarin, etc). The Hotel B was as good as most of these hotels. The lobby was warm and inviting and the service was exceptional. While the hotel is smaller than some of the others, they more than compensated for this with the staff and decor and warmth of a boutique hotel. The room was very nicely appointed. Had a great experience. Will go back when we are in Bethlehem again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi alopez212,

Thank you so much for this glowing review! Our staff strives to ensure that we exceed your expectations throughout your stay with us. We are honored to be compared to the other hotels that you mentioned. In many areas of the hotel we adhere to 5 diamond/ 5 Star levels of service and design.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My experience in this hotel was just excellent, the food was great, the staff at this hotel are excellent and very help.
The staff were very helpful especially with the use of their shuttle, they would come pick you up anywhere.

Room Tip: Want to stay in a great hotel and a great value. This is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Davgibbons,

Thank you for the accolades! It is an honor to be considered the “Best Hotel in the World”. Our number one priority is you our guest. We take great pride in meeting and then exceeding your expectations. We are pleased to hear that you were able to dine with us during your stay. We recently updated our menus featuring Prime Grade Beef and Fresh Seafood. Our complimentary shuttle is available to our guests and runs on demand.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Hotel Bethlehem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.