We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical...yes...not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Hotel Bethlehem to your Saves list
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   437 Main Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Pkg
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Historical...yes...not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights while visiting the area for a wedding. The hotel does look nice from the ouutside and has an impressive lobby for those that like that old fashioned look. My room was on the 9th floor which is the top floor. The room had a generally tired appearence, the carpet was dirty, and the furnishing looked beat up. The bathroom was very small and the room climate control was poor. I wanted a small container of milk at around 10:00m PM one night. There is no store within walking distance so room service accomodated me me with a $8 glass of milk! You can hear people walking down the halls and doors slamming. I did like the eateries and places along the main street. I would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Salvatore A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us. I would like to apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We do appreciate your comments as we cannot take corrective measures without the assistance of guests like yourself. We have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping and have taken appropriate action where the carpeting and furniture in your room were concerned. We are a Historic Hotel as you mentioned which does mean that we do have bathrooms of many sizes in our guest rooms however they have all been updated with Italian Marble and period fixtures as well as all of our guest room bedding featuring new Pillow Top mattresses, duvet’s with down comforters & Pillows, and Egyptian cotton sheets. We have also shared your comments in regard to your room service order with the Director of Restaurants. If you would like to discuss this further please contract our General Manager Dennis Costello at 610-625-2201
Thank you again for sharing your comments. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    123
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
122
196
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a lovely, old hotel with excellent service and great public areas. The area is very historic and the Main Street, though deserted at night, seems to have a number of small, independent businesses.,,,hard to find these days.

It may be because I had a two bedded room, but my room was very small. There was no room to turn the desk chair around because it abutted the bed. And I had to climb over the bed to get to the window (that opened...YAY!). I did see a larger room across the hall, so if I had to stay here again, I would ask for the largest room possible. Restaurant food, though pricey, was excellent, with great ingredients (like greek yogurt!) and very fresh vegetables. They aim to please.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with lots of floor space; I had no where to stretch out to do yoga!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Wandala,
Thank you for sharing your visit with us. You are to be commended for continuing your Yoga workout while traveling. We are a Historic Hotel and we do have rooms of all sizes. Your room tip is a good one, it is always best to request a larger room especially if you want to stretch out and do some yoga. The next time you stay with us I would recommend our Starview Executive Suite which offers a sitting area in addition to a King size bed or our One Bedroom Suite with a living room and separate bedroom. If one of our larger rooms is not available during your next stay we do have a fitness room that would be able to accommodate your work out. Thank you for mentioning our Award winning restaurants. We specialize in farm to table dining to ensure that we have the freshest ingredients possible for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Hotel Bethlehem is a historic hotel in a part of the city that is being revived. The area is quite quaint, I would say for Bethlehem.
If the walls of this hotel could talk it would make for good drama as many well know personalities visited the hotel. The age of the hotel is showing so do not expect a historic mock-up as seen in the movies today. It is the real thing. I have not encountered any of the well-known ghosts that apparently visit the hotel. See the hotel’s website for more.
Breakfast was chaos. The French lady tries her best, but it is not a normal boring experience like a breakfast should be. Do not be in a hurry and imagine you are having breakfast many years back. The menu is also not easy reading. I do not know why, but Fawlty Towers sprung to mind when I had breakfast.
The staff tries their best, so the best way to enjoy the stay is to appreciate the era the hotel is set in. The rooms are comfortable and the gym small but fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi HeinC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us. I would like to apologize for some of the service shortfalls you experienced during breakfast. This is not indicative of our Breakfast service, our breakfast attracts a veritable Who’s Who in Bethlehem. We have shared your comments with our staff and we have since made several changes to prevent it from happening in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Historic Hotel Bethlehem is a beautiful piece of history updated with the finest amenities and fantastic customer service. Located on Main Street in Bethlehem, the surrounding area is filled with many shops, excellent restaurants, coffee shops and attractions. The area has grasped the art of preserving history, but with a forward thinking approach... I loved my trip, thumbs up all the way around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Christie B,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the Hotel and everything Historic Downtown Bethlehem has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A beautiful hotel that makes you feel like one of the VIPs that have stayed there throughout its history. The staff is all wonderful, and the location was perfect for Musikfest. We highly recommend it, and will be coming back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi PaulLVNJ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We take great pride in making sure that all of our guests feel like VIP’s. I have to agree with you we do have the perfect location for MusikFest.

Thank you again. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I had our wedding reception at The Hotel Bethlehem in 2011, which was amazing. We returned to celebrate our 1 year anniversary last weekend and couldn't have been happier! Kathy Sanders was so kind and helped make our stay that much more special. We were able to stay in the same room as we had during our wedding weekend. The hotel staff is warm and welcoming and we cannot wait to return to celebrate many more anniversaries! Cheers and thank you to everyone at the Hotel Bethlehem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi poconotraveler2010,

Happy Anniversary! We are so happy that you chose to come back and celebrate with us. I have shared your wonderful comments with Kathy and the entire staff.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to celebrate again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel Bethlehem is still the place to stay for Musikfest, despite the new venues at SteelStacks. You could stay at the Sands, but your food options will be much greater at the Hotel Bethlehem, and you'll have a much nicer room. You'd also miss out on the feeling of being in the middle of all the action if you stay at the Sands. Get a King Suite on a higher floor, facing the back. Be advised that the elevators can be very slow during peak arrival/departure times. There will be a bit of a walk to the shuttle buses for the South Side, but we thought that was fine, even with a bit of rain. If you go to the fireworks, there can be a 45-60 min wait for a shuttle back, due to the crowds on the roads.

Room Tip: Executive king suite, high floor, facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Tankr,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during MusikFest 2012. We have to agree it is great to be in the middle of the action. We will be upgrading our Elevators in 2013 to make them faster and more efficient.

Thank you again. We hope you join us for MusikFest 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Hotel Bethlehem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.