We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TheMINT Gastropub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
TheMINT Gastropub
1223 West Broad St, Bethlehem, PA 18018
(610) 419-3810
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
TheMINT Gastropub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 316 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Avenue & West Broad St.
Transit: Directly infront of the restaurant
Description: About: theMINT: envisioned in the past, resurrected by opportunity, executed by experience, enriched by community, growing through innovation What We Do: Gastropub refers to a bar and restaurant that serves high-end beer and food.[1] The term gastropub, a portmanteau of gastronomy and pub, originated in England in the late 20th century. English pubs were drinking establishments and had little emphasis placed on the serving of food. Then that all changed. theMINT is an AMERICAN Gastropub that focuses on premium food and beer as well as premium spirits, cocktails, and martinis.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This past weekend, this restaurant treated our party of 9 as poorly as any restaurant experience I had. We made a reservation two weeks in advance for Saturday, 7:45 p.m. for nine people (parents' weekend at Lehigh). We confirmed it with the restaurant in the afternoon, and all was set. We arrived at 7:40 p.m. to be told the table wasn't ready until 8:10 p.m. At 8:25 p.m. we were shown to the table, but the table wasn't clean, wasn't set, and there were 7 seats, not 9. The manager (who was also the inattentive bartender) was not available for 10 minutes, and then professed to know nothing about the situation. The woman at the front desk apologized but declined to offer any consideration. We left without ordering.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must visit in Lehigh Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Neighborhood feel with great bartenders and equally great food. NOT pub food at all, rather non traditional food for the area. Menu changes by the season. Been there over 20 times and always. Been very happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndWhere2Next
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent - service, food, ambiance, and variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place might be the benchmark against which I measure all other gastropubs. Admittedly, if you're looking for standard restaurant fare, this is not the place to visit. If you're searching for unique twists on things you know (salmon bahn mi) or looking to try things you've never imagined (sloppy doe), you can't pass this place up. Additionally, the venue (née an old bank) has been repurposed to astound (check out the vault). Outdoor seating is the ideal choice for a mild summer evening and on-street (as well as off-street) options will suit any privacy need.

Our bill was $98.94- half was food, half was drink (we drink a lot). I started with the Lychee Martini, my companion had the Pom Pom. Lychee Martini won this round - sweet, refreshing, and it had a lychee at the bottom! It was like a Chinese dessert before I even had appetizers! We also had an Adam Street Shuffle and then rounded things out with a double-espresso martini and a Chambord up.

For appetizers, we started with the chick pea fries and the crab bam goons. While we had an idea about what to expect, the food was so much better than we imagined. The chick pea fries were served with a green pea dipping sauce (and had the texture of steak fries); the crab bam goons were cylindrical (not like the traditional won-ton variety you might expect) and exceptionally delicious.

For entrées, I had the sloppy doe (a venison version of the traditional nuclear-family mainstay) and my companion had the salmon bahn mi. The sloppy doe was amazing, though the venison was not ground as I might have expected (it was...julienned, I guess, but amazingly tender - in fact, the only reason I knew it wasn't ground was because I could see it. Otherwise, I would never have known) and served on the softest onion roll and with twice-fried French fries (aaaaaah mazing). The salmon bahn mi was served as a sandwich (a little spicy, but equally tender and savory) with the twice-fried French fries as well. We pretty much ate everything that was served...not because we are gluttons, but because it was so good.

For dessert, we shared the "crack pie". It reminded me of a bigger, more delicious version of the butter tart that I used to get when I lived in Canada. If you have any room left after your entrées, you would be well served to order this.

Our server was Jocelyn. She was very attentive, friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. We asked about the history of the restaurant and she was able to help us understand the chef's history, the history of the building, and the future direction of the menu. We really enjoyed her service. She told us that the selection changes seasonally and that the specials are always unique and amazing.

We will definitely return; we would absolutely recommend. It's hard to believe that a place this incredible can be found in Bethlehem, PA.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“For the beer loving foodie who likes a trendy laidback spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

whether youre planning a lowkey night out with friends, date night with your significant others or maybe get things started before a wild night out- this spot is it!

went for lowkey dinner with friends and had a fantastic time.
space is great- very hip and trendy with a laidback vibe
service was good and food was incredible.

dont miss out on the rock shrimp and polenta, fried chicken with donuts and chicken with pretzel stuffing and the great beer selection.

have a hungry belly and keep an open mind -you wont be sorry you came to this spot

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mint Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food is very good & very interesting. The bar is great - good drink selections and a friendly crowd.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TheMINT Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to TheMINT Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TheMINT Gastropub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.