We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Palace Restaurant

Eastern Palace Restaurant
3926 Linden St, Bethlehem, PA 18020
(610) 868-0299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 316 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly service and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stopped here for dinner after returning from a day trip since it was the closest chinese place to us. it turned out to be a very great place to sit in and eat dinner. the waiter was very friendly and helpful. interior decor is of typical outdated colors as is chinese restaurant fashion, but it only added to our experience. the food was prepared quickly and was very good. Ended up taking it home with us only to enjoy it later. Its a bit quiet so it seems tough to have a decent dinner conversation, but otherwise a good experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jim Thorpe, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Enjoyed takeout from Eastern Palace Chinese Restaurant based on the recommendation of a friend who lives near by. She told me it is a local favorite. It has now become my favorite also! Steamed Chinese Vegetables were very crisp and tasty. The Sweet and Sour Shrimp were huge and prepared differently than I have had them from other restaurants. They were battered (similar to a tempura batter) with the sweet and sour sauce served separately. Very good! Egg Rolls were delicious. The restaurant appeared clean and was much better than earlier reviews make it sound. I will definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food is Fair; Service is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have gone to this restaurant several times, and while the food is okay, the service seems to be getting worse. The last time we were there, the waiter didn't even ask what we would like to drink, took our orders, disappeared until he brought the food, and never stopped back to ask if we needed anything else.

Food was fair; egg rolls exceptionally greasy though. This will be our last visit. There are so many better Asian restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cockroach in my dumpling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife ordered food and brought it home. When my son opened his dumplings, there was a cockroach on top. Took it back for a full refund. Will never eat there again. Enough said.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Haven't been to this restaurant in a number of years. Decided to try the garlic chicken combination plate. I was surprised to see the chicken was shredded and not cut into bigger pieces. It was ok; just enough spice for me. Another person at the table had the pepper steak. They also said it was just ok; could have used more flavor. The one thing I noticed was that both the fried noodles and the egg rolls were way too dark in color which meant they were on the burnt side or the oil may have been a little too old. I may stop by again if I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eastern Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Palace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.