We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is Fair; Service is not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Palace Restaurant

Eastern Palace Restaurant
3926 Linden St, Bethlehem, PA 18020
(610) 868-0299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #224 of 320 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food is Fair; Service is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have gone to this restaurant several times, and while the food is okay, the service seems to be getting worse. The last time we were there, the waiter didn't even ask what we would like to drink, took our orders, disappeared until he brought the food, and never stopped back to ask if we needed anything else.

Food was fair; egg rolls exceptionally greasy though. This will be our last visit. There are so many better Asian restaurants in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cockroach in my dumpling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife ordered food and brought it home. When my son opened his dumplings, there was a cockroach on top. Took it back for a full refund. Will never eat there again. Enough said.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Haven't been to this restaurant in a number of years. Decided to try the garlic chicken combination plate. I was surprised to see the chicken was shredded and not cut into bigger pieces. It was ok; just enough spice for me. Another person at the table had the pepper steak. They also said it was just ok; could have used more flavor. The one thing I noticed was that both the fried noodles and the egg rolls were way too dark in color which meant they were on the burnt side or the oil may have been a little too old. I may stop by again if I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Food OK, but not like it used to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have been going to this restaurant off and on since it opened. I can tell you that it's not the same as it was when the first owner had it. I don't know if we went on an off night orr not but it wasn't one of our better experiences there. The service was absolutely horrible. We had to wait a long time until our order was taken--the waiter seemed to disappear frequently. He took three tables orders at the same time and then brought out a cart each time with the food for all three tables at the same time. Not very individualized, for sure. We had to ask for more noodles and tea, no anticipation from the waiter. The food was OK, again not as it used to be years ago. IT will be a while until we go here again. If you want good food and good service, try Imperial on Wm Penn Hgw.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Homey, comfortable, affordable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is a clean, comfortable diner type restaurant. The food is good and staff friendly, plus the owner is also present and willing to solve any problem or just to say hello.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eastern Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Palace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.