We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem to your Saves list
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Sands Boulevard, Bethlehem, PA 18015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Outlets Package
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Western MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The service was friendly. The room was stylish and comfortable. There was a casino, outlets, an event center (which is why we came) and restaurants. The continental breakfast had a nice selection of fresh fruits. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Sands Bethlehem as your host during your recent trip to Bethlehem, PA. I am so glad that you had a great time at the show, and that you were able to experience the casino, outlets, and event center.

I hope that you will visit us in the near future as we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    154
    62
    24
    22
See reviews for
47
176
18
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to the Sands for a girls night out on a last minute whim. It is close to NYC and NJ. When we arrived we were surprised to find that the hotel offered many on site surprises. The outlet stores were connected right next door from the hotel and were opened till 11 pm. There was a movie theater in walking distance, and a night club on premise along with a theater. The casino was big and very clean. There were plenty of restaurants on site, along with smaller eateries for after hours. Our room was satisfactory, however it could have used more lamps and seating, A bit pricey though, but a very nice continental breakfast was included. If you go on the first Friday of the month, you can also visit the Banana Factory, nearby, where local artists exhibit their art in the galleries. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! I am so glad that you found our amenities to be convenient and exciting, and I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many area attractions within walking distance to Sands Bethlehem.

Thank you again for your review, and I look forward to hosting you here at Sands Bethlehem again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My mom and I came to the Sands Casino Resort on Friday and left on Saturday -- we had tickets to see Kathy Griffin, so made a little overnight trip. It was a great time!

The hotel/resort complex is really nice. The history alone is amazing -- even though it seems most of the people who were there had no clue the place used to be Bethlehem Steel. If you take the time to enjoy the history and the amazing transformation of the original Steel building into this complex -- that alone is worth the trip. The outlets were small, but a nice walk to the casino. Something for everyone -- including the Peeps store which was fun. The Casino itself is quaint, but well worth the trip. Not sure if it is for heavy-hitting gamblers, but if you are looking to play some slots and table games -- very clean, fun, good crowd. The eateries are great -- lots to choose from, and high quality. We ate at Emerils Italian Table (see separate review -- fabulous!) for dinner, and went to the Carnegie Deli for dessert (amazing). Breakfast in the morning there was lots to choose from, although I would have liked a sit-down option for breakfast rather than food court.

The actual rooms were nice, clean, well appointed. It was strange that there was no bathtub, but I think that's the new thing in hotel design. We could've used another table or something in the bathroom to put our luggage and/or clothes -- there was space for it, so not sure why some type of bench wasn't in the actual bathroom itself.

The rooms are noisy. We heard drunken hotel guests coming back to their rooms late into the night -- no fun for someone who wanted to get a good night's sleep. It isn't a deal-breaker, but it would be nice if there was something in the hotel reminding people to be quiet (not sure if that would work, really....) since the acoustics are not good at all.

I would return here, for sure. Wouldn't take our 7-year old, since a lot of the "fun" stuff isn't really for kids. I do plan to return since it was a nice trip and would be a great little visit for even one night with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sands Bethlehem as your host during your recent trip to Bethlehem, PA. I am pleased that you enjoyed our many amenities and I'm happy to hear that you had a great time at the Kathy Griffin concert. I am also glad that you enjoyed the the scenery of the old Bethlehem Steel site - it is truly awe-inspiring!

Thank you once again, and I hope to have the privilege of serving you on future trips to Sands Bethlehem.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We used the hotel valet and were surprised to see such a small area for drop off. The hotel is small and is within range for pricing. We usually get comped in avenges and AC, so we are not used to paying for a casino hotel. The check in is a single desk and you will wait to check out a long time when everyone is leaving. The hotel itself is nice, the casino I felt was very smokey and packed and I didn't get to enjoy the shopping that this property has to offer. I need to return another time. The room was great, clean and standard for a casino hotel. The location seems to be in the middle of nowhere, so we came, we saw, and we were back on the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sands Bethlehem. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel and casino to be tidy and clean, however I am disappointed to hear that you found the casino area to be smoky. On behalf of Sands Bethlehem, I apologize for the smokiness you experienced, however I am glad that this did not deter you from planning another visit! Please note that I will pass your comments along to the appropriate department for review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sands Bethlehem in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sands. We were there for a convention that was being held at the hotel. No problems to note. The rooms were very nice and our floor was very quiet, even though the hotel was sold out for the weekend. Walking through the casino, I didn't find it to be overly smokey at all.

It's in perfect walking distance to the Steel Stacks, and we found a great local bar with a hockey rink attached right down the street.

Overall, great experience staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review with us at Sands Bethlehem! I am glad that you had a great time during your convention, and I'm pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. All of us at Sands Bethlehem look forward to having you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really enjoyed the Sands in Bethlehem. It is a very nice hotel with good amenities! The location is great too. Venture west into the city of Bethlehem too! Nice town! The staff and valet parking attendants were very attentive. The casino is nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and your satisfaction with us at Sands Bethlehem! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and all that Bethlehem, PA has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As a visitor to over 50 casinos around the U.S. - this casino is unlike anything I have ever seen. It is in the old Bethlehem Steel plant building - a blend of old and new - the inside is clean and luxe and huge - lots of slots, plenty of tables, shopping outlet stores on -site and many choices of food. I did not stay at the hotel. This review is about the casino area only.

Room Tip: did not stay at resort - only visited casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! The old SteelStacks property definitely provides some awe-inspiring views, and I am happy to know that you were able to enjoy the scenery. Also, I'm very happy that you noticed all of the great additions to our property, including the Sands Outlets and various dining options.

Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sands Bethlehem in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem

Address: 77 Sands Boulevard, Bethlehem, PA 18015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bethlehem
#9 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem designed its hotel to set a new standard for luxury and style. Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Wireless Internet are included. The 302 rooms include 16 Executive Suites and 6 Presidential Suites, each of which has the latest in modern amenities like wireless internet, media-hubs and high-definition flat-screen televisions. When you select the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem you are assured an extraordinary experience. Each of the resort's spacious guest rooms is elegantly decorated in a stylish combination of rich dark woods and neutral tones - the perfect choice for a weekend escape or business retreat. Luxury, Style and Class come together to create an unparalleled hotel in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The Sands offers a wide array of dining from casual to upscale at five distinct locations and the convenience of a food court. Savor a tender cut of prime steak or fresh seafood at Emeril's Chop House. Visit Chef Emeril Lagasse's newest restaurant, Emeril's Italian Table, with its rustic Italian-inspired fare including antipasti, cured meats and artisanal cheeses, fresh made pastas and more. Enjoy a distinctive twist on all-American favorites at Burgers And More by Emeril. Stop by St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery for an authentic Irish meal. The Sands is home to a New York City iconic eatery, Carnegie Deli - the perfect stop for something quick and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem Hotel Bethlehem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.