We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make a stop, if you are anywhere close by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolete Restaurant and Inn

Bolete Restaurant and Inn
1740 Seidersville Rd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-4226
610-868-6505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bolete Restaurant and Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 300 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Emmaus Ave
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Make a stop, if you are anywhere close by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Although Bolete is in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, it draws diners from a wide area. It is worth the drive and even an overnight stopover in Bethlehem. Beautiful old stone former stage coach stop over 300 years old - but the food is perfect for today. A unique surf and turf appetizer was oysters and carpaccio. Another appetizer of smoked trout with a variety of mushrooms, including a purée of porcini that was heavenly. We have a hard time deciding on main courses and settled on rabbit loin wrapped in bacon and a duck breast/duck confit entree. Both were delicious. The owner are a couple with a long restaurant background, he in the kitchen and she in the front of the house.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    20
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Deserve's a Michelin Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Seriously folks, this place deserves a star. Equal to the Thomas Keller's Bouchon in Yountville, California.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I went to Bolete for a pre-concert meal after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. We were thoroughly impressed. First, the restaurant's decor is quaint, and the dinner music was superb (Fleet Foxes, Band of Horses, etc..). We later found out it was the owner's "mix" from their wedding, which made our romantic date even better! The wine list was good enough..a nice mix of wines..we opted for a Nero D'Avola (which is a rare find unless you are in an Italian restaurant). I ordered the sweet-breads appetizer and my wife had the fingerling potatoes. The sweetbreads were interesting; the potatoes, DIVINE! My wife ordered the ribeye with beet spaetzel and horseradish foam…she commented that it was perfect (I tried it too and I concur). I had the rabbit with tomatoes. Once again, fantastic. We finished our dinner off with the butterscotch pudding based on recommendations from our server. We were not disappointed…it was absolutely perfect…not overly sweet! We will be back. Thank you, Bolete for a memorable meal!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Flavorfully Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Bolete is an experience not to be missed! It is actually the kind of place you should plan your trip around. My husband and I sat on the back patio which was quaint and reminded us of time we had spent in Italy at family run establishments. The food hands down some of the best I have ever had. We ordered from the tasting menu and we were delighted with each and every course! The wine pairings were exquisite and brought out the flavor of the food even more. The wait staff only added to this already wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, FL, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bravo Bolete!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Bolete this evening, and we could not wait to share our experience with TripAdvisor! The decor is so quaint and the wait staff is professional, informative, and attentive!! We didn't know when we'd return to the area, so we tried several entrees. Our server, Doug, was very knowledgeable about the menu and the specials, which made meal choices easy.

We could taste the love and passion in the super tender Grass Fed Beef (add a side of Fingerling Potatoes plz)! We admired the crispness of the succulent duck and the creaminess of the risotto served with the perfectly seared organic salmon! Last, but not least we enjoyed the Lobster Roll (and all of their fresh baked breads), and the Butterscotch Pudding...YUM!!

A meal at Bolete is a "Culinary Thrill Ride"!! And like any great roller coaster, you take your seat, and hold on for the "Amazing" ride!!!

Stop in and let these Chefs share their passion for fresh, locally grown, gastric wizardry with you. The experience is well worth the price!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolete Restaurant and Inn also viewed

 

Been to Bolete Restaurant and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolete Restaurant and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.