We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little restaurant in an out-of-the-way place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolete Restaurant and Inn

Bolete Restaurant and Inn
1740 Seidersville Rd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-4226
610-868-6505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bolete Restaurant and Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 300 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Emmaus Ave
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint little restaurant in an out-of-the-way place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a quaint restaurant in an unlikely part of town. The charm of the place is in its old world decor and homey atmosphere. It is essentially a house with the restaurant on the first floor (the owners live upstairs). The dining area has mismatched chairs, which I assume is part of the charm. The only problem is the quality of the seating isn't consistent. You get chairs that are wobbly and we had to keep trying different ones until we found ones we were comfortable in. The bathroom, for lack of a better term, is cute. It's tiny, but has the charming decoration one would expect from an old-world type of place.

We were there for Sunday brunch and the food was astounding. I had the duck confit hash. I just ordered it because it sounded unusual but the combination of potatoes, poached eggs, mushrooms and chipotle hollandaise worked for me.

All in all, inventive food that you won't find anywhere else. Definitely a must try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    20
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, but expensive also”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

About 3 years, I had went to this place several times. It is really good.Overall, it is a top recommended restaurant around Bethlehem area. But it also is very good at the price. At weekend it would be very crowd so probably avoid that time. Somehow I feel like the dishes getting a little bit salty than 3 years ago, especially the oyster we ordered.
Another neg is the bread which is far worse than 3 years ago. Dont know what happened.
But the main dish and coffee are as good as before.
Hope they could fix those small issues.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Beautifully crafted food and cocktails that celebrate local bounty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have never had a meal that was anything less than spectacularly good at Bolete. The chef/owner Lee, puts such thought into his food. Nothing is superflous; no fussy, riduclulous garnishes (like the pathetic, wilted bit of cress on the plate at a Center Valley steakhouse that people rave about, that shall remain nameless) He knows when to keep things simple, and how and when to highlight his ingredients so that every dish shines. The oysters are some of the best I've had anywhere. On one occasion that we visited, I had a craving for his succulent, meaty bar burger. He had used the day's meat delivery for a special meatloaf so the burger was not available (it's not an endless supply of nasty, frozen buger patties like many places. It's freshly ground to his specifications!) so he offered to make me a meatloaf, mushroom and bacon sandwhich - heavenly, I tell you! The cocktails are also so smart and well made with vivid flavors and interesting combinations. You won't find any bottled sour mix here. Try "The Remedy" if you're a bourbon lover like me! I have a hard time saying "no" to any of the desserts, but in particular the butterscotch pudding is such a rich, complex, deeply flavored, lusciously textured dessert that it demands to be eaten slowly, so as to savor every silky bite! And Erin, Chef Chizmar's wife/ co-owner couldn't be lovlier as the face of the front of the house. The whole experience at Bolete leaves you feeling so good that you may linger there for hours and not want to leave!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Lehigh Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice. Both times were special occasions. I love this place. The atmosphere is intimate & cozy. The staff is professional without being stuffy. And the food absolutely rocks. It's not a cheap meal, but then again, it's not a cheap meal. Everything is meticulously prepared and the pace is leisurely. Always looking for an excuse to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If fresh & local is what you're looking for, search no more! Bolete is, by far, the best restaurant in the Lehigh Valley. The atmosphere is charming and the food is divine. They have an excellent wine list and the wait staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. A superb place for that special occasion.

This is not the type of place to bring young children, so please leave the kiddies at home! I also highly recommend a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolete Restaurant and Inn also viewed

 

Been to Bolete Restaurant and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolete Restaurant and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.