We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner for my Husband” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1741 on the Terrace

1741 on the Terrace
Hotel Bethlehem, 437 Main Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018
610-625-2226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
1741 on the Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 316 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Church Street
Transit: Public transit hub is 4 blocks from restaurant, LANTA 207 passes in front of the hotel.
Description: It is the desire of 1741 on the Terrace to engage you and invite you. Try something new or revisit something familiar but above all -- enjoy. Relax in the ambiance of the room – the beautiful Moravian tile floor and soaring Palladian windows. Admire the charming downtown of Bethlehem with buildings and history dating back to the day in 1741 when the town itself was founded.The wine list - developed to inspire not to impress – is filled with wines from around the world, but with a focus on American wines. Frequent diners at finer restaurants will be impressed with the selection of wines available, but the list has been crafted to make the choices easy for a novice as well. Our sommelier is available to aid wine selection or custom pairings for any menu items upon request.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
“Birthday Dinner for my Husband”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Tonight we dined at the Historic 1741 terrace and had wonderful views of the lighted city, Our dinner was incredible from beginning to end. The white chocolate mouse was heavenly.Our waitress was very accommodating and added to our enjoyable evening. Definitely will be on our favorite list for our special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Lovely downtown restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Beautiful views of historic downtown Bethlehem. Located on Main St close to everything. The service was excellent and the food was delicious.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi Darlene H,

Thank you so much for posting your review. Our wait staff and kitchen team take great pride in providing a wonderful experience for our guests. Our Executive Chef locally sources all of our produce and meats to ensure we have the freshest ingredients possible. Thank you for taking the time to recognize them.

Thank you for choosing us! We hope you join us again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent our wedding night here and have our anniversary meal here if we are in town. Very good food and a nice wine list. Beautiful view and great atmosphere. Especially when it snows or at Christmas time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi BethlehemPaUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear that you celebrate your anniversary here when you are in the area. Our Wine list has received the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 5 years running and all of our meats and produce are locally sourced to provide the freshest ingredients possible. The atmosphere and views are perfect for a special occasion.

We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to 1741 on the Terrace. We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time visit not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our reservation for 2 at 7PM on a Saturday night was our first visit. There are two entrances to the restaurant, one from the lobby and one from the second floor. We chose the wrong one, the 2nd floor. We entered by the live piano player and waited. And waited, with servers passing us by without a glance. We then asked the pianist for help. A hostess came over and seated us. Later on during our meal, we noticed another couple making the same entrance and waiting as we did.
We waited about 10 minutes for our server and ordered wine and waited, and waited. When it arrived, we ordered our dinner. Our salads came at 7:50. They were very tasty. Our server was constantly busy with other tables, they were understaffed. We ordered more wine and asked that it arrive before our dinner. It did.
At 8:40, we asked about our entrees. We were told the kitchen was backed up. At 8:50, our meals arrived. They were very good. Then a hostess came over to tell us that the 5 o’clock crowd and local activities were the reason they were so backed up. Really?
Our dinner came at 8:50. We left at 9:20. Almost 2 ½ hours to eat.

Our gripe is that the restaurant should have been up front and told us they were behind. We could have accepted that. While we were waiting, the hostesses could have asked us if we needed anything instead of making us feel marooned.
Our ratings are as follows: out of ten points:
Service = 4
Meals = 8
Ambiance = 7 The tall windows overlooking a main street in Bethlehem are wonderful. It is noisy and being older, we don’t appreciate it as much anymore. Didn't hear the pianist clearly. Paris spoiled us. Europeans are more refined at their meals.

So 19 out of 30 or 63%. We visit the finer local restaurants regularly like Apollo Grill, Melt, Bolete, and Yianni’s. For the price, this was very disappointing.

We left from the side entrance where we left our car (free valet parking). The attendants were nowhere to be found. We asked the hat check person to find we needed to go back up the stairs to the lobby and proceed out front for our car to be retrieved. No signs. You gotta know the rules. The bar at the Hotel Bethlehem is still a favorite for us after a movie or a show, but this restaurant is no longer on our list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi Bill L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I would like to apologize for the service shortfalls that you both experienced while you were with us. I have shared your comments with Kathleen Brown our Director of Restaurants. She in turn is sharing it with the staff in the restaurant. We truly appreciate your feedback. It allows us to identify any issues and assists us in preventing them from happening in the future through retraining our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. If you would like to discuss this further, our General Manager Dennis Costello would like the opportunity to do that with you. He can be reached at 610-625-2201 or DCOSTELLO@HOTELBETHLEHEM.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Has great food from a great chef at great prices. Food always came out quick, nice and hot.
If you need extra food or change your mind or problem at all.


Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at 1741 on the Terrace, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Davgibbons,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for joining us for dinner. Executive Chef David Troxell, his award winning Culinary Team and our wait staff takes great pride in every dish that leaves the kitchen. It is their goal to serve everyone with friendly and efficient service.

Thank you again! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1741 on the Terrace also viewed

 
 

Been to 1741 on the Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1741 on the Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.